We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our rooms were not ready at 3 but shortly after and they were large and very nice, although the bathroom in our daughter's suite had a mold odor. They both had fireplaces. Hotel staff got us a great taxi (we used for the full visit) and we had lovely side trips from Banos. Were disappointed to learn that dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I ordered a ceviche - typical Ecuadorian dish, so you would assume they know how to make it. It basically was a ketchup sauce. I asked to change dish as I couldn't eat that, but the lack of flexibility of the restaurant resulted in me paying for a lunch and leaving with an empty stomach. Avoid

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Armandnic
Nyack, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

LunaRuntun is an exquisite place. The location is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Our suite was top notch from the views, to the beds, the bathrooms, the kitchen and dining room area. The food in the restaurants was ok, but not what you would expect at the per night rates we paid. The engagement...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pablo P
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We stayed in early November and were very impressed...however. I will first admit it is a pet peeve of mine when you stay somewhere and cannot drink the water that enough water is not provided. Two bottles of water a day in the bathroom not even close to the amount of water needed in a day. When I did protest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathykmn
Luna_Runtun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review

We highly appreciate your comments and feedback on the impressions of your recent stay.​ I have forwarded them to the operations manager.

Reviewed November 19, 2016

The people of this hotel ruined our stay. We paid a lot of money to come here and we were treated like they prefered we not be in their way instead the staff, the reception were more worried about playing pool, Facebook and most importantly talking with their friends and ignoring the guest. I speak Spanish and English and understand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hailey R
Luna_Runtun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review

Thank you for contributing with such an extensive review. I’m personally disappointed to hear that you felt let down by our staff. Rest assured, I will be discussing your feedback with my team and addressing any issues. I can only apologise for your experience and assure you this isn’t the norm here. I hope we get the chance to show...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed October 24, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Luna Runtun. Everything we could think of was taken car of. The room was amazing, the food delicious, the staff friendly, the price reasonable. We definitely come back here when in Ecuador :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinu R
Luna_Runtun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review

It’s great to get such good feedback, thank you.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Came with friends (3 girls, 1 guy). We all had a massaged and Sauna - then different scrubs etc. The whole experience was really top class and we all highly recommend it. Make sure you book ahead and are willing to spend around $60-120 for a worthwhile visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshwright10
Luna_Runtun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments, it’s great to hear you had such a good stay!

New York City, New York
Reviewed September 30, 2016

The place is great. All pools are calcium chloride. Service is good. We stay in the Huacnapac (biggest, most expensive room); however, by the time we signed the check was an amount and after a day $120 was added. $20 for spa? we never went to the spa and returned all robes and caps. Why we got charged? I asked,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kalhelnyc
Luna_Runtun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back after your stay at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA. We never charge for hidden fees. I would like to follow up on your concern, please send me details of your stay: name, dates, with attention to Gabriel Freire through our contact form on our website. I wrote to your inbox through this platform but I...

Colorado
Reviewed September 4, 2016

My husband and I loved our stay at Luna Runtun. The grounds were beautiful and our room was so clean, modern and romantic. The main restaurant has great food and we enjoyed our breakfast and dinner there. The service was good. We also got massages at the spa and it was so relaxing. I don't recommend so much the Cafe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATravels46
Luna_Runtun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review

We highly appreciate your comments and feedback on the impressions of your recent stay. ​​We will certainly take all your comments into consideration and corrective measures have already been taken.​

Miami, Florida
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Manager and customer service are rude and impolite. There is a way to answer a client/customer and this place knows nothing about it. View you get from the spa is nice but ive seen better, staff should realise that and change their behavior for the best.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher C
Luna_Runtun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s really disappointing to hear that whilst we strive to offer our guests the very best service; on this occasion something went wrong. I can only apologise for your experience and assure you this is not the usual standard here. Best regards.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

443 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (331)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
7.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 28 in Banos
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#13 of 28 in Banos
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA is a Romantic Hotel for couples, family or friends. It is located in Banos, 170 km (2,5 hours drive) from Quito, the capital of Ecuador, 300 km (5 hours drive) from Guayaquil and 62 km (1 hour drive) from the Amazon rainforest. The setting is unique, surrounded by mountains, 70 waterfalls and thermal water. Spring weather, with an average temperature of 17 - 25°C all year round, and some rainy days. Luna Runtun's 310 acres of unspoilt Andean forest are located on the oriental flank of the active Tungurahua volcano (5.016M), 400m above the charming town of Banos, gateway to the Amazon rainforest, surrounded by Sangay and Llanganates National Parks. Enjoy 25 adventure activities: 11 hikes, rafting, canyoning, biking, horse backriding, travelling throughout the countryside, Amazon rainforest and birdwatching programs; 25 SPA treatments, 4 pools and jacuzzi with hot volcanic water, Runtun Restaurant with fusion food, Cafe del Cielo with 34 varieties of coffee, themed rooms and Romantic Suites decorated exquisitely. Spectacular views! With your loved one, family or friends; Luna Runtun has become the ideal place to celebrate special events: weekend getaways, vacations, relaxing, birthday, wedding anniversary, marriage proposal, honeymoon, reconciliations and romantic getaways. Our Adventure and SPA packages are the perfect combination for your trip to the Galapagos Islands. The volcano has been constantly active since 1999 and showers the sky with her spectacular show of fire and lava, allowing our visitors to partake in one of the world's most impressive natural fireworks displays from the safety of Luna Runtun and the charming town of Banos located in the secure area in the oriental flank of the volcano. Banos and Luna Runtun have not been affected by any type of material in the 16 eruptions in the last 400 years. The Basilica of Our Lady of Holy Water, built in 1944, is made of volcanic stones, as well as Banos City Hall. Adventure, rest, fun and a volcano in eruption. Welcome to the most complete destination in Ecuador! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA

Address: Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Price Range: $268 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Luna Runtun Hotel Banos
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Tallahassee, Florida

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid corazon de chocolate suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 860debrad, 3 days ago | Read review
“spend the extra money on the suites......”
 of 5 bubbles PabloP748, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“volcano view suite”
 of 5 bubbles cathykmn, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Some of the romantic suits say they have a view of the national park when it's actually the view of their garden or lettuce.”
 of 5 bubbles 440haileyr, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
“they are nice. Well I paid $500 a nite for mine!!”
 of 5 bubbles kalhelnyc, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question