We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405 Argentina
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/29/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$79
View deal
Travelocity
$79
View deal
Priceline$85
Hotels.com$79
Hurb$100
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (790)
Room & Suite (257)
Dining (66)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 76 in El Calafate
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
KOSTEN AIKE HOTEL.It is located in El Calafate, a small town in the extensive and mysterious Patagonian Plateau, near the imposing Andes Range; being the entrance gate to the majestic “Los Glaciares National Park”, where the Perito Moreno Glacier is the main attraction.Our hotel is a southern style Chateau, built with local wood and stones, located in downtown. Few minutes away from the Calafate International Airport.We have 80 rooms (76 Deluxe and 2 suites and 2 apts.); heating; TV; minibar; in room safe boxes; desk phone and Wi Fi connection. Room for handicapped; restaurant; bar; garden terrace; Play Room; Parking Lot; Drugstore; Tourist information; Convention Center ( For 170 persons ) and KOSTEN CLUB: Free Gym, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Scottish shower.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Children's television networks
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
1886Reviews16Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,183
  • 578
  • 98
  • 18
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Judy P wrote a review May 4
1 contribution
Arrived after late flight and had very rapid instructions from receptionist half of which I did not understand but was too tired to worry. Receptionist in daytime much more accommodating. Re sustainability, it was odd that the small pieces of soap were changed every day when I was staying for three nights. Very comfortable room. Enjoyed dinner - squash quinoa risotto was delicious as was the wine. Bar and dining staff helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Hanbanw wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
It's so sustainable that it prints 'sustainable' on each of the individually plastic wrapped single use items in the hotel... Other than that, professional staff, lovely big room, though soundproofing is poor, not great for light sleepers. Breakfast is poor, and wifi isn't great either, frequently drops out. Good location!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
leointgroen wrote a review Feb 2022
Tilburg, The Netherlands34 contributions2 helpful votes
Perfect service from the beginning to the end. Beautiful rooms. Clean and perfect sanitary. Perfect matrasses. Good restaurant. Nice wines. Pretty great breakfast. Way too much food for Europeans. You really need to say "para compartir'' (om te delen).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Friendly easy going way of living. Very nice.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
TouringCyclists wrote a review Feb 2022
Berlin, Germany157 contributions71 helpful votes
While this may be an older hotel with smaller rooms, it was fully ok for our one night stay. Service was quick and very friendly and I really liked their focus on turning is into a fully sustainable business as well as the little courtyard garden. Location is perfect, just far enough from the main road to avoid any noise but within walking distance to shops, restaurants etc.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
carolinarchh wrote a review Jan 2022
Ireland3 contributions
The hotel was beautiful. Everyone in the staff was very welcoming, helpful and nice, specially the receptionists. Breakfast was lovely, lots of options and everything was delicious. The location was perfect, only two streets away from the main street yet very quiet and peaceful. The one bad thing I’d have to point out, is that the wifi connection was very very poor. Pretty much no service at all in my room. But overall was a lovely stay and I would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
dan wrote a review Dec 2021
Johns Island, South Carolina2 contributions
The hotel was very cleaned and organized. The staff was unbelievable. They were helpful and provided quick results. My Spanish is not very good. 90% percent of staff spoke English. The hotel is close to center city. Its in a safe area. Easy pickup for tours.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kosten Aike, Otro at Kosten Aike
Responded Jan 18, 2022
Dear Sir daniel: It was an honor to have had you as our guests, and we thank you for taking time to share with other travelers such as your experience at our hotel and for leaving us such warm comments about our staff and the service offered. We look forward to welcoming you again! Atte Kosten Aike Hotel
Read more
Jeff G wrote a review Dec 2021
Kelowna, Canada6 contributions4 helpful votes
Awesome hotel, staff were unbelievably helpful and knowledgeable, Juan and Shunko on the front desk especially but all were good. Great breakfast, spacious rooms, and very centrally located ! The hotel was clean, well kept, with great facilities. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Mariemma D wrote a review Dec 2021
San Juan, Puerto Rico36 contributions13 helpful votes
The beds were ok, but that was it. - the service terrible. There were street dogs barking all night which made it impossible to sleep. Then, when we called front desk to see if anything could be done, I was told it was no their problem. Also, they recommended a terrible and super expensive restaurant, La Zaina. We felt we absolutely threw our money away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kosten Aike, Otro at Kosten Aike
Responded Dec 26, 2021
Dear Mariemma: We regret that you did not have a pleasant stay. With regard to street dogs, it is something that unfortunately we cannot control since dogs do not have an owner, there is no law that endorses the prohibition of dogs in the street and the local police do not have any jurisdiction over them. Because of this we are going to make the pertinent complaint to the municipality of our town. On the other hand, we want to clarify that when you ask for dinner options on December 24, there were only availability in two restaurants, since it is a festive date and people booked in advance, which was not our responsibility for their choice.
Read more
Deborah W wrote a review Jun 2020
West Orange, New Jersey215 contributions144 helpful votes
Late night and early am noise. Overall the hotel was good. Very basic rooms and very good breakfast buffet included. No A/c room was very hot in late afternoon. We had to keep windows open to sleep, but no screens so some bugs. Good location in El Calafate though.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go for courtyard view, street side are noisy
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Lee J wrote a review Mar 2020
Exeter, United Kingdom68 contributions74 helpful votes
Excellently located hotel within easy walking distance of the many bars and eateries. Lots of tour offices within easy reach to arrange your daily excursions. Good sized well appointed rooms. Staff very helpful. Breakfast starts nice and early 06.30 and offers varied dietary options. Only negative I could find was the in room lack of tea or coffee making facilities. However tea and coffee are extremely well priced at the bar, not very useful early in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kosten aike hotel, kosten aike el calafate
LOCATION
ArgentinaPatagoniaProvince of Santa CruzEl Calafate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kosten Aike
Which popular attractions are close to Kosten Aike?
Nearby attractions include Lago Argentino (0.03 miles), Santa Teresita del Nino Jesus (0.3 miles), and Yeti Ice Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kosten Aike?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kosten Aike?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kosten Aike?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kosten Aike?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kosten Aike?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buenos Cruces Restaurante, Kau Kaleshen, and Mi Rancho.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kosten Aike?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Kosten Aike located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of El Calafate.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kosten Aike?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kosten Aike offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kosten Aike?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.