We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hostel Square Independencia

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostel Square Independencia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A really fun place, with lots of travellers enjoying free wine in the evening. The beds, rooms and facilities are a little basic, but it's appropriately cheap. Most importantly is the great vibe the place has (helped by the FREE wine!) and the AMAZING help/travel advice offered by the staff here (we had some tricky questions about how to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

This was a good hostel with a nice communal space to meet people and take advantage of the free wine on offer in the evening. The tours they offer are overpriced, we did the wine tours on our own for half of what they were charging. Great breakfast, best so far in a four month trip. The chef cooking eggs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe1092
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Set in a beautifully grand manor house, there are plenty of sociable areas to hang out in, at this perfectly central hostel. Just metres from the main square (hence the name), Square Independencia is the ideal hostel for exploring Mendoza. For when you want to branch out from the city centre, the reception staff will happily and easily organise all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sacha55
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

All in all we liked our stay here. The staff is amazing, helpful, friendly. The beds are a bit of a challenge, the pillows are definitely not worth calling them pillows... Yes, there is 2 hr free wine in the evening. And that is not bad wine at all! Breakfast is excellent. So all in all we had a worthwhile... More 

Helpful?
Thank Armin N
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

It's so hard to pass up such a good price for the location of this hostel. So we figured we would give it a chance! Unfortunately, it didn't win us over. What's good? The courtyard is lovely and there's definitely a good atmosphere out there, and the guys working at the hostel were brilliant. Why we left? A few reasons.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

I'm never staying in another hostel in Mendoza. This is our second time here and the whole place is on point. The staff has to be some of the most friendly. Kitchen is large and actually built for multiple people to be able to cook. Beds are large and comfortable, the free wine every night is a great way to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MayKing01
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night but it seems like a great, social hostel. The free wine is a nice idea and having the choice of pancakes or eggs for breakfast is amazing in a hostel! The room was large although it got very warm. Bathrooms could definitely be improved but there was hot water at least. Biggest disappointment for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mel R
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

Great social hostel without being a party hostel. Free wine in the evenings and a large kitchen to allow self catering. Would highly recommend if wanting to meet people without having to been intoxicated by 9pm! Staff very friendly and helpful!

Helpful?
Thank WillWhistler_Canada
Bárbara G, Gerente at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review

Thank you very much! We are happy you have a nice stay and we hope you have a nice travel !!! :) More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

I really enjoyed the time iv stayed in here. The atmosphere was great, the staff is warm and each one of them would do his best to help you with any kind of problem. special thank to Barbara, who helped me alot in many fields and really cared alot..thank you ! The BBQ is delicious and the kitchen is well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nir H
Bárbara G, Director de Recepción at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nir, un placer tenerte en el hostel!! Nos alegra que hayas disfrutado tu estadía, tratamos de hacer lo posible para... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

We were so disappointed by this place. We weren't given the room we originally found on Hostelworld because the receptionist said it had bed bugs, so we stayed in another one. All three of us got bitten anyway, and others at the hostel complained of bites as well. We eventually asked them to cover the cost of washing our clothes,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Layla R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 stars 2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#11 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#15 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Martin
Hotel San Martin
#27 of 83 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#2 of 160 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Owner has over 30 years of travel experience and really understands what nowadays travelers are looking for.Hostel Independencia is located in the heart of downtown Mendoza, few steps from the Independencia Square, the center of concerts, recreational and cultural activities. This restored old mansion was built in 1910, giving the hostel an incomparable atmosphere and ample spaces ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Square Independencia

Address: Mitre 1237, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Price Range: $15 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Square Independencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay