We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Square Independencia

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Mitre 1237, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostel Square Independencia
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm never staying in another hostel in Mendoza. This is our second time here and the whole place is on point. The staff has to be some of the most friendly. Kitchen is large and actually built for multiple people to be able to cook. Beds are large and comfortable, the free wine every night is a great way to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MayKing01
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed here for one night but it seems like a great, social hostel. The free wine is a nice idea and having the choice of pancakes or eggs for breakfast is amazing in a hostel! The room was large although it got very warm. Bathrooms could definitely be improved but there was hot water at least. Biggest disappointment for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mel R
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great social hostel without being a party hostel. Free wine in the evenings and a large kitchen to allow self catering. Would highly recommend if wanting to meet people without having to been intoxicated by 9pm! Staff very friendly and helpful!

Helpful?
Thank WillWhistler_Canada
Bárbara G, Gerente at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review

Thank you very much! We are happy you have a nice stay and we hope you have a nice travel !!! :) More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

I really enjoyed the time iv stayed in here. The atmosphere was great, the staff is warm and each one of them would do his best to help you with any kind of problem. special thank to Barbara, who helped me alot in many fields and really cared alot..thank you ! The BBQ is delicious and the kitchen is well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nir H
Bárbara G, Director de Recepción at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nir, un placer tenerte en el hostel!! Nos alegra que hayas disfrutado tu estadía, tratamos de hacer lo posible para... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

We were so disappointed by this place. We weren't given the room we originally found on Hostelworld because the receptionist said it had bed bugs, so we stayed in another one. All three of us got bitten anyway, and others at the hostel complained of bites as well. We eventually asked them to cover the cost of washing our clothes,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Layla R
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

I booked one night via hostelworld. After I arrived, I decided that I wanted to add more nights. When I went to pay for more nights, they tried to charge me more than what was listed at hostelworld website. I told them that I was trying to save them from having to pay 12% commission to hostelworld, so they finally... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ronaldsk539
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

I stumbled upon Independence by word of mouth... I was looking for a cheap place to stay with a cozy vibe. This place was just the ticket, the quaint location is ideal for a local type of experience... if you stay at a hostel on "Aristides street" you will be directly on the street with all the night life. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanna M
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

The free wine every night for 2 hours is what brought us here. Yes it's cheap, but it's not that bad. It made the hostel so socialiable, we made amazing friends here. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm. The bunk was squeaky and not the comfiest, but by this point none of us cared as we were happily wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lj785
Mauricio L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Square Independencia, responded to this review

Perfect ! thanks for that, It is nice to hear you had great time with us !! More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

This hostel was really good and very social after the free wine comes out at 7pm. The rooms were average. They did have power points for charging your stuff beside the beds in our 6 dorm. The free breakfast was a highlight here with crepes, pancakes, hard boiled eggs and eggs to order as you like, fruit, bread, tea/coffee and... More 

Helpful?
Thank John G
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and tried to find the cheapest place I could (Argentina broke my bank balance). This hostel is certainly ideal for a tight budget - the breakfast of eggs and pancakes is also great! The rooms are pretty spacious as well. The main downfall is the cleanliness of the bathrooms - they are DISGUSTING.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RachBloom
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#11 of 89 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#10 of 89 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#23 of 89 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aconcagua
Hotel Aconcagua
#37 of 89 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#26 of 89 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#4 of 156 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay