We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Portal del Sur Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portal del Sur Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is very central a five minutes walk from Plaza de Mayo. Staff is friendly. Room wasn't very comfortable, the bathroom was a little dirty and the shower couldn't be worse. The water from the shower always ended on the floor causing some problems. Terrace at top floor was nice. Overall the building needed some more maintenance, I guess...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbfolcobb
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

I was travelling alone and booked a private room and was very happy with my stay. Staff were great, the free tours were with amazing guides who were enthusiastic and very knowledgeable (one of the best I've been on for a long time). The rooftop bar was a great way to socialise, meet people and end a night. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed December 31, 2016

The Portal del Sur is a delight. Although it's run down, it has charm, notably in the ancient timber lift (possibly from the time of the Spanish Conquistadores). The staff were all friendly and helpful; nothing seemed too much bother for them. Their English was excellent, and our Spanish was enough to break the ice with them. This is obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
Riverside, California
Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile

We stayed Dec 11-14th and it was hot. Thankfully we had an AC unit but our roommate didn't like it on so our room was hot. The WiFi sucks, girls bathroom was decent, mens was dirty. Shower pressure and temperature were awesome - best in South America. Free water was great. Breakfast was bread, coffee, juice, orange or two and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missmendez05
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner in a private room, had a tv and aircon, only issue was the shower, just a drizzle and barely hot but other than that, staff are really helpful and friendly and speak perfect English. There's an awesome open common area but the best part was the cool little rooftop bar overlooking the city! Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rani T
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Rani! Hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're glad to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay, and let us tell you that you're always welcome. We're sorry about the shower, if we knew you had that problem during your stay we would definitely give you a solution. Safe travels...

Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

This place was in a great location for exploring the city and the staff all super friendly. We were recommended an amazing steak restaurant by one of them and it didn't disappoint. They know their area. The hostel is in a beautiful old building that's been converted, complete with original elevator, balconies etc. Breakfast was good - coffee, tea, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Jess, hope you're doing great! We're glad to hear that in general you had a nice stay in with us, and thank you so much for your review, it help us to improve your facilities & services. We're already working on the things you pointed out so next time you'll have a even better stay! See you soon...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed November 28, 2016

I had booked a 4-bed room with private bathroom. Everything was pretty OK, except: There must be a night club in a building close to the hostel - you will listen to the music all the night on weekends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max R
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Max, hope it's all good with you! We're glad to know that in general you had a nice stay with us. We're sorry to hear about the noise. Here on the next door there's a place to rent that has been closed for several months now, and we were very surprised to know that they opened one night...

Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

Great hostel, good location and friendly staff. Nice little roof top bar for sunset beers. Pretty quiet hostel which is nice if you want that. 24h reception and easy airport transfer organised. Can't really fault the place at all, just the wifi signal could be upgraded it's almost non existent in some parts of the hostel and our shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Sam, hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review, we're happy to know that you had a enjoyable stay with us. We'll always work on things to give our guests a better experience, but about the wi-fi it's a little bit hard cause we already have the best pack they offer in Argentina. Safe travels...

Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

We spent a nice time in this beautiful guesthouse during one week. -A nice living room -Plenty of activities -Breakfast included -Rooms cleaned everyday with new towels twice a week -Nice staff and very helpful It's located in Montserrat, a district very closed from Plaza Mayor and Avenida 9 de julio...so near the main sub-lines. We recommand it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey L
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Jeffrey! Hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're really happy and proud to hear that you had a lovely stay with us! Comeback anytime soon cause our door will always be open for you! Thanks and safe travels!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2016

We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. The room has high ceiling but was besides the main road. This means there was lots of traffic noise. There are free activities every night at the rooftop bar which is useful to get to know more about Argentian culture. The location is close to restaurants, transportation and some major sites...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephNgoi
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Steph, Hope you're doing fine! We're glad to know that in general you had a nice stay with us. Thank you so much for writing a review cause it's the best way for us to improve, so next time you stay we'll be able to offer you a better service. Safe travels and have fun!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (96)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#63 of 449 in Buenos Aires
1,279 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 481 in Buenos Aires
845 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 481 in Buenos Aires
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#7 of 481 in Buenos Aires
654 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#5 of 481 in Buenos Aires
728 reviews
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#25 of 481 in Buenos Aires
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Montserrat

Neighborhood Profile
Montserrat
As part of the historic quarter of Buenos Aires, Montserrat is defined by the historical events that took place there and the landmarks that have stood the test of time. The Plaza de Mayo is at the center of this connection to history: countless public demonstrations have passed through this square, going back to the May Revolution of 1810. Walking the streets of Montserrat allows us to imagine what Buenos Aires may have looked like in the past: the Cabildo takes us back to the late 16th century, while the Palacio Barolo and the traditional cafés carry us to the early 20th. Nowadays, the neighborhood is inundated every day by office workers, buses, and taxis; still, the cobblestones, narrow sidewalks, and subway stations from the 1910s remind us that we are surrounded by history everywhere we look.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Description: Wonderful Hostel in the city centre of Buenos Aires!!Portal del Sur is run with passion by young professionals since 2003.Portal del Sur is the perfect option for a unique experience.Portal del Sur is a great Hostel located right in the city centre of Buenos Aires which means: it´s really easy to get around!Portal del Sur Hostel is set in a XIX century building which has been carefully refurbished and decorated to keep the historical charm of its architecture.The 4 stories high building has a rooftop terrace with an incredible view of the city. Our hostel is recognized as one of the most chosen hostels by travelers of all ages and nationalities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portal del Sur Hostel

Address: Calle Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, Buenos Aires C1086AAM, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Price Range: $12 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portal del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Portal del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Portal del Sur Hostel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Portal del Sur Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for rooms at top floor, the noise from the street below will be more aceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles bbfolcobb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front on account of the bus route in the street.”
 of 5 bubbles matthewsB3634GS, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room not besides the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles StephNgoi, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“The 4 bed ensuite dorms have balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles martins_jp, May 9, 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a private Room”
 of 5 bubbles jmat2016, Jan 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question