We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Traveler (155)
Room & Suite (159)
Dining (30)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Certificate of Excellence
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Airport Transportation
Good to know
Full view
Hipolito Yrigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0 Argentina
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Jorge Newbery Airport4 mi
Ministro Pistarini Airport17 mi
Avenida de Mayo1 min
Piedras2 min
As part of the historic quarter of Buenos Aires, Montserrat is defined by the historical events that took place there and the landmarks that have stood the test of time. The Plaza de Mayo is at the center of this connection to history: countless public demonstrations have passed through this square, going back to the May Revolution of 1810. Walking the streets of Montserrat allows us to imagine what Buenos Aires may have looked like in the past: the Cabildo takes us back to the late 16th century, while the Palacio Barolo and the traditional cafés carry us to the early 20th. Nowadays, the neighborhood is inundated every day by office workers, buses, and taxis; still, the cobblestones, narrow sidewalks, and subway stations from the 1910s remind us that we are surrounded by history everywhere we look.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
Traveler rating
  • 454
  • 246
  • 78
  • 21
  • 41
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Tom H
Reviewed 2 days agovia mobile
As a hostel it is decent but as a party hostel it needs to work on the service at the bar. The system of having to queue up to get a ticket just to get a can of beer is really bad. Once you have your ticket you then have to wait for the slow bar staff to serve you. Also it make no sence that the tab system does not work at the avenue hostel and if you want to pay by card the whole process takes about 10 minutes.
Party hostels should have quick service at the bar as in the end of the day all we are there for is to drink. If you want to know how to run a party hostel bar pop over to the wild rover hostels in Peru.
Thank Tom H
Benjamin Methven
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 3 days agovia mobile
We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. Beds were clean and staff incredibly helpful in recommending things to do in Buenos Aires and how to get across to Montevideo.

Many activities to do with the hostel and very sociable place to be.
Thank Benjamin Methven
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 1 week agovia mobile
We booked to stay for 5 nights- but the last 2 nights happen to fall over the g20 summit. Apparently the whole area is closed for 3 days and there are expected to be riots. The staff have to stay in the hostel as they do not know if they can pass to the hostel via the police check points. We have a flight on Saturday morning so asked if we can have a refund for one night to move to a safer area away from the summit as we do not feel comfortable staying here- the manager Daira flatly said no! Ridiculous service
Thank ainewalsh90
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
I've stayed at three different hostels in Buenos Aires, and this, for sure, is the best one. The rooms are clean, with good beds, and good lockers.

The hostel is very organize and have a bar with good food and good beer for a reasonable price.

Is very well located, close to a lot of sightseeing places and metro station.

At night, there are parties so you can have a good time with the others guests.
Thank PauloBarney
Response from Milhouse H, General Manager at Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Responded 1 week ago
It makes us really pleased, as we aim to make your stay a fun, and memorable one. On behalf of the team, thank you, and hopefully see you back again soon!
Reviewed 2 weeks agovia mobile
I had already stayed at Milhouse Cusco and Avenue, and both were a good experience. Here, the cleanup leaves much to be desired, giant specks of dust under the beds, white sheets that were already gray, doors off their hinges pierced in the corridor. Humid and hot, the air conditioning is turned on by the staff only at request and between 11pm and early in the morning. The street is lonely and poorly lit, although well located near the principal tourist spots. If I go back to Buenos Aires, it sure will be to Avenue, this one is off my list.

Ya me había hospedado en Milhouse Cusco y Avenue, y los dos fueron una buena experiencia. Acá, la limpieza deja mucho que desear, motas gigantes de polvo bajo las camas, sábanas blancas que ya estaban grises, puertas fuera de sus goznes atravesadas en el pasillo. Húmedo y caluroso, sólo se encendía el aire acondicionado a solicitud y entre las 11pm y primera hora de la mañana. La calle sola y poco iluminada, aunque bien central. Si vuelvo, seguro será a Avenue, este está fuera de mi lista.
Thank PolySilvaG
Response from Milhouse H, General Manager at Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it and we're sorry if we didn't meet your expectations. We apologize for the cleaning, please know that we will reinforce this. And the AC, it's because this is a country that is going through a major energy crisis, therefore it is expected that stablishments like ours help in whatever they can.
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Allen H
January 31, 2018|
Response from Gengi5 | Reviewed this property |
There’s lockers in the rooms and a safe room down stairs.
Room Tips
"Room 111 is lit!"
Oct 20, 2018
Read review
"Everyone's super friendly, get to know your roommates. "
Oct 17, 2018
Read review
"We lived in a room on the top floor and it was fine."
May 7, 2018
Read review
"Level One, Room 102"
Nov 26, 2017
Read review
Show More 
$12 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
milhouse hotel buenos aires
ArgentinaCapital Federal DistrictBuenos AiresEl CentroMontserrat
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing