We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aan De Doorns Guest House

Traveler (47)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Aan De Doorns is a historic Cape Dutch farm homestead offering warm hospitality in a tranquil "farm-living" setting. The farmstead was built around 1860, the rooms are spacious, decorated with unique themed interiors and en-suite bath rooms. We have family rooms in three and four bed configurations. The fully equipped communal guest kitchen and braai area allow for semi-self-catering requirements. Dinners, packed lunches and or laundry facilities are available upon request. Full English or Continental breakfast is served in the ambiance of true heritage hospitality with preserves and bread from the locally community. In summer the terrace under vine and pool area are ideal for relaxation and during winter we gather around the Welcome Dover to toast the day's experiences in the Breede Valley.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
177Reviews
74Photos
0Q+A
5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 54
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Advertised communal kitchen to use - kitchen left in an dirty state throughoutAdvertised free bottled water - offered free filtered tap water insteadAdvertised free toiletries - received only cheap, decanter hand washUncomfortable bed and cheap linenUnprofessional serviceNo hot
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Amanda It is truly a pity that you had such a bad experience and if we were informed during your stay we would certainly have made work of it. The house was built in 1860 and the infrastructure struggle when we are fully booked and when all the geysers are at work to full capacity, it's mostly a timing issue and could have been resolved. The filtered tap water is available in the rooms as it's adequate for consumption and the bottled water is available for sale from the honesty bar. We are trying to cut down on single use plastic and prefer the local filtered water supply for the rooms water offering. With regards to the kitchen we are a small establishment and cannot employ staff to clean the kitchen after guests have braaied and used the facility after 21h00 in the evening, which most often is the case. We try to stack away the dishes as best possible and as you can imagine when three families braai and have dinner there is a lot of dishes and cleaning to be done that time of the evening. All the rooms have tea and coffee facilities therefore most guest can help themselves to these during the evening and early morning and by breakfast all is cleared for the next day. The family interaction of being able to prepare meals and serve themselves is part of our offering and most of the guests are accommodating as far as that is concerned. We apologies if this was unacceptable for your standards. As far as the amenities are concerned we will make work of it, most guests bring their own toiletries, we will certainly brush up on the current offering. Any issues with your bed or the linen we would have been more than happy to address if we where made aware of it, this is the first time that we had this feedback and take due note. We have beams and camera's up all round the guesthouse perimeters and though not visible to all it's effective and give fair warning of all movements which are recorded in and around the guesthouse. During the evenings the guests are urged to park at the back of the guesthouse if they feel their vehicles are unsafe and the dogs are pretty alert to boot. Thank you for taking the time to give your constructive feedback and we will most certainly make work of improving upon our service and product standard. Have a blessed 2019 !
Read more
A wonderful little home hidden on a wine farm. Each room has a particular theme and is decorated interestingly. The staff are all pleasant and the owner is full of stories. It has the feel of a building built in the 1800s and at times you felt you may be have stepped through the
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback, we loved sharing this Breede Valley gem and wish you all the best in 2019! Sharing stories and our own brand of heritage hospitality is what makes this lifestyle so worth it!
Read more
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming farm stay with great views over the vineyards to the mountains. Large old style bathroom and bedroom. Interesting mementos, books and ornaments decorate the interior of the house and the breakfast room. We were looked after very well
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Tom We appreciate that you took the time to give us this positive feedback and being able to share our unique brand of heritage hospitality! We will certainly pass your compliments on to Jandri! Looking forward to hosting you again when you come to visit the Breede Valley.
Read more
Our room was decorated in a peaceful manner- clean and cute. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good - it is also set in a lovely country style venue. Our host was very a commmadating, and friendly. Our overall stay was really excellent, would really recommend this little
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jnieke Your positive feedback is much appreciated and serves as such an encouragement to us all ! Thank you for the recommendation and we wish you a brilliant 2019 hopefully there is an opportunity to visit our beautiful Breede Valley again.
Read more
Although our stay at Aan De Doorns was brief (only two nights), it can be said with honesty that one does not often come across such a gem of a place. We were greeted with such warmth and enthusiasm by the lovely young lady who manages the guest house. Our room was beautiful and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ipienaar Firstly wishing you a fantastic 2019 and looking forward to the opportunity to host you again in the not so distant future. Your feedback warms our hearts and give us the encouragement to continue creating memorable heritage hospitality moments. We will certainly pass your feedback on to Jandri and the housekeeping team , thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback it's truly appreciated !
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
uitzicht vanuit de tuin
Photo provided by managementAan De Doorns Guest House
Room 6 Theme: Boer-Kitsch
PreviousNext
12
"Poet's double room with bath was lovely"
"Choose the outside room by the pool."
"Quant theme rooms"
"They are all gorgeous, but we liked the one on the outside, having its own entrance and parking."
"We had a room at the front of the house and enjoyed views of the garden and the magnificent mountains beyond."
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWorcester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing