We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aan De Doorns Guest House

Traveler (47)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Aan De Doorns is a historic Cape Dutch farm homestead offering warm hospitality in a tranquil "farm-living" setting. The farmstead was built around 1860, the rooms are spacious, decorated with unique themed interiors and en-suite bath rooms. We have family rooms in three and four bed configurations. The fully equipped communal guest kitchen and braai area allow for semi-self-catering requirements. Dinners, packed lunches and or laundry facilities are available upon request. Full English or Continental breakfast is served in the ambiance of true heritage hospitality with preserves and bread from the locally community. In summer the terrace under vine and pool area are ideal for relaxation and during winter we gather around the Welcome Dover to toast the day's experiences in the Breede Valley.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
180Reviews
0Q+A
5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 110
  • 54
  • 10
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Peaceful and scenic, good place to switch off after a hectic days work. I always feel very comfortable when staying there. Rooms are serviced daily and are clean. Staff are friendly and will go the extra mile if needed.
Read more
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded Mar 8, 2019
We so love to enjoy the continued support of guests and can truly say it's so endearing to hear a member of our extended Aan de Doorns family come back to enjoy another stay. This is all our pleasure hopefully you can bring along a loved one next time to enjoy the charm of the Breede Valley!
Read more
A group of families stayed at Aan de Doors, It was a gorgeous old farm house that we booked all the rooms in. As a result we had the kitchen to our disposal and a lovely outside area to braai and enjoy the warm evening. Very comfortable and an excellent venue for friends to
Read more
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded Feb 26, 2019
Dear Wander What a pleasure it was to host a group of easy going and accommodating families. This is what our heritage hospitality is all about making it a home from home experience is what we thrive on. Hopefully you guys will be back and have time to really explore the Breede Valley!
Read more
We booked via Booking.com in order to break our journey back to Cape Town and were attracted by the property’s fine pictures of a nice courtyard swimming pool on the website. My young family (15,13 & 7) had been looking forward to relaxing in it on a hot afternoon.We were truly
Read more
Response from AbundanceGirl, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded Feb 4, 2019
Dear Sir It's interesting that in less than half hour you where able to make such trough-rough negative assessment of our establishment. We are keen to refund you, but as explained this has to be done through the online booking portal through whom you made the booking. We have been in correspondence with them and they will have to refund you directly as instructed by us...As far as the pool is concerned the water comes from the dam and as it's level is low the sediment is high on the day of your arrival we had experienced a two day wind storm and rain, all factors that effect the pools condition ans as I tried to explain. The volume of treatment that we would have to put in the pool to get it crystal clear would be more damaging than using the natural filtration process that we have in place it takes longer but it's certainly not harmful in any way. I apologize for your inconvenience as I have already done telephonic-ally and hope that the refund will be reaching you soon. Your harsh comment reflect very poorly on our establishment and it saddens us that you have such a harsh view seeing that you never got to experience our hospitality of facility as many overjoyed and completely satisfied guests before you.
Read more
Advertised communal kitchen to use - kitchen left in an dirty state throughoutAdvertised free bottled water - offered free filtered tap water insteadAdvertised free toiletries - received only cheap, decanter hand washUncomfortable bed and cheap linenUnprofessional serviceNo hot
Read more
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded Jan 3, 2019
Dear Amanda It is truly a pity that you had such a bad experience and if we were informed during your stay we would certainly have made work of it. The house was built in 1860 and the infrastructure struggle when we are fully booked and when all the geysers are at work to full capacity, it's mostly a timing issue and could have been resolved. The filtered tap water is available in the rooms as it's adequate for consumption and the bottled water is available for sale from the honesty bar. We are trying to cut down on single use plastic and prefer the local filtered water supply for the rooms water offering. With regards to the kitchen we are a small establishment and cannot employ staff to clean the kitchen after guests have braaied and used the facility after 21h00 in the evening, which most often is the case. We try to stack away the dishes as best possible and as you can imagine when three families braai and have dinner there is a lot of dishes and cleaning to be done that time of the evening. All the rooms have tea and coffee facilities therefore most guest can help themselves to these during the evening and early morning and by breakfast all is cleared for the next day. The family interaction of being able to prepare meals and serve themselves is part of our offering and most of the guests are accommodating as far as that is concerned. We apologies if this was unacceptable for your standards. As far as the amenities are concerned we will make work of it, most guests bring their own toiletries, we will certainly brush up on the current offering. Any issues with your bed or the linen we would have been more than happy to address if we where made aware of it, this is the first time that we had this feedback and take due note. We have beams and camera's up all round the guesthouse perimeters and though not visible to all it's effective and give fair warning of all movements which are recorded in and around the guesthouse. During the evenings the guests are urged to park at the back of the guesthouse if they feel their vehicles are unsafe and the dogs are pretty alert to boot. Thank you for taking the time to give your constructive feedback and we will most certainly make work of improving upon our service and product standard. Have a blessed 2019 !
Read more
A wonderful little home hidden on a wine farm. Each room has a particular theme and is decorated interestingly. The staff are all pleasant and the owner is full of stories. It has the feel of a building built in the 1800s and at times you felt you may be have stepped through the
Read more
Response from ADD-MaritaSchneider, Owner at Aan De Doorns Guest House
Responded Jan 3, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback, we loved sharing this Breede Valley gem and wish you all the best in 2019! Sharing stories and our own brand of heritage hospitality is what makes this lifestyle so worth it!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWorcester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing