We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
26 Houtkapper Street Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600 South Africa
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (357)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (66)

About

#19 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Spa
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
777Reviews1Q+A80Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 597
  • 129
  • 28
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LorindaVoges wrote a review Sep 2020
Cape Town, South Africa192 contributions29 helpful votes
We are at the end of August 2020 and still in lockdown in South Africa! I was absolutely delighted when I could finally book my staycation at Majeka House in Stellenbosch when we moved to Level 2 earlier this month. It is hard to believe that this beautiful tranquil is in the center of Stellenbosch! With a bold, plush, highly individual style, this small luxury hotel with beautiful gardens and destination restaurant ake for a seductive escape. In fact, Condé Nast Johansens pits Majeka House as the 2017 Award Winner of the Best Design Hotel in the Luxury Hotels. Dining at Majeka House’s Makaron Restaurant makes for the perfect date night venue. It was my 3rd time having dinner at Makaron, and it is still by far one of the best dining experience venues in the Wine Lands. Due to COVID-19 hotels can no longer offer a buffet breakfast option to their guests. However, I absolutely loved the fact that Majeka House offered all their guest their own little breakfast buffet experience on their tables, which ensure that it was safe to enjoy this little luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
julienetsteph wrote a review Mar 2020
Paris1,081 contributions166 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at Majeka house for two nights in mid february 2020. Our travel agency booked a room for us for two nights in order to visit the wine area. On arrival, the road was under construction and we could not access the hotel without the help of workers... The hotel got our email and phone number but nobody took time to give a phone call to warn us. It would have been a good idea to warn guests before they arrived, specially those who rent a car in order not to get asphalt on the car !! The staff was friendly on arrival for check in. The room was not ready before the end of the afternoon. The room was located on the ground floor. Design is not so bad but needs to be renewed... And PVC windows and doors are not really a good choice... Bedding was good. Large bathroom but due to water restrictions in South Africa, towels and sheets are not renewed for two days : it is a little bit surprising since it was 37°C degrees outside during the week-end and we need to have shower several times a day because of the really hot weather... For a five star hotel, it is a management mistake I think... Breakfast was really good. The breakfast buffet was really nice with lots of fresh products. You can order any eggs you like. The staff is really friendly and efficient. We have dinner once at Majeka Kitchen : the food was really good also and the price list is really cheap for such quality in comparison with Europe. The atmosphere in the hotel was a little bit strange.... nobody in the bar, only one or two families in the swimming pool aera...and the need of improvement works... And the most unforgivable fact was power failures ! On the first night, one power failure during the night, why not. But on the second night, the power failure lasted so long than we needed to leave the hotel in the dark since it was the total black out at 5am. Since our flight was quite early in Cape Town international airport, we needed to leave early. We were alone, with Iphone lights, to cross the hotel, go across the lobby to reach the car. We just left the key on the front desk, nobody to help, no solution for reducing the inconvenience associated with the power failure...!! It's a shame !!! Even if neighbourhood needs to be quiet, they need to use their generator for so long power failures. On the contrary, just close and do not receive guests if you can not give them the insurance of a real 5 stars service ! We will definitely not recommend Majeka house hotel. The only point of interest is Majeka kitchen...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear julienetsteph, First of all thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for fairly complimenting our staff welcome as well as our breakfast and diner offering. Unfortunately we apologize for the road works debacle, we were not even informed ourselves, and when calling the municipality on that morning they could hardly tell us what was going on and how long it would last. Had we been aware of the road works we would definitely have informed our clients checking in. This lasted a day and a half and we found the worked extremely professional. Regarding linen, it is clearly indicated that we will only change the linen if you leave them in the bath tub and not otherwise. You might be aware that our country has suffered water shortage for 2 consecutive years and that some drastic measures were taken in hotels to survive this. Some of these measures have been left in place to avoid getting back into this situation. We are sorry about the fact that you suffered the lad shedding that this country has been experiencing for the past years. We have some municipal rules in our area and one of them is to respect others and therefore not using any generators from 10pm to 7am, we apply this rule. Looking at your reservation you did not inform us that you were leaving so early as normally we inform our security guard who is there to assist with luggage and fast check-out. Wishing to stay very safe in such difficult times. Kind regards Karine
Read more
chriskuehler wrote a review Mar 2020
Munich, Germany6 contributions1 helpful vote
We absolutely loved it at Majeka. Everyone on the team was nothing but incredible, giving us the best setting to relax and enjoy weather, food and wine in a very chilled sourrounding! We'd definitely come back, highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear chriskuehler, Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Majeka House and hope to welcome you soon again in Stellenbosch. kind regards' Karine
Read more
RJG_F9 wrote a review Mar 2020
Edenbridge, United Kingdom42 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
We spent a couple of days in Majeka to relax after some time in Cape Town. The hotel is a haven of tranquility and quality - really nice room, attentive and friendly staff, a fine dining restaurant and one of the best breakfast options we have experienced at any hotel in the world. It was clear that owners and staff stamp their personality over all aspects of the hotel, meaning loads of quirky pig ornaments around the premises and food which clearly stems from family tradition and quality ingredients. Only a few minutes away from several vineyards, a really chilled out couple of days - and one small point I haven’t experienced in many places, we were always referred to by our first names which have a feeling of a very personal service and friendly environment. When dining at the restaurant we were impressed with both the food but also the knowledge of the waiting staff who were delighted to answer any questions about the quirky - but high quality - dining menu.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear RHG_F9, First of all we would like to thank you for leaving us such a positive review about your stay at Majeka House. The entire team is delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, particularly the restaurant and service team with such a great accolade to them. We hope to welcome you back again for another relaxing stay soon. Kind regards Karine
Read more
Brittany L wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Excellent service. Semi private pool and huge rooms. Excellent breakfast and laundry is included ! See Wanda for excellent service ! Made reservations for us too and gave us a free tasting at an elegant winery up the street.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Brittany L, Thank you very much for your lovely review about your time at Majeka House. Just to rectify for other readers, laundry is only included in certain room categories. Wonder is specifically delighted for the mention of his excellent service and hope that he will be able to welcome you back in Stellenbosch very soon. Kind regards Karine
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
majeka house hotel stellenbosch, majeka hotel cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeStellenbosch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Majeka House
Which popular attractions are close to Majeka House?
Nearby attractions include Rupert Museum (1.9 miles), Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden (2.3 miles), and Jonkershoek Nature Reserve (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Majeka House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Majeka House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Majeka House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Majeka House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Majeka House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rust en Vrede Restaurant, The Restaurant at Clos Malverne, and Cavalli Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Majeka House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Majeka House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Majeka House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Majeka House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Majeka House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Boschendal (8.4 miles) and Vergelegen Picnic (7.4 miles).
Is Majeka House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.