We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived and couldn't dine at location due to a wedding party, unfortunately we were not informed in advance So could change plans. Attention wasn't there for us due to,large group. Room is very nice but not very clean, with dirty windows and dust. No cushions for patio chairs. While on time for breakfast most was finished and tough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aryan v
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hawkmoor House is an old landhouse, which is currently used as Bed&Breakfast. There are several buildings and in each building you find a different variety of rooms, each with an own theme (Chinese room, white room etc). The house is situated in a wineyard, so has beautiful surroundings. The location is perfect: away from the 'busy' Stellenbosch, but close enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara t
Echternach, Luxembourg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent to nights in this marvellous old county retreat. The rooms are comfortable, the food was good and we loved the atmosphere of this quiet place located in a marvellous countryside in the middle of huge vineyards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cali125
Mertert, Luxembourg
Reviewed November 2, 2016

We stayed for 2 nights at Hawksmoor House and we all loved it. The surroundings are very well kept and the views are stunning. The main house is a historic farm which you can almost feel every step you take! The rooms itself are very comfortable and cozy and have all amenities you can think of. We had dinner once...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romain1301
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hi there. Wow! We loved reading this review. We are so happy to hear you had such a great stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the historic atmosphere of Hawksmoor, we are very proud of our roots and the history of the Hawksmoor House is one of our favorite stories. We look forward to having you...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Amazing service! All the staff members were super friendly, and went out of their way to assist! ( our car broke down on the dirt road that day, just as we arrived! ) And the managers on duty came up with a very quick solution to have our car towed by a tractor, right to the front of the guesthouse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liezl N
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, Wow, your review blew us away! We are so happy to hear you and your partner were able to unwind and let us spoil you. We can’t wait to see you again soon. Best, The Hawksmoor Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Food for the soul, peace and tranquility, this rustic farmhouse is rich in history and filled with the most beautiful antique furniture and decor. The service is excellent, friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfast was good. Our room was very comfortable with under floor heating, fireplace, a magnificent bed with fresh crisp linen and a bath for 2, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda T
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, Yay! We are so glad to hear it. We always love hearing when our guests enjoy their stay as much as we have had having them-each guest adds to Hawksmoors history, for which we are truly grateful. Please do visit us again soon. Kind Regards The Hawksmoor Team

Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

14 Oct 2016 What a great team. All staff a so friendly and always going the extra mile. Attention to detail, beautiful room, beautiful views, ensuring you can truly relax away from the noice of city life. Will come and revisit with kids next time as your self catering unit is just perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FJ S
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for these kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Hawksmoor House. Thank you for the kind words of praise to our staff members. We look forward to you visiting again with your kids. See you soon, The Hawksmoor Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed October 3, 2016

We stayed at Hawksmoor for one night during the week and throughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was elegantly comfortable, with all the necessaries to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, with spectacular views of the farm, Table Mountain, and the sea in the distance. The manor house has a delightful veranda with views of Table Mountain, a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aBlondeandaBeard
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, You have made our day! Thank you so much for such a stellar review. It is always so great to hear when our guests experience all that Hawksmoor has to offer. Living in the quieter Cape area means a healthy dosage of laid back living is always welcome, and those sunsets and views just add to your stay! We...

Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

The farm is 25 km north of Stellenbosch and we arrive late in the afternoon, tired and looking forward to dinner because we didn't really want to drive. After a warm welcome we were shown to the brown room, that's in the main farmhouse. Unfortunately they had a big group in that nice of a dozen other people who were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulrichmond
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for such kind words! We are smitten with the history the old farm house has to offer and love having guests experience an authentic Cape stay from yesteryear. That combined with our view and the fresh, crisp summer air has us head over heels and we are so glad you were able to experience this...

Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend at Hawksmoor House. Management was very welcoming and made us feel right at home. The fireplace in the cold evening winters was enchanting and we thoroughly enjoyed the cheese and meat platter. All in all a great experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maolz
100roaringlions, Owner at Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm, responded to this review

Hi There We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than a roaring fire during the winter. We look forward to your next stay with us, we will have the cheese platters and the fire ready for you. All the best The Hawksmoor team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

332 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (302)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
9.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
778 reviews
6.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
480 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,482 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
10.2 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#1 of 114 in Stellenbosch
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hawksmoor House is an authentic Cape Dutch retreat located on a wine farm near Stellenbosch, only 25 minutes from Cape Town. Meticulously restored and decorated with exquisite antiques and stylish contemporary touches, it occupies a stunning location overlooking Table Mountain. Hawksmoor House offers a totally unspoilt, unpolished and relaxed country home experience. If you love dogs, dirt roads, sunsets, wine by candlelight and an owl outside your window, you have found your place! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm

Address: Matjieskuil Farm, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor House At Matjieskuil Farm Hotel Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Fire place in the room makes for a great setting.”
 of 5 bubbles Brettmdk, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“We have always loved the White Room”
 of 5 bubbles majiksea, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the house itself is very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Azillahe, May 26, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles ShanazHerskovitz, Nov 28, 2015 | Read review
“The edge house rooms are very private and quiet. Big and beautifully decorated.”
 of 5 bubbles ad092015, Sep 21, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay