We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Stables Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Stables Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2016

Some friends and I were in need of a place in Stellenbosch. This was recommended to us. It was great that The Stables could book us last minute. It was very charming and clean. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous.

Thank northernattire
George, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2016

WE spent a weekend. It was very enjoyable. We were very well received. Our accommodation was just what we needed. We were able to visit the town and all the attractions. Well situated. Service was excellent.

Thank Robinc34125
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2016

We stayed unfortunately 1 night but it was a very calm, warm and friendly place and very nice people. Very clean with an italian pretty touch.Perfect for families and couples Thanks Ilaria. Hope to see you again

Thank Claudio C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2016 via mobile

Travelled from lusaka got lost, the hosts didn't know directions to the place. Got there at 12am. Federica the host complained the next morning to my boyfriend and I that we kept her up and she didn't sleep. We immediately left even though we were supposed to stay two nights. Extremely rude and unwelcoming. Not the warm South African way... More 

1 Thank Kero R
Stableslodge, Proprietario at The Stables Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, you were screaming to me that you will send the worst review and as promised that day, below you will find my reply with a bit more details that I am sorry that you did not even mention. First of all my name is Ilaria, my husband Federico was the one that very patient was providing instructions how... More 

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2016

We stayed in the Family Unit. A Double Bed in main room and 2 Single Beds in another small room. This B&B is 5 min drive from the Town. Would not recommend walking distance. Has off-road parking which is a plus, free wi-fi. No TV in room - have to share TV in minute lounge area with other Guests (limited... More 

Thank Christine C
Seddon, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2016 via mobile

My husband [from New Zealand] recently stayed at The Stables Lodge for 4 nights as his niece was getting married at Dornier Wine Estate. He was made to feel very welcome & the breakfasts were great! As we were apart for our wedding anniversary on 31st December, I contacted Ilaria by email to ask if she would be kind enough... More 

Thank Sheeba2004
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2016

We were warmly welcomed and received by the stand-in host, but felt ripped off by the price for value of the room. The shower was tiny, the curtains couldn't close - too skimpy, the towels ancient and thin and the room generally very ordinary. However the bed linen was lovely, and the beds comfortable.

Thank Jean V
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2015

The guesthouse is very conveniently placed just outside of Stellenbosch. It is very well managed, spotlessly clean and the management are easily available all of the time. There is no television in the bedroom, but there is a common dining area which has a television for the use of guests. There is a kettle ab]and coffee and tea in the... More 

Lund, Sverige
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2015

The bad part is that you have to carry bags from the car because of the gravel on the yard. The house we stayed in had bathroom, kitchen and bedroom. It was very nice and felt safe to stay there and we also and a little nice garden.

Thank BeritSw
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2015

We absolutely loved our stay at The stables Lodge! Besides the cleanliness,extreme comfort and beauty of the mountain chalet - We had the most wonderful service from all staff and the management. It was one of the most helpful,friendly and most accommodating management I have ever experienced and such a value for money. The location is so convenient and tranquil,yet... More 

Thank 15Dane15
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (46)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (3)
Dining (7)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (1)
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.4 mi away
#60 of 114 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.3 mi away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#69 of 114 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eikelower Guest House
Eikelower Guest House
#68 of 114 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
#42 of 114 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#33 of 114 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.6 mi away
Vine Guesthouse
Vine Guesthouse
#53 of 114 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
situated in an exclusive area of Stellenbosch, less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, 'The Stables Lodge' offers panoramic views overlooking the mountains.
Accommodation in 4 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all equipped with air-conditioning-heating, coffee and tea facilities, hairdryer, radio cd players.
One self-catering unit is also available.
Enjoy a leisurely breakfast, relax in a quiet common area.
Secure parking, cosy common area, 'honesty bar' with cool drinks and snacks, internet available.
The guest house is ideally located to explore the famous wine lands and a lot of other excursions and day trips!
A beautiful atmosphere with a mix of italian & african styles make this affordable stay one to be repeated!
Italian and English spoken..German in progress! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Address: 85 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrift, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stables Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Stables Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay