We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fynbos Villa Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fynbos Villa Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The guesthouse is lovely, as was my room. The receptionists were very helpful and kind. It is on a quiet street on which most of the houses are also guesthouses. It is only a ten-minute walk to town. The botanical garden is a block away. Breakfast was delicious with more than enough food. If you arrive by public transportation, be... More 

Helpful?
Thank J K
fynbosVilla, Owner at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ms JK Thank you for your precious feedback on our dedicated professional office personnel and other staff. Thank you for your appreciation of many other details. Coming from the far East visiting Fynbos here in Stellenbosch as our guest, was very special to all of us. Kind regards Fynbos Personnel and Owners. More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

It took us a while to locate Fynbos Villa but after a couple of phone calls we eventually found it. We received a very warm welcome from the manager. Parking was secure and adequate. There is a small outside pool. We were upgraded to a family suite which would be ideal if people wanted to self cater as it had... More 

Helpful?
Thank akay07
fynbosVilla, Owner at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Dear Ms Amy Thank you for your friendly feedback about your stay. Glad to hear our Fynbos personnel referred you to a dentist nearby. Fynbos Personnel and Owners More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

We were led to expect a good standard at this guest house but found it to be the worse palce we've ever stayed in South Africa after many visits to the country. Breakfast on day one was average with excellent service but after that the standard dropped each day with many irtems not available and the staff less caring than... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CustomerConsultant
fynbosVilla, Owner at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. We received your review from the OTA you booked through and from Tripadvisor. We took time to investigate the matters as mentioned by you and addressed all areas that required our attention and would like to ensure you that corrective action were taken where needed. More 

Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Fynbos Villa Guest House is quaint and charming. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good and the kitchen staff were friendly and helpful. The reception staff were unfriendly and could have provided a more welcoming and service orientated atmosphere. An expensive blouse was stolen out of my laundry. I must assume it was staff who had access... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stelmarc
fynbosVilla, Owner at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have empathy with the alleged theft but would like to assure you that the staff who had access to the room have been all working at the property between 10 and 23 years and this is the first time we have received a complaint of this nature. Your concerns were addressed by training our... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Fynbos Guesthouse is a beautifully maintained historic Monument "Guest House" - magnificent antique furniture, old writing desks, cupboards etc. Quiet spot to spend time to reflect! We had room 6 and 7. Decent Beds, great sheets, decent furniture and an air conditioner, plenty of tea and coffee sachets. A safe, a fridge - what more do you need? The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank micim
fynbosVilla, Owner at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ms Micim Thank you for your detailed reviews of Fynbos villa and your comment about our worthy 4 Star status Regards Fynbos Personnel and Owners More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We had a luxury room with two single beds, nice big shower, aircon, dish, little welcome drink, a beatiful B&B!!! breakfast was awesome and service was excellent, we had the view of a lovely pool area as well. lovely stay, will go back any day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

This guest house is beautiful and they've thought of everything! The bedroom we had had a little porch, which was great. The bathroom was large too. Although there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which was great, it was also in a house where we had full use of a kitchen (for self catering), which was very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbsfamily
fynbosVilla, Manager at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Gibbs Family All Fynbossers thank you for your smart feedback! You are special guests and always welcome at Fynbos Villa. Regards Fynbos Personnel and Owners More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights recently. The staff was very friendly, the guesthouse is very central in Stellenbosch, plenty of parking available and breakfast is included. The rooms are very large and stocked with tea and coffee (free of charge). Recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Florian H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We were here for one day, we had the Victorian house, everything was excellent. We enjoyed it! Wonderful welcome !We will definitely come back !!! All the people behind the great work deserve a big thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank Wessley R
fynbosVilla, Owner at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Reynolds Family We surely appreciated your lovely review of Fynbos Villa and welcome visiting us as our special guests. Regards Fynbos Personnel and Owners More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

The three of us stayed at the family cottage. The beds were very nice. We had a large bathroom. This guesthouse is located central and you can walk from here to all kinds of nice places. The breakfast was nice, although we missed the fresh fruits with it. The staff is very friendly and helpful!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Floor M
fynbosVilla, Owner at Fynbos Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Floor M Your reviews were much appreciated by Fynbos owners and staff. We can assure you our No 1 breakfast treats are always on table: fresh individual fruit parfaits. Even a second parfait can be ordered. Sorry you've missed it! Kind Regards Fynbos Personnel and Owners More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#19 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
0.0 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#31 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fynbos Villa is a lovely 14 room Victorian style Guest House, equipped with modern facilities, where we offer our guests comfort and tranquility; whilst only a 5 minute stroll to town! Fynbos Villa offers its guests two types of accommodation: Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering.Fynbos Villa also offers:Our beautiful Guesthouse offers charm, character and atmosphereOur Rooms are clean and non smokingIdyllic located, with walking distance to Museums, Traditional Restaurants, University, Music Conservatoire, Coetzenburg International Sports Grounds and the Botanical Garden.Located in a peaceful and quiet areaTraditional and fresh breakfast is served every morningWe offer safe off street parking for our guestsAnd a beautiful solar heated swimming pool is available on premisesOur friendly personnel can assist our guests with:Flight confirmations, The organizing of tours and transfers, Car hire and general recommendations of places to visit. Afrikaans, English, German and Dutch are spoken. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fynbos Villa Guest House

Address: 14 Neethling Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $48 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fynbos Villa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fynbos Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay