We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers

56 Bird Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

It is an affordable hostel yet very basic. There is no heating in the room and it ils cold in winter. No hot water in the shower. On the plus side it is clean and the staff is nice and quite helpful. I would not go back again. Try another backpackers.

Helpful?
Thank Julien R
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I spent one night in the dorm as part of a wine trip to Stellenbosch. The owner himself met me at the Baz Bus drop off and shuttled me to the backpacker. The man behind the desk (I believe he was Operations Manager) offered helpful advice to me and fellow guests on what to do around town. He was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank CameronTracks
Knysna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just recently spent 3 nights at Ikhaya Backpackers in one of their self catering flats. It is very centrally located, with all the shops within walking distance. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - to the point of assisting my 5 year old son and I in carrying our bags upstairs for us. There is no television -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

I had a great time at your property. Ashley was always very willing to help, she helped me settle in quite quickly. I super loved the proximity to Stellenbosch University because that is where was training was. The cleanliness also made my stay very comfortable. The pick up service to and fro the airport was also very good. Thanks for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stellahb2016
Mequeleng
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

I locked the bedroom while I was out during the day, however found someone/people had been in as there was a discarded, used condom in the waste basket. A window was opened, which I had closed. Generally an uncomfortable experience which I won't repeat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jackpO5512CM
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jack I really don’t know what to say! Except to express my sincerest apologies and ask that you supply me with full details of your stay so that I may investigate this further as at no time was this reported to management to assist. You may email me at nico@stellenboschbackpackers.co.za. Again, please accept out apologies, this is definitely not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

iKhaya is the worst Backpackers I have encountered to date, and I have had the fortune of visiting many. Immidiately upon entering our room I knew we just won't be able to stay there. The owner was not impressed when I asked for a refund after being there for about 2 seconds and refused while trying to intimidate me. Eventually... More 

Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Stella I am sorry to hear that you cannot recommend iKhaya to other travellers. The information I’ve received is that you arrived to check-in before check-in time, and then went out when advised that check-in is after 14:00. The reason we do not want guests to check in before 14h00 is because we need time to properly clean the... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We were like a sport team and this change all the points of view. For us was not perfect the noise and party from the Pub/reception but if you are x fun or just the staff is very kind, Nico, Ashley, all of them . Perfect place to walk around , buy food, supermarket, parks, restaurant etc Perfect terrace and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rivajuanjo
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi rivajuanjo Many thanks for your positive review in spite of the pub noise, our locals do enjoy our pub . Should you ever visit Stellenbosch again, we’d love to host you again. Yours in Backpacking Nico More 

Tzaneen, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

security should be improved on the doors.the general stay was fine though i was not aware of the mixed accommodation for the dormitory. The location is very good as you will be near everything.Very understanding staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tracymV4440WG
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi tracymv440WG It is with concern that I note your concerns about our security. We have gates with a high security lock on both stairwells leading to the accommodation level which provides extra security and we trust that our guests would keep these locked as it’s for their own safety and for the safety of all guests staying with iKhaya.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

It is a very basic place to stay and you get what you pay for. They definitely cannot expect 12 people per dorm (at max capacity) to share one bathroom. It isn't sanitary. ALSO, wifi is NOT free. It is quite pricey according to how many megs you choose to buy. My boyfriend and I shared the private double room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Danielle Our biggest dorm room sleeps 8 and 2 in the double, so 10 at max capacity and we have structured ourselves differently to other backpackers whereby entire hostels make use of shared bathrooms, we have one bathroom per dorm and our friendly cleaning staff service the rooms and bathrooms daily to ensure that everything is clean. We have... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

We stayed in a double room for two nights. The one bathroom supplied is insufficient. We stayed in a double room which was adjacent to 10 bedroom dorm. There is one bathroom supplied which includes a toilet and shower together in the same room. If the dorm was at full capacity 12 people would have to share the one toilet/shower.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monique4444
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Monique4444 Thank you for your review. I have to apologise for the inconsideration of your fellow guests with regards to allowing you to use the toilet. This unit sleeps 8 in the dorm and would therefore be a maximum of 10 persons sharing the bathroom, which in all honesty has never been an issue in the past as the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#28 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
de Oude Meul Guest House
de Oude Meul Guest House
#78 of 113 in Stellenbosch
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eendracht Self-Catering
Eendracht Self-Catering
#10 of 46 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#5 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Prices are per person per night. As your hosts we know how important it is to choose the backpackers that is just right for YOU! Because backpackers are a special breed, iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers is not just a place to sleep under clean sheets and duvets, but is also a place where chatting into the night whilst quaffing a beer or three sees the start of new friendships. That is why we are called iKhaya - this means "my home" in the local language and it is this spirit that iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers functions – when you are with us, you are with friends. You are at your African Home! In our warm and friendly pub the roots of our African heritage are reflected in the decor. Like all homes our accommodation is clean, neat and caters to your needs from equipped kitchens to airy bathrooms at the best possible value for money. The above because we agree cash should be spent on "Jolling" (Partying and having a good time) and not on plastic wannabe accommodation! Welcome to our continent, our town, and our (yours and our) home - iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers. Why not escape the hustle and bustle of big city life and base yourself here with us at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers to explore the rest of Western Cape by day and chill with us at night? ... more   less 

Additional Information about iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers

Address: 56 Bird Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $19 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay