We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights, and there was no heating, no fire exits you need 3 keys to get in the place and out the place and as a group if for we was only given 1 set. We even found a meth pipe in the gutter.

Helpful?
Thank John B
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We go to Ikhaya every Saturday after a long weeks work. We never had a problem with bad service but these past few weeks we go there we get absolutely horrible service from this one barman. We ask for glasses then we get these ugly plastic glasses because they are out of clean glasses but then a few seconds later... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saphire223

Travelers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

Stellenbosch
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ikhaya's rooms are clean and neat. It is situated in the heart of Stellies and everything is walking distance. Definitely a place to come back to. Service is amazing and staff are very friendly and helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elzaandp
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

It is an affordable hostel yet very basic. There is no heating in the room and it ils cold in winter. No hot water in the shower. On the plus side it is clean and the staff is nice and quite helpful. I would not go back again. Try another backpackers.

Helpful?
Thank Julien R
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

I spent one night in the dorm as part of a wine trip to Stellenbosch. The owner himself met me at the Baz Bus drop off and shuttled me to the backpacker. The man behind the desk (I believe he was Operations Manager) offered helpful advice to me and fellow guests on what to do around town. He was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank CameronTracks
Knysna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

I just recently spent 3 nights at Ikhaya Backpackers in one of their self catering flats. It is very centrally located, with all the shops within walking distance. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - to the point of assisting my 5 year old son and I in carrying our bags upstairs for us. There is no television -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

I had a great time at your property. Ashley was always very willing to help, she helped me settle in quite quickly. I super loved the proximity to Stellenbosch University because that is where was training was. The cleanliness also made my stay very comfortable. The pick up service to and fro the airport was also very good. Thanks for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stellahb2016
Mequeleng
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

I locked the bedroom while I was out during the day, however found someone/people had been in as there was a discarded, used condom in the waste basket. A window was opened, which I had closed. Generally an uncomfortable experience which I won't repeat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jackpO5512CM
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jack I really don’t know what to say! Except to express my sincerest apologies and ask that you supply me with full details of your stay so that I may investigate this further as at no time was this reported to management to assist. You may email me at nico@stellenboschbackpackers.co.za. Again, please accept out apologies, this is definitely not... More 

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

iKhaya is the worst Backpackers I have encountered to date, and I have had the fortune of visiting many. Immidiately upon entering our room I knew we just won't be able to stay there. The owner was not impressed when I asked for a refund after being there for about 2 seconds and refused while trying to intimidate me. Eventually... More 

Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Stella I am sorry to hear that you cannot recommend iKhaya to other travellers. The information I’ve received is that you arrived to check-in before check-in time, and then went out when advised that check-in is after 14:00. The reason we do not want guests to check in before 14h00 is because we need time to properly clean the... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We were like a sport team and this change all the points of view. For us was not perfect the noise and party from the Pub/reception but if you are x fun or just the staff is very kind, Nico, Ashley, all of them . Perfect place to walk around , buy food, supermarket, parks, restaurant etc Perfect terrace and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rivajuanjo
NicoiKhaya, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi rivajuanjo Many thanks for your positive review in spite of the pub noise, our locals do enjoy our pub . Should you ever visit Stellenbosch again, we’d love to host you again. Yours in Backpacking Nico More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banghoek Place Hostel
Banghoek Place Hostel
#16 of 47 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge Stellenbosch
Stumble Inn Backpackers Lodge St...
#101 of 113 in Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#30 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Prices are per person per night. As your hosts we know how important it is to choose the backpackers that is just right for YOU! Because backpackers are a special breed, iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers is not just a place to sleep under clean sheets and duvets, but is also a place where chatting into the night whilst quaffing a beer or three sees the start of new friendships. That is why we are called iKhaya - this means "my home" in the local language and it is this spirit that iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers functions – when you are with us, you are with friends. You are at your African Home! In our warm and friendly pub the roots of our African heritage are reflected in the decor. Like all homes our accommodation is clean, neat and caters to your needs from equipped kitchens to airy bathrooms at the best possible value for money. The above because we agree cash should be spent on "Jolling" (Partying and having a good time) and not on plastic wannabe accommodation! Welcome to our continent, our town, and our (yours and our) home - iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers. Why not escape the hustle and bustle of big city life and base yourself here with us at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers to explore the rest of Western Cape by day and chill with us at night? ... more   less 

Additional Information about iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers

Address: 56 Bird Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $21 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay