We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Rosenview Guest House

Stellenbosch - Strand Road (R44) | Helderberg, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rosenview Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 37: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful guesthouse which was right by the wedding venue. Soft comfy beds with crisp linen. Great staff and they graciously allowed a very early check in. Delicious breakfast and incredibly affordable. Fully stocked mini bar and snack bar which came in great use! Super smart to have packets of cupa soup - bonus for a late night!

Helpful?
Thank D2644YAlouisec
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We try to accommodate our guests in every possible way, so we are glad that we were able to help you with that early check in. Wonderful to hear that you found everything in the room and the breakfast pleasant and that the cup a soup was a great... More 

Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Nicely located in a quiet area off the road 44 just outside Stellenboesch, clean, comfortable and nice served breakfast. We spent 2 nights there and enjoyed the location as it has easy access to many wineries.

Helpful?
Thank Exulant
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We love to get feedback from our guests and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you had a great time in Stellenbosch and had the opportunity to taste some excellent wines in the area! More 

Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Normally there is nothing wrong with a simple and basic room, but when a room is dirty and full with bugs than you lose all your credits. The room is full with mosquitos and ants in the bathroom. A can mosquito spray is not enough to kill all of them. The bathroom is fuzzy and the carpet and the walls... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NandaH74
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay at Rosenview. There is nothing that we can do know to make it a better experience for you…but we just would like to say that in the mean time we did clean the carpet and the walls (painting)... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

Anywhere you turn on this property, an awesome view awaits you! Vineyards, mountains surrounds you at all times and so does the warm hospitality of the staff! Harty breakfasts and homely accomodation! Truely a great stay and central to anywhere that matters!!

Helpful?
Thank Marinus V
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for this very positive review. i must agree that we are very fortunate to have such beautiful surroundings and views! We hope that if you ever return to Stellenbosch, that you will choose Rosenview Guest House again! More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016

Beautiful views from all angles of the surrounding area. Room was pretty basic but comfortable befitting a 3 star guest house. Breakfast was well cooked and good choices. Wifi was not that great and did not work in the room very well. Shower was excellent and good quality sheets Pool was freezing! Near to restaurants and vineyards for wine tasting.

Helpful?
Thank Chelseabluegirl
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always nice to receive positive feedback on our rooms, breakfast and facilities. We are so sorry about the Wi-Fi not working that well. We are in the process of sorting that out. We hope that the freezing pool helped you to get through the hot day :-) More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

My family, touring from Holland, had booked about 6 nights at Rosenview but unfortunately landed up in hospital with a serious thrombosis. My cousins wife cancelled the reservation, thinking that she needed to be nearer to the hospital in Somerset West. I flew down from Johannesburg to assist them but as availability in town was impossible, I contacted Rosenview again... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgJudith
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you here at Rosenview Guest House and we loved to hear that you found your stay very pleasant. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience this gorgeous view while drinking a glass of wine! We hope your cousin is feeling much better now... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

Rosenview Guest House is part of a larger country estate just outside the town of Stellenbosch. It offers a quiet, scenic location to relax and visit the surrounding vineyards and wineries. Our room was comfortably spacious. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We really enjoyed swimming in the outdoor pool and breakfast is served on the patio outside, offering... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are very privilege to be situated in such a beautiful part of South Africa and we are so glad you could have experience it with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you have some fond memories of Rosenview... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

The guest house is in a beatiful location and the rooms are well appointed. What makes this an excellent guest house however is the friendly attentiveness of the staff. Helpful and nice. P.S. There is a really nice bar across the road but the Rosenview Guest House is situated behind some vinyards so is too far from the road for... More 

Helpful?
Thank spacepigg
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for this great comment! We as Rosenview Staff strive to give our best service to everyone and we hope that each guest has a great experience. We are lucky to be surrounded by so many wonderful restaurants. We are glad that we could've been part of your December holiday in the Winelands! More 

Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Me and my family stayed at Rosenview to attend a wedding at a nearby winery. We had the unfortunate case of a cell phone going missing from our room during a day trip to Stellenbosch. We got in touch with the owners to inform them and what followed were events unimaginable. Far from apologizing for the unfortunate circumstance we found... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Weddingguest201515
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

We had a very good experience here. The location is beautiful and the guest house is very well run with lovely people. We will certainly bear it in mind next time. Good facilities. The breakfasts were really good and we found the staff fantastic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
SanetZ, Manager at Rosenview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely complement regarding our Guest House and staff. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the nearby future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#35 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Absolute Bosch Guesthouse
Absolute Bosch Guesthouse
#73 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#72 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#60 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hazelwood House
Hazelwood House
#51 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rosenview Guest House offers 12 spacious double rooms with en-suite bathrooms, as well as two family units sleeping five guests per unit. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, a courtesy bar in the fridge and a safe. Guests can bask in the peace and tranquility of the winelands while enjoying a traditional farm breakfast. With a swimming pool, picnic and barbecue areas and gardens with large open lawns and shady trees, Rosenview promises you a relaxing and memorable stay. Rosenview offers a fully-equipped conference facility that seats up to 20 delegates, so why not take in the magnificence of your surroundings whilst attending to more serious matters. Take a stroll along the vineyard trails to the foot of the Helderberg Mountain, or gather around the braai fires in good old South African style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rosenview Guest House

Address: Stellenbosch - Strand Road (R44) | Helderberg, Stellenbosch 7613, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $57 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosenview Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rosenview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay