We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Bay Lodge

Hotels.com$72*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Bay Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Blue Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2015

The rooms are to small and very tight. There was no space to manoeuvre around, the rooms were always cleaned and towels were changed. There was no mon slip towels so was not child friendly for the kids. Wi-fi was a problem if you were not in the main building and once it was dark reception was closed and even...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinemB5029YU
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All your comments have been noted and will be looked into. We hope to see you here again soon.

Windhoek
Reviewed November 1, 2015

We had the most amazing view of the bay, walks on the beach in the mornings. Self catering house was ideal for a family holiday. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Keep up the good work, we will be back!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank holgers41
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to the lodge again soon!

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed October 29, 2015

Very nice comfortable accommodation. Our room had a good view. The food was very good. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to requests. Would recommend it and stay here again if ever down in Saldanha.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoMar_Bob
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed October 28, 2015

We took a biking tour to Saldana to attend the annual HOG rally. The Blue Bay Lodge is an excellent venue to stay. The rooms are well maintained, have great views over the bay and swimming pool/tennis court. If you choose an "A" room you get your own kitchenette, lounge and balcony with a great en suite bathroom. The "B"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gponting
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

I was fortunate to stay in one of the self catering cottages with a view to the sea. Although we traveled as a couple, we rented a cottage that sleeps six. Could be charming. However, The cottage needs to be renovated as it looks dated. To be fair all the necessary utensils were in place for six. It even has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marazdm
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience and the restaurant. The cottages are up for renovation in the near future but we appreciate your feedback as it is very valuable to us.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed October 11, 2015

Our stay at the Blue Bay Lodge was always excellent, we stayed there more than once and each time was a treat and a pleasure. The staff very, very helpful and friendly and the booking in / reservation making procedure was such an informative experience. The room was always clean and fresh. The location is also such a treat as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review. We are so happy to hear that you experienced consistently good service from our staff and we look forward to welcoming you guys back!

south africa
Reviewed October 6, 2015

Rooms and bathrooms upstairs are very basic and small. They might have a sea view but i would rather stay in the courtyard rooms more spacious. Some of the cutlery was dirty on the tables which is something you can attend to and the smell in the conference room should be attended to.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank renateg
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The conference room's carpet was cleaned and unfortunately our supplier did not do the best job possible but I can assure the conference room is up and running and smells perfectly again! We will most certainly look at the issue with the cutlery and we value your comments because without...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed October 4, 2015

Everything during the weekend was superb, with only two complaints - The shower is so small that one struggles to bend to wash and the Fish dish served at the wedding was shocking - in fact inedible!.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clintonmeegans
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will most definitely look into the comments that you have made and make sure we improve where we can.

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed September 6, 2015

We found the Lodge to be delightful. Despite being ignorant of the fact that the area is so industrialised when I made the reservation, once we were on the property , the staff were so friendly and accommodating, the restaurant was excellent, the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would recommend Blue Bay Lodge as a good base to explore...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennis672
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fact that we are so central in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed August 31, 2015

We went up to Saldhana for the AccelorMittal 1/2 Marathon and my Gran's 90th birthday. We always travel with our dogs, so Blue Bay was a great find. The chalet was very spacious and well equipped. The bathroom could use a spruce up, but was fine if you not too picky. Being right on the beach was great to exercise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare930
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with the family and dog children! We hope to see you again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saldanha
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
5.5 mi away
Club Mykonos
Club Mykonos
#2 of 6 in Langebaan
391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saldanha
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Athenian Cascades
Athenian Cascades
#4 of 6 in Langebaan
68 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#3 of 6 in Langebaan
338 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saldanha Bay Lodge
Saldanha Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Saldanha
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Bay Lodge offers three star beachfront accommodation just outside the beautiful West Coast Village, Saldanha. From a mouth-watering a la carte restaurant to world-class conference facilities with the capacity of up to 120 delegates. Choose from 32 B&B en-suite rooms or 14 self-catering cottages and with in-house wedding, conference and function coordinators, Blue Bay Lodge really has something on offer for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Bay Lodge

Address: 48 Gracillaria Cresent | Blouwaterbaai, Saldanha, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7395, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Saldanha
Price Range: $76 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Bay Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The separate units are great, 2 or 3 bedroom and very affordable”
Jeans-Shirts, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“Our room was close to the security gate & for about an hour it was noisy with the gate opening and closing.”
Lizette-Venus, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“The executive honeymoon suite has the prime position!”
HouseC1015, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Try the apartments(annex), very roomy and private”
gordonm377, May 26, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the place”
345wynands, Feb 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$72* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$72
Booking.com$91
Priceline$82
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates