We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Bac Estates

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Le Bac Estates
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We couldn't sleep because we were itchy. Woke up in the morning to find the entire bed crawling with lice. Went to see the manager, he said it could be mosquitos that bit us.... I insisted on the money back. The lice went into the water bottle my was drinking from during the night, so who knows how many lice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carien1234
Le Bac E, Owner at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review. Unfortunately a family of starlings decided to nest in the ceiling above the one room. We removed them but it is clear that they left us a little gift. We apologize again as we did in person to you on the day as well as in the personal letter accompanying the re-imbursement...

Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Arrived to have lunch at 2:40 today and the waiter asked the chef Deon if he would still help us.... His reply while playing on his cell phone "no". Advertised hours to 3pm, we would have ordered right away. Perhaps we will feel more welcome somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 708yvettej
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

We met friends for drinks there before a matric farewell. Nice vibe with all the youngsters dressed up. Beautiful venue - gardens & buildings. The restaurant & bar has various smallish rooms where you can sit in - interesting!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirmu G
Le Bac E, Owner at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Thank you Dirmu G. We appreciate your positive review.

Pretoria
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

A little of the beaten track but worth the trip! Near Paarl just of R44. We did not stay over but the venue looked well priced and very clean! The bar was active despite early morning but most had breakfast! Value for money! Good service and late arrivals were quickly served to ensure no one sat waiting too long. Waiter's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugovz
Le Bac E, Front Office Manager at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Dear Hugo. Thank you for review, it is appreciated. We trust that you "Pub lunch" visit will be soon and our team will definitely be on point and are looking forward to serve your group.

Wellington, South Africa
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We are frequent visitors of the restaurant and lapa. We always had excellently homely meals at reasonable prices. All our dishes were well presented. Exquisite pizza's' burgers and steaks are worth a try. The staff are friendly an fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
Le Bac E, Manager at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Dear Jan K - Thank you for your review. Our new F&B department appreciates your input.

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed July 28, 2016

What a nice place to stay and eat. Nice and clean rooms with all the amenities that you would like.The bar and restaurant is very nice and the staff friendly and helpfull. Under the watchfull eye of the GM this ship is sailing smoothly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roosenwijn
Le Bac E, General Manager at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your good review. it is always appreciated when changes and efforts to improve are recognized.

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed July 28, 2016

I have been to Le Bac more than once, and every time was better than the previous. The food at the restaurant is well priced, and really awesome. Great atmosphere, fantastic service, all and all worth it. Awesome stuff Le Bac management - you will surely see me again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egberts546
Le Bac E, General Manager at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the positive review of our Bistro. With our new F&B Manager and chef our Bistro restaurant is obviously taken to a new level. You feedback is appreciated.

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed July 28, 2016

We stayed in the Bridal suite and was served with filter coffee in the morning which is a great difference. Breakfast was served in such a manner that you could mingle and met the other quests. The best recommendation's from the manager was given first handed as to what and where you can plan your daily activities for sight seeing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grumps1945
Le Bac E, General Manager at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Dear Grumps Thank you for the review. It is always a pleasure to host guests who appreciate the challenges of our industry.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

Avoid at all costs. From check in which was a shambles,the room which had other people's clothes still in the wardrobe, the room which was too small to swing a cat, (besides having to listen to the next door Neighbour doing his ablutions). The food was a disgrace (burgers full of lumpy bread, fish like rubber as it was defrosted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Griffjoburg
Le Bac E, Manager at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Late in responding yes, however, The challenge in the hospitality industry remain the ability to balance the expectations of the guest with the price they are willing to pay for the service. If you order a meal like a beef burger yet you are gluten intolerant, does it justify a negative review ?

Tofino, Canada
Reviewed January 27, 2016 via mobile

Went to the Bistro with friends and ordered an ostrich burger, it was on special for the month of January. The burger was over cooked, no sauce, a piece of lettuce and a bun that was at least a month old. When we draw the waiters attention on this the only reaction was : "oh" . We eat the patty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpityuka
Le Bac E, General Manager at Le Bac Estates, responded to this review

Late response yes. Dear guest, your input is appreciated but be assured that the situation would have been rectified if the Manager on duty knew about it. Always better to talk to the Snr person in charge giving an opportunity to deal with the matter.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paarl hotels
6.6 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
6.1 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
147 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Kleijne Bos Country House
5.4 mi away
Nwanedi Wine & Country Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Bac Estates is set within the cool and tranquil presence of the Drakenstein Mountains in the Boland region of the Western Cape, South Africa. The purposed designed venues and accommodation exudes character, charm and romance. Enfolded by vineyards the idyllic ambiance is rustic yet the destination is immediately accessible from the R45 and a stone's throw from Paarl and Wellington. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Bac Estates

Address: Paarlse Pont Outspan 372, Paarl 7620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Price Range: $64 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Bac Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Bac Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Bac Estates staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are of the highest quality”
 of 5 bubbles grumps1945, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are the same and look onto each other”
 of 5 bubbles 27debbiec27, Dec 13, 2015 | Read review
“A1 is next to the gate but rooms 5 and up ar closer to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Era0302, Nov 26, 2015 | Read review
“Whether you are staying in the family room or the other self catering rooms - be warned of the noise level. Our families stayed in the other self catering rooms and they could hear everything their neighbours were saying.”
 of 5 bubbles SCB29, Apr 2, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay