We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grande Roche Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grande Roche Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grande Roche Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed August 13, 2015

We arrived on the 6th August for lunch & then stayed the night in the Emperor Suite. I would just like to say that from the moment we arrived until we left the next morning we were treated like royalty. The reception staff were so friendly, the restaurant staff were very attentive & the food was excellent. Room service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe931
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zoe, Thank you for taking the time to review the Grande Roche Hotel. We enjoy receiving positive feedback such as yours and I would be sure to relay your kind words to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager Grande Roche Hotel

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewed August 10, 2015

This is a top class hotel in a magnificent setting in the heart of Paarl. The rooms are large, comfortable and luxurious. The service is second to none. The hotel restaurant cannot be recommended highly enough. Our overall experience was extremely enjoyable and we will definitely go back in the future. Very highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you so much for the positive review on the Grande Roche Hotel and our Bosman's Restaurant. We are always grateful for positive feedback such as yours and we hope that we can welcome you back to the Grande Roche Hotel in the near future, Kind regards, Anja Bosken, General Manager The Grande Roche Hotel

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

We decided to treat my husbands parents to an overnight stay as it was his Moms birthday and at same time treated ourselves. This is a beautiful hotel with lots of history dating back to 1700's. It has breathtaking views of the Paarl mountains, vineyards and beautiful, well maintained gardens. Exceptional service from the staff !! Especially the Sat afternoon/evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LindaSouthAfrica
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Grande Roche Hotel. It is always lovely to receive some positive feedback from somebody who enjoyed their stay and appreciate the history of our property. It was lovely to celebrate the special occasion with you and your family. Thank you for bringing the slow service during...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2015

There are very few places that you can stay in that exudes such a sense of history as this hotel did for us. If you stay then you must get someone to show you round who knows the history and can tell you the stories as it makes Grande Roche more than just a hotel. In addition, dining in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda E
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thank you for your very kind review of the Grande Roche Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed the walk through the grounds learning more of the Grande Roche Hotel History. We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future. Kind Regards Anja Bosken

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed July 4, 2015

The staff was great. The suite a complete disappointment. It had cold, tiled floors with non-functional underfloor heating, malfunctioning air conditioners and was ice cold through out our stay. (The underfloor heating tripped the power). The decor was generally tacky and old. This majestic property looks great on the outside but leaves a lot to be desired for on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank palunel
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Grande Roche Hotel and bringing the problems with the heating in the room to our attention. We always appreciate guest bring this to our attention during their stay at the hotel in order for us to relocate them to a vacant room if possible and...

Cape Town
Reviewed July 2, 2015

We spent one night at Grande Roche, I had read all the reviews and it seemed the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. The staff are very hospitable, we were very spoiled by the Hotel, they gave us a bottle of champagne as well as a beautiful chocolate plate for the celebration. Our room was lovely and big and included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelbabe40
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Grande Roche Hotel. We would like to congratulate you once again on your anniversary. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the dinner you enjoyed in the Bosman’s Restaurant. We have been experiencing problems with our fireplaces where they...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed June 14, 2015

We visited the Grande Roche Hotel for an organised weekend away through Mediclinic. The facilities, service and food was amazing. Everyone was super friendly, very helpful and the room was absolutely gorgeous. The bed was turned down every night and the underfloor heating was very welcome in the cold winter evening. The food was 5 star and prepared to perfection....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IlanaK1982
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ilana, My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

We were so very excited to visit this hotel but so very disappointed in the end. The hotel needs a facelift. Rooms are shabby, furniture dated and finishes not great. Our underfloor heating was broken, aircon old and loud and garden not well kept. Value for money not there. Breakfast average - was not given an option of a hot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank To-old-for-average
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Grande Roche Hotel. Most of the buildings on the property are National Monuments and dates back to the early 1700's. We have chosen to decorate our rooms and communal areas with a classical touch to compliment the buildings filled with history. We appreciate when guest...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed June 8, 2015

I stayed four nights last week and was absolutely stunned by the beauty, convenience, ambiance, and especially the staff. To keep things short and concise, go to their Web site and cruise around. What you see cannot do the place justice. The suites are huge and sit right amidst vineyards. They have transformed one of the oldest buildings in Paarl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerrcountyite
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Our Dear Valued Guest, My Team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche hotel. You have spoiled us with your kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Anja Bosken

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed June 3, 2015

What a fantastic getaway! We were treated with respect and friendliness from all the staff. Our room were fantastic, the weather was not so good, but with a room like this, no problem! Very romantic. We had fantastic goodies in our room to enjoy. Our dinner was outstanding!! The food was picture beautiful and tasted like heaven. Paarl also has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sonjabasson5
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonja, My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel as well as Bosman’s Restaurant. We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay and could celebrate your special occasion. May we welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Anja Bosken General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

334 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (297)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
165 reviews
14.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
831 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
591 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Price Range: $216 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paarl
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paarl
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grande Roche Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grande Roche Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Specify a renovated room.”
  • Paint drips everywhere.
  • Lampshade seen better days, £350 a night!!!!!
  • Shower floor tiles, yuk!
  • Workmanship in bathroom
 of 5 bubbles R4675BKkarenh, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
“terrace suite or garden suite”
 of 5 bubbles CorinnaS137, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Request a view!”
 of 5 bubbles colinsZ4566QT, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“Ask about the old stable room with the second floor sun deck.”
 of 5 bubbles bytowntraveler, Nov 8, 2016 | Read review
“Dynasty has a beautiful view”
 of 5 bubbles nel_amanda, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question