We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

798 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 588: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed there for 1 night with my husband as part of our honeymoon. The farm is beautiful, very quiet and calm. Staff are really nice and attentive, mostly locals so they can recommend activities around the area. We stayed in a cabin, which was nice and comfortable. The bathroom could have been nicer and a bit bigger (though for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoriagarcia23
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

De Zeekoe is a lovely guest farm with excellent rooms. It is very quiet and can provide an evening meal if you want one as it is about 9km from the main town and you will need a car to get there. Obviously the owners are quite religious as the site is littered with quotes from the bible. What is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thanks for taking the time to write your review, although not a great rating :-( Im happy that you enjoyed our rooms & our meerkat tours. Please do keep in mind that we have so many visitors from all over the world, with their own habits - its important to us to look after our own place and...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is a bit of mixed bag. There were 6 of us and we booked 3 rooms. The setting is stunning and there was ample choice for breakfast. However other than that the whole stay was a shambles. We arrived to be told straight away we had to order dinner (this was at 5pm) without any welcoming whatsoever to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisstore
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you for taking so much time to write this review although a bad rating. We do appreciate all comments and suggestions so we can improve our services. I am not aware of this incident over the december holiday, but i will follow up with my staff to see what was the situation in the rooms. Perhaps you...

Waialua, Hawaii
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi, my review is based on my stay of 3 nights. In my opinion, I think the De Zeekoe Guest Farm was an excellent place. Everything was enjoyable, with nothing to complain about, as I was fortunate to have stayed. The people working there were so very nice and helpful. The lodging and dining met all my expectations. I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank someworldtraveler
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive, detailed review. Glad that you had time to make a 3 day visit in this area. Oudtshoorn and our farm has so much to offer, we definitely recommend more than 1 night! Thanks for the recommendation :-) Regards from sunny Oudtshoorn Kristy

southamton,uk
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 3 nights at De Zeekoe and really enjoyed our time here. We had 2 adjoining rooms as a family of 4 and were grateful for the fridge and air conditioning as it was VERY hot while we were there. We booked to see the Meerkats which was amazing although to be fair this trip is also open to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexamy
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Alex & Amy Again thank you for the visit and taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the 4 stars :-) Just so you know that the meerkat tours are on our farm , de Zeekoe is 3000 hectares and we do these tours on the far end of the farm. I will follow up on...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the cabins on the lake at De Zeekoe for one evening whilst meandering along Route 62. The arrival at De Zeekoe was via a short gravel section from the R328, we were Greeted at reception and offered welcome drink of the local Sherry, which was also available in the cabin. The team are very professional and courteous....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhenoTraveller
Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a night at De Zeekoe before the early trip to the Meerkats - it is a really nice place to stay - very friendly & helpful staff, beautiful setting and nice pool for a refreshing swim. The dinner buffet was ok and while the supposed entertainment (karaoke singer) was not to our taste, others appears to enjoy it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richaus
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Great review and thanks for the recommendation :-) Safe journeys ahead! Kind regards Kristy

Huizen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a bit disappointed by our stay at De Zeekoe. I must say, this is however if you compare it with the other lodges and accommodations we were fortunate to experience in South Africa. The farm is a bit bigger than our other accommodations hence also a bit less personal. The room was very small, and had no access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal4travel
Québec City
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful room, very friendly staff. We should have booked an extra night because this is the best place to test quietly. Also, the food was superb! I rarely give a 5 stars to a place...but this one is well deserved!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanuk05
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and again for the visit and the extra night at de zeekoe :-) We do hope to see you again in the near future and please remember to send all your friends! Kindest regards Kristy

Struisbaai, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at De Zeekoei Guesthouse specifically for the meerkat adventure. To us the accommodation was of secondary importance but we were pleasantly surprised by the luxurious rooms, comfortable, with more amenities than we expected. A tranquil view from the room and outdoor shower were also a bonus. The staff, both at check in and in the restaurant, were exceptionally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Elaine Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review. Extremely happy that you enjoyed our luxurious rooms, dinners and friendly service. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. safe journeys! kind regards Kristy

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

457 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (394)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
433 reviews
4.8 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
270 reviews
4.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
718 reviews
18.3 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#6 of 43 in Oudtshoorn
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#11 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 2000 hectare working farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) ; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x eco friendly cottages. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Conference and small functions venue• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species )• Canoeing• Eco Farm Tours - pre book• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $77 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from De Zeekoe Guest Farm staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Litchfield, New Hampshire
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from De Zeekoe Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“superior garden view is good value”
 of 5 bubbles someworldtraveler, 1 week ago | Read review
“This is one of the best place to really relax and enjoy a book in a lounge chair !Take the deluxe room.”
 of 5 bubbles Nanuk05, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“As always, you get what you pay for!”
 of 5 bubbles Cymag, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main buidling”
 of 5 bubbles 789briann, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“hnmoon suite great but it's an outdoorsy place so it does not matter No traffic around but wakeup call from local roosters it's a real farm”
 of 5 bubbles 951carolinel, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay