We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakdene Guest House

Save
Share
99 Baron Van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
$79
View Deal
Expedia.com$79
Travelocity$79
Orbitz.com$79
CheapTickets$79
Tripadvisor$79
Snaptravel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (69)
Pool & Beach (6)
Room & Suite (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#21 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Oakdene is situated in the centre of historic Oudtshoorn. It captures all the character and heritage of a bygone era - the ostrich feather boom. This charming Victorian home was built in 1853 and declared a National Monument in 1988. Oakdene is sheltered under Oak trees in the centre of town, on the main tourist route. Oakdene is within walking distance from well-known restaurants to enjoy local wines and delicious Ostrich steaks. Since July 2017 Oakdene is under new Belgian ownership. After a complete refurbishment Oakdene will present itself in its historical Victorian glory. Oakdene has 6 newly styled en-suite rooms with bath or shower. All rooms are individual, have remote controlled air-conditioning, satellite flat panel TV, WiFi, coffee/tea trays, safe, hairdryer and bath accessories. Electric blankets in winter and other amenities will make you stay a pleasant one. Newly designed tropical garden with swimming pool, garden furniture, sun loungers and parasols to enjoy our sunny days. Breakfast is served in the "plaaskombuis" or outside on the patio facing the garden. Safe under cover parking on the premises.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
82Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 74
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lorrainesmith34 wrote a review Mar 2020
Warwickshire, United Kingdom13 contributions
Sonja and Daniel our hosts were superb making us very welcome and sharing lots of information about local restaurants and sightseeing. Large comfortable room, swimming pool and lovely breakfast. Definitely would recommend. Thank you S and D and good luck with your venture.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sheila F wrote a review Feb 2020
Whitstable, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
Sonja and Daniel made us feel very welcome. They have been running the guest house for over a year, having moved from Belgium - so have many languages to their repertoire! Nothing was too much trouble for them. The house is one of the oldest in Oudtshoorn and they have decorated it in keeping with the era of the house, so it's got quite a few antiques. The double bedrooms have massive comfy beds. We had a lovely breakfast on the terrace at the back of the house.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The bathrooms have roll-top baths with hand-held shower heads - they do offer a separate shower...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Peter T wrote a review Feb 2020
Huddersfield, United Kingdom2 contributions
Lovely, well appointed large room which had air conditioning which was essential given the high temperatures. There was shared seating area at the back looking onto the garden where you could sit in the evenings. Breakfast was very good. The hosts were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdene99, Owner at Oakdene Guest House
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear Peter T, Thank you for enjoying the room and for having enjoyed the breakfast. We thought it was great that you were here and hope to see you again someday. Thanks for this nice review, we appreciate this. Kindest Regards. Daniël & Sonja
Read more
Denis O wrote a review Feb 2020
Emsworth, United Kingdom76 contributions27 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at this Guest House for six nights, the car parking is at the far rear of the property, entranced via a gravel driveway, through the dining/kitchen area to the rooms.Our room number 3 was small with a seperate room housing the wash basin, loo and small shower. Although the owner assured us that he meant the Guest House to look and feel "homely and comfortable" it looked neglected, the bathroom door was shoddy, woodwork showing through paintwork in patches. The old fashioned tap heads for the shower were loose and more water dribbled down from the shower-head than spayed out. Rather strange pallet style storage at the foot of the double bed, which wasn't used. Several non-working clocks were on shelving with other outdated clutter. Breakfasts were a laugh, if I were in a light-hearted mood, there were no fruit juices on offer, nor milk or water. One had to request it. Coffee was poured out of a pot, guess what, yes, instant coffee. Scrambled egg was hard, bacon either recooked or blackened from over cooking; virtually inedible. Grilled tomatoes, whilst requested, didn't exist, only a slice or two of freshly cut ones. There was little conversation from the husband, except complaints about the situation in South Africa, his wife strove to make good his shortcomings. In short, we will never return to this accommodation again, yet I sincerely hope the Belgian couple brighten themselves up and become more conscious of the needs of their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid, unless you wish to be dissapointed
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Evrard, Owner at Oakdene Guest House
Responded Mar 1, 2020
REALLY Denis REALLY? Do you really give us such a bad review because I didn't get along with your inappropriate humor and comments to my wife and especially the very inappropriate comments to our staff !!! REALLY? You stayed here for six days, if it was really as bad as you suggested it, you could have left after the first day, but you didn't ..... so. Thank you for your stay anyway. Greetings Daniel
Read more
Jill C wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland424 contributions282 helpful votes
We only stayed for one night en route to the coast but our stay was very comfortable - nice room, good breakfast with homemade cakes and bread. Located very centrally. Hosts gave some great tips and were very welcoming. Perfect for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdene99, Owner at Oakdene Guest House
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear jillcG6782GA, Nice to hear that you both had a pleasant stay at Oakdene and that you enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you for this great review. Hope to see you again one day! Kindest regards, Daniël & Sonja
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOudtshoorn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oakdene Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Oakdene Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Swartberg Pass (0.6 miles), Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn (0.5 miles), and Cango Ostrich Show Farm (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oakdene Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Oakdene Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Oakdene Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oakdene Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nostalgie, Anny's Bistro, and Bello Cibo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oakdene Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Oakdene Guest House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Oudtshoorn.
Are there any historical sites close to Oakdene Guest House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arbeidsgenot (0.5 miles) and St Jude's Anglican Church (0.3 miles).