We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mooiplaas Guesthouse

Save
Mooiplaas Volmoedstreet 1, Oudtshoorn 6620 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Booking.com
$144
$97
View Deal
SAVE $47
Agoda.com
$144
$97
View Deal
SAVE $47
Expedia.com$125
ZenHotels.com$144
Tripadvisor$97
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (324)
Room & Suite (60)
Pool & Beach (38)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#12 of 54 Specialty lodging in Oudtshoorn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Mooiplaas Guesthouse is situated 10 km outside Oudtshoorn with magnificent views over the Swartberg Mountains. We do Farms tours that will give you more information about the Ostriches and the history of the Farm and Keller Family. We do serve dinner, real South African cuisine on the open fire with true Klein Karoo hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Fax / photocopying
Photo copier / fax In business center
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4 stars
Languages Spoken
English, German
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range, Mountain View
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
469Reviews4Q+A64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 288
  • 133
  • 35
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
When I made my booking there was no mention that we would be accommodated in the Annex. This meant we had to drive to the main building if we wanted dinner and to have the full breakfast. We were greeted by Johnny, who was fantastic, and apologised that we could not be accommodated in the main building as they had a very large party staying there. There was no mention of a reduced rate for not staying in the accommodation which we booked , which was very disappointing and underhand. All I wanted was what we had paid for.
Read more
Response from HanlieKeller, Owner at Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback Mooiplaas annex are part of Mooiplaas, not a different property We apologise that you had to drive 500 meters for dinner, most guests enjoy the walk to the dinner area, but it seems as though you did not like it Take care and we look forward to assist again in the future! Kindest regards Hanlie
Read more
+1
My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way through the garden route. What a place. The staff were all very attentive, they couldn’t do enough for you. Our room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. All the meals were taken on the veranda style restaurant, overlooking the beautiful pool and the ostriches. Very tranquil and relaxing place to stay. The food was fantastic and well presented. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. It was a real find. Thank you all for your kind hospitality.
Read more
Response from HanlieKeller, Owner at Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests Thank you for your message We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Mooiplaas! We look forward to your next visit! Kind regards Hanlie
Read more
The first few hours at Mooiplaas was fine, the food was nice and the rooms were spacious. However on the first night something very disturbing happened. I was staying here with my mum and my sister. Whilst I was taking a nap the bartender made a comment to my mum. He said: "I will give you 10 gin and tonics if you leave me alone with your daughter". My mother is quite easy going and did not bother reacting to this. However things then got worse. My mother had already had 5 gin and tonics and at home she is a heavy drinker. She ordered another drink and the same bartender made this drink so strong that she was unable to drink it. She said there was more gin in this drink than tonic and thought he was trying to get her drunk so that she would go to bed, leaving her daughter alone with him. When I heard what happened I was immediately very angry and concerned for my family's well-being. I walked over to the manager and when I told her the first comment the bartender had made, the chef tending the BBQ burst out laughing, literally in my face. I did not even manage to tell them about the attempt to incapacitate my mother as they seemed to find it all very funny. I then returned to the apartment with my mother and sister, the bartender behind all this then turned up to aplogise and tried to shake my hand; which I refused. I asked the man, "why was my mothers drink so strong" and he replied "it was the last bit of the bottle so I poured it all in". Just one minute later I asked him the same question and he said "I wasn't looking what I was doing because I was preoccupied with other work, I must of poured too much in". An innocent man does not have 2 different stories. His intentions to use alcohol to take advantage of my family are very clear. I believe he tested the water with his first comment and when no reaction was given, he began an actual motive. I am not the type of person to leave bad reviews, but I feel concerned for other families and partners that may visit this place in the future. The staff seemed to think it was all a laughing matter, which makes the whole thing that much more disturbing. Please think twice before coming here and stay safe.
Read more
Response from Bakenskraal1, Owner at Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear sir Thank you for your feedback. Although I answered your review three times already what the truth was behind your false accusations, I would no longer proceed in answering your reviews as well as those you are asking your "friends" to post. Clearly you are trying to hurt us. We as the accommodation establishment has little, if any, control in reviews posted by guests and all I can say, is that I hope that anyone reading this awe full review that you posted, will realize it is not true. Thank you for your wonderful mother that apologized in the morning to all our staff and the waiter you so falsely accused, she is a great woman and so are your sister. It is a pity that you were not able to proceed the vacation with them and left for your own country in the morning. They left a huge tip and asked us to forgive their son that is not himself lately. We wish you a wonderful 2020, but please do not come back, Mooiplaas does not welcome people like you, we are a respectful and honest business and so are our staff which you hurted very badly All the best and take care! Hanlie
Read more
+1
This as a really lovely guest house with a terrific view from the infinity pool and the restaurant. The staff are amazing, shout out to Marshall who is so helpful and friendly. The food is delicious. We both had the ostrich and were very impressed.
Read more
Response from Bakenskraal1, Owner at Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear Guests Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate this Kindest regards Hanlie
Read more
+1
We were met by a nice waiter called John. He gave os a nice interduction to the place. We had a wonderfull room with at terasse and a view to the osteiches. Nice pool and restaurant. God breakfast. Need and clean place. Though bad wifi connection at the room (no 10).
Read more
Response from Bakenskraal1, Owner at Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear Tintam Thank you for your message Take care and may 2020 be a great year! Kind regards Hanlie
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOudtshoorn
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Highgate Ostrich Show Farm (0.6 miles), Safari Ostrich Show Farm (2.1 miles), and Meerkat Magic (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe, Ma Belle Restaurant, and Nuts & Coffee Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Mooiplaas Guesthouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arbeidsgenot (5.7 miles) and St Jude's Anglican Church (5.9 miles).
Does Mooiplaas Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.