We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gumtree Guest House

Save
Share
139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
$56
$48
View Deal
SAVE $8
Booking.com
$56
$48
View Deal
SAVE $8
Hotels.com
$56
View Deal
Expedia.com$56
Travelocity$56
Orbitz.com$56
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (87)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (15)

About

#6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
700Reviews0Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 562
  • 124
  • 11
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jbreie158802 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Good breakfast, friendly owners extreme helpful. Nice Garden, good local beer. Very close to city center. Wishing lot of customers after the global crises now. Stay save and healthy. All the best for the future
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
AHT-21 wrote a review Mar 2020
Alton, United Kingdom41 contributions11 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at Gumtree Guest House , Phil & Linda were very friendly and helpful in making bookings and suggestions. The breakfasts were very great, the rooms were lovely.. I also must mention Domino,the dog and Lulu, the cat who were very friendly and lovable. We will definitely stay at the Gumtree Guest House when back in Oudtshoorn..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Hi A&H, It was great to meet you both and have you stay with us at Gumtree GH. We hope your journey home was not too strenuous. Don't forget to email usif you want our travel research on Namibia and of course, Kgalagadi. We look forward to your next visit to Oudtshoorn in hopefully the not too distant future!
Read more
Corcoran1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Chippenham UK157 contributions96 helpful votes
Phil and Linda are what made our visit here outstanding. Their attention to detail is phenomenal and their hospitality is second to none. We were welcomed warmly and given comprehensive information about both the property and surrounding area. Restaurants were booked for us each evening and at the end of our three night stay we felt we were leaving behind two good friends. I hope to see them again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thank you for your lovely review R&D! We really enjoyed meeting you and spending some time with you. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Wilderness and along the Garden Route. Hopefully we'll see you again at Gumtree in the not too distant future...
Read more
gdunca118159 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We enjoyed a very pleasant stay in lovely accommodation. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful when it came to planning meals out and things to do in the area. The room was extremely comfortable, well equipped and attention to detail was superb. We would recommend staying at Gumtree if you are in Oudtshoorn
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Thank you for the kind words G & C. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your trip around SA. We enjoyed our chat in the bar and maybe we'll find you on a golf course in Scotland in the not too distant future...
Read more
Rupert B wrote a review Feb 2020
Pieve Fosciana, Italy139 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
Arrived to be greeted with warm welcome and smiles all round - shown to room- lovely and spacious - think we had no4 by the entrance to the bar - breakfast area . Lovely room - no complaints - breakfast was good and nice local sausage and good eggs ! With lovely chutney ! Spent a whole day at the pool as it was 45 deg ! Deck a bit too hot but no worries ! Easy walk into town for some good food - thanks was a lovely stay ... all the best to you both
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Thanks for the positive feedback RupertB. We hope the rest of your trip has been good and that you enjoyed Noordhoek!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$52 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the gumtree hotel oudtshoorn
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOudtshoorn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gumtree Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Gumtree Guest House?
Nearby attractions include C.P Nel Museum (0.3 miles), Cali Craft & Gems (0.2 miles), and ArtKaroo Art Gallery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gumtree Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gumtree Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gumtree Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gumtree Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gumtree Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nostalgie, Anny's Bistro, and Bello Cibo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gumtree Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Gumtree Guest House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Oudtshoorn.
Are there any historical sites close to Gumtree Guest House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arbeidsgenot (0.4 miles) and St Jude's Anglican Church (0.1 miles).