We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

African Violet

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
African Violet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for African Violet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Stockholm
Level Contributor
332 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We recently stayed here for the second time. We love the place. We booked the Two-Bedroom Loft Suite and we like it because it is light and modern and has an aircon in the sitting room. We also stayed in the Terrace Suite which has a lovely outdoor setting and a beautiful view. The owners are very nice and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank AroundTheWorld000
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We stayed 2 times 4 nights in African Violet last month. First time was in the Garden Studio, second time in the Design Studio. The first one is very bright while the other one has only one window and thus much darker. Terraces are too small (but that's a personal opinion). Both studios are very well equipped. Rob and Jennifer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FrancineS012015
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

My husband, kids and I stayed in the garden suite of the African Violet for nine days at the beginning of January. We found the suite to be very comfortable with nice linen and bath towels. The suite is tastefully furnished and is well equipped. We paid for a daily cleaning service which was to our satisfaction. African Violet has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mfjdesousa
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

After almost 4 weeks traveling we booked the studio for our last stop for 5 nights and this was by far the worst one in beautiful SA.We only stayed 2 nights and booked elsewhere. The whole place gives you an claustrophobic feeling, the room is narrow and sad, no aircon but a little noisy fan and no windows to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank CulininariaBas
JenniStewart, Owner at African Violet, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do value feedback. African Violet endeavours for all of the guests to have a positive experience, but realise we can’t please everybody all the time. The Design Studio is the most affordable apartment at African Violet, and the affordable rate reflects that – R325 per person per night. Your money was refunded for the... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My partner and I went to Cape Town for the first time and Jenni from African Violet made our stay a great experience! Her kindness and excellent service elevated our time in Cape Town. Best accomodation for first time Cape Town visitors!! We will definitely be going back to African Violet!!!

Helpful?
Thank gali2015
Bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We stayed at African Violet for three nights in December. The room was spacious, well appointed and tastefully decorated. The Guesthouse is well located although you'll definitely need a car, and amenities such as a shopping mall are near by. The view from our balcony is great! A special mention has to go to Jenni, the land lady who was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian M
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Amazing view! We were supposed to stay for 3 nights, but a family emergency curtailed our stay. The host Jennifer is amazing. Very helpful and informative. We had the unit with the pool. I recommend getting that one mainly for the view and the privacy. A few things that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ka-MiTravellers
Tamarin, Black River, Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the loft suite and it was the nicest and cosiest place we've been at. The view from the room is amazing and the hosts are very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to everybody!!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
Maseru, Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

What an awesome place! Very beautiful, quite and safe place. The owners are so friendly and accommodating. I would recommend African Violet to anyone looking for a an amazing place. Thank you so much Jenni and Rob for letting us stay in your beautiful place.

Helpful?
Thank Mantseo M
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

African Violet was superbly located for our adventure holiday. We were close to wonderfully interesting places to eat and exciting things to do and see. The rooms are artfully decorated and comfortable to live in with safe parking on a beautiful property. But the best thing about African Violet is: Jenni! She provides attention to detail, nothing is too much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerrith F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
5.4 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 5 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 12 in Noordhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Monkey Valley Resort
Monkey Valley Resort
#2 of 2 in Noordhoek
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Horizon Cottages
Horizon Cottages
#2 of 8 in Noordhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makapa Lodge
Makapa Lodge
#5 of 18 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer accommodation in five beautiful, fully equipped self-catering luxury suites, set high up against the mountain overlooking Noordhoek Valley to the Atlantic Ocean. Tasteful contemporary African decor in each apartment. Sun drenched garden and rock pool. Quiet neighborhood. Centrally situated gives easy access to around Cape Town and the south peninsula. Near to Cape Point, penguins, Table Mountain, beaches, local shops, bank, top restaurants. Accommodate groups of 2 to 12 people. Quality beds and linen. DSTV. Free Wi-Fi. Each apartment has beautiful views and its own private outdoor area. Weber-braai available. Perfect for couples, families or family re-unions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Violet

Address: 12 Mauritius Crescent | Capri,, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Violet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your African Violet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Violet Noordhoek, Africa - South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay