We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Knysna Manor House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Knysna Manor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
London
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The B&B is a beautiful old house within walking distance of the main street. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The breakfast was very good. Everything was clean and spotless - the room was beautifully decorated. I enjoyed my stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank macjoyous
NewYork
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Manor House was lovely and a delightful place to spend a few nights. It is a few blocks up the hill from the main street, but well worth the walk. The view from the breakfast area and outside deck was spectacular. The breakfast served each morning was fantastic. The staff Brenda & Marlene were friendly, informative and just lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulMNewYork
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brenda, Antony and the whole team gave a warm welcome and made us very comfortable. Our downstairs mini apartment was very spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast had plenty choice and was cooked fresh for you. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and we shared a bottle of bubbly with our hosts which was delightful. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheAsiaphiles
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

I am so happy that you had a very memorable stay at our guesthouse. Brenda, Anthony and our small team really do me proud. It is guests such as yourselves that make our guesthouse a place of comfort and home.We do hope that you return back soon. Travel safe Gail Dalton Owner

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This guest house reminds me of my stay in Kimberly in the early 80s, but that is probably not a fair review, although this guest house is old style SA it is very clean, and comfortable, my room was very large, with ensuite although the shower was in the room There is plenty secure parking. The breakfast is awesome and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubaboy-12
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Hi Scuba Boy, So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found that everything was great. My staff do make an amazing breakfast, and I think it just feels like home. We do hope to welcome you back soon Travel safe Kind regards Gail Dalton Owner

Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This centrally located venue was a pleasure to use. We were welcomed by friendly staff/owners and showed around the place. Fortunately, we are not old or sickly otherwise we might have had a problem with this venue as it is on a very steep slope and thus has many steps. Wonderful place! Will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lincolngavin
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Firstly, glad to know that you will be back. Always appreciate positive feedback like yours. As with all things in life, there are pro's and cons. We have a wonderful location, thanks to the house being built by the Mayor of Knysna in the 1880's. After being extended and turned into a guesthouse in the 1980's, a full century later,...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We stayed for 2 nights. And we don't recommend not even 1. Paper-thin wall and our room was next to the TV... We could hear all conversations and people passing. Very old building and depot of old furniture. Swimming pool: dirty and no place to lay down, Localisation: to go from the hotel to city centre you cannot walk by...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaskovskyy
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

I am very sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I appreciate your comments. Firstly I apologize that the pool was dirty, not sure the reason why, but will check with my managers. The pool is advertised as being a great place to cool off, and not an actual area to lie in the sun. As you...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Pleasant but could do with a little bit of finesse. Breakfast was a bit slap dash, carpet in the rooms had a musty carpet smell.Couches and cushions in the bar area could do with a clean/dry clean. Not a bad experience overall.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank quitondesireet
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion. Renovations and maintenance are ongoing at the guesthouse, but I shall forward your comments to my managers for urgent attention. Your comments as to how we could add more finesse would be appreciated. Travel safe Gail

Victoria, Argentina
Reviewed January 10, 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Manor House, the owners are very nice. The overall atmosphere is very friendly. Breakfast is very good. The WiFi does not reach the rooms, it only works in a common area. It would be more comfortable if it reached the bedrooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmacag_961078
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

It is always great when people say how much they have enjoyed their stay with us. As stated before, as as advertised on all our listings across the internet, wi-fi is available in public areas and some rooms might be lucky enough to get full coverage. We understand, and are trying very hard to come up with a solution that...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed January 10, 2017

It's a nice house in Victorian style with a great terrasse. Staff used to be nice at the beginning. But after the incident, that they have stolen 300 USD in cash (from 3 different persons), they even didn't want to talk to us anymore. Beds are okay. The shower in the room of my sister and me didn't work, sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janabauer
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Hi there, My manager informed me of your incident as soon as you reported it to her. I must say that we are very alarmed about this, as we have never had any such incident. I know that my managers did a full investigation. The person responsible for cleaning your room has been with the guesthouse since it started in...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Our room was large and comfortable. The Knysna Manor House is in walking distance of shops and restaurants. A little noise from the main road could be heard but it quietened down by the time we went to bed. The hosts were super friendly and went out of their way to help us with some documentation we needed to email...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillieD_11
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

So glad that our managers could help you out with documentation that needed emailing. I know we do not have a business service, but also know that Brenda and Marlene will help wherever they can. So happy that the room was large and comfortable. Again apologies about the road noise, but as stated before on TripAdvisor, until the route from...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 129 in Knysna
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#15 of 129 in Knysna
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
608 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#3 of 14 in Sedgefield
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront. This Knysna accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access in public areas, and in some rooms. We are working with the service provider to hopefully have the entire guesthouse wi-fi enabled. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 either in the breakfast room, or on the deck overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. We are a 3 Star, AA Highly Recommended accommodation provider. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $50 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Manor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not all rooms have views, request this if you would like one.”
 of 5 bubbles TLW100, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are of good quality.”
 of 5 bubbles Petropawlowsk, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“Loved the upstairs rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 782melindam, Mar 17, 2016 | Read review
“There are varied size rooms on several levels, and if you cannot climb stairs, the main floor would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles franklaff, Feb 9, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms would be best as its wooden floors, but all the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles nina_trilogy, Jan 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question