We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Afrikana Guest Suites

Save
Share
13 Watsonia Street Paradise, Knysna 6571 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$184
View deal
Expedia.com$199
Hotels.com$199
Travelocity$199
Priceline$201
Orbitz.com$199
Vio.com$199
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (383)
Room & Suite (204)
Dining (34)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 31 hotels in Knysna
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.8
Travelers' Choice
"Space-Exclusivity & Style" Situated in the heart of the Garden Route; home to Pezula Golf Estate, Simola Golf Estate and Knysna Golf Club. 5* graded Villa Afrikana is perched high above the town of Knysna, on a hill fittingly called "Paradise" overlooking the world acclaimed Knysna Heads and lagoon. THE VILLA With its summery, gleaming white, the geometric architecture of Villa Afrikana is already quite a sight. The stylish interior is just as defined in the same perfect white. A modern, unpretentious interior gives the compact Villa Afrikana a surprisingly open feel to its rooms. Look out for the eye-catching artworks and cleverly placed objects. The attractive style encompasses a total of 6 suites in this 5* Guest House / Bed & Breakfast on the Garden Route. Facilities & Services: • Indoor Guest Lounge with fire place and Library and Reading Room • Outdoor Guest Lounge with main deck overlooking the pool and lagoon. • Salt Water Swimming pool with sun deck (unattended) • On-site secure parking • Laundry Service • Porterage • Complimentary Wireless Connectivity • Complimentary Room Service • Complimentary, satellite TV channels to include international news, sport, movies and documentaries channels in addition to local terrestrial channels • In-suite Light Meals & Beverage selections • Complimentary Room Service Breakfast served in the privacy of your suite • Concierge Desk operated by your Hosts, to assist with private arrangements and provide local knowledge for: Dinner at several very good restaurants, Local Taxis, Transfers & Car Rentals, Attractions We regret to inform that: • Due to uneven terrain, Villa Afrikana is not suitable for physically challenged Guests • Complying with the law, smoking is only permitted in the balconies and outdoor public spaces. THE SUITES The suites are wonderfully roomy and all have a fantastic view over the lagoon of Knysna. Each also features a comfortably furnished and also very spacious luxury bathroom in cutting design with under-floor heating and double washbasin. You'll be sleeping in a comfortable extra length king size double beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. All suites of this Guest House / Bed & Breakfast have a high definition LCD 32" TV Set complete with an array of Satellite Channels and DVD player as well as tea and coffee makers. To add, the suites hold further surprises, such as a private balcony/terrace and some even a hydro massage tub for instance. Personalized Bathroom Amenities, Hair Dryers, Bathrobes and Electronic Safes are also provided for each suite for your enjoyment and comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Tennis court offsite
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Italian
951Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 922
  • 25
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
memond114688 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We felt really spoiled by all the kind attention given by the staff and the owners.Villa Afrikana is a beautiful guesthouse with a great view, close to the Centre of Knysna. We spent some wonderful days there and we can surely recommend it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear memomd114688 Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
winningspirits wrote a review Nov 2022
Haarlem, The Netherlands321 contributions151 helpful votes
What a great place to stay! Situated on a hill, overlooking the bay and view of the heads. Within easy reach of the town. The rooms are just great and the staff is among the best and friendliest we experienced in South Africa. Just everything is made possible. Fantastic breakfast, high teas and happy hour. Quality of everything is absolutely 100%. A joy to have been staying here. Definitely the best place to sta when in or near Knysna.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear winningspirits Thank you for your wonderful review, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DanellaE wrote a review Oct 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa190 contributions73 helpful votes
This is definitely not a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was terrible. There is no restaurant or gym and no phones in the room. Our bathroom drain smelled badly. The staff are helpful and we had a beautiful view. But overall was not worth the cost and I wouldn’t recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I wouldn’t stay here. There are much nicer hotels with better value for money. Theussen island is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Danella, It is extremely regrettable that you have posted such a subjective review as the one above. We sincerely feel sorry for you that Villa Afrikana did not meet your expectations and understand your disappointment, had you or your travel professional for you, researched our property properly you would have known that we don’t offer facilities such as a gym or a telephone in the suites and that we are located in a leafy and quiet neighborhood of Knysna, away yet not far, from the hustle and bustle of the Waterfront and Theesen Island. We do have a restaurant though, where breakfast and a light dinner menu is served exclusively for our guests. Every morning you reserved the option of having your breakfast in the comfort and privacy of your own balcony and may have missed our restaurant? Your comfort and overall experience is important to us, having spent 4 nights at the property there were ample time of finding solutions, had we made aware, we would have gladly offered you a different suite, planned better for your breakfast or have contacted other bigger properties on your behalf that could have accommodated your requirements at no extra cost. We would love to welcome you back soon Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a small, family run property, we have been operating in the formal hospitality industry for the past 15 years consistently achieving the highest marks and accolades for our services, we pride ourselves in providing attentive and personalized service in an ambiance of conviviality, unpretentious elegance, and comfort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcus B wrote a review Oct 2022
Hamburg, Germany4 contributions1 helpful vote
I have been to South Africa many times and also 5 times to Knysna and I rarely write reviews but this is by far the best accommodation I had in Knysna if not on all my trips to SA so far. The staff, the attention details as well as the owners are beyond what you could expect. The location and the views we had in the Owners suite are fantastic. Prepare for a warm welcome, attentive staff plus many little details which will enrich your stay. I can highly recommend this place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Dear 367marcusb Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna6156 wrote a review Oct 2022
Perth, Australia18 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
Very clean villa, room was very roomy, view from balcony beautiful. Staff friendly and attentive . The location was quiet and secure. Overall very happy with our stay at the villa, would recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Dear Anna6156 Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dawsonlori17 wrote a review Oct 2022
Charlottetown, Canada
We were absolutely completely spoiled at Villa Afrikana and frankly I think we are spoiled for any other lodging as it will never live up to the service, kindness and hospitality we experienced here. Beautiful rooms, beds, linens and toiletries. Lovely living areas and patio with comfortable and beautiful outdoor furniture. Roses left on your pillow, floral arrangements throughout, the spoiling never stopped. Lovemore even washed our car before we left!! Thank you, Ross, Bianca, Beauty, Blossom, Lovemore and all the rest of the great staff of this very fine establishment. Just do yourself and book here if in Knysna, I really hope to get back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Dear dawsonlori17 Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
r0landernst wrote a review Oct 2022
Olfen, Germany3 contributions
It‘a a wonderful location with the best staffs in the world. Extremely good and clean rooms, wonderful service, very good breakfast and dinner (when you wish). A beautiful view over the lagoon. We had a lot of stay‘s in South Africa in the last 5 years and Villa Africana was the best. We will definitely come back as soon as possible. We wish all the best for the complete team. Thank you all for this wonderful stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Dear r0landernst Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trip764626 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
You treated us like royalty. The view from the room was spectacular. The amenities through out your establishment was superb. Would highly recommend! Right down to breakfast before our leave. Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Dear Trip764626 Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karinvanosselaer wrote a review Sep 2022
Beautiful place to stay, it looks like paradise, every detail was unbelievable and the food was delicious, we had ower own person who thook care off us. Even it was load shedding it was the perfect place to stay, it was like heaven in paradise
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Dear karinvanosselaer Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulfewtrell wrote a review Sep 2022
Truly a 5 star rating. Luxury accommodation with wonderful views across to Knysna Heads but what made our stay even better was the service given by Ross and his staff. Attention to detail in every respect, great food and drink and even our car was washed before we left. Unforgettable experience and we will return for sure in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Giunti-Ackernann, Owner at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Responded Oct 31, 2022
Dear paulfewtrell Thank you, your comments are very important to us and makes us very proud of our staff and product Ross & Bianca Villa Afrikana is a family run property; we pride ourselves in providing attentive and charismatic service in an ambiance of conviviality and unpretentious elegance. Our Guest’s accommodations are specifically designed to maximize space, comfort and views over the Knysna Heads, and Lagoon We are committed to operate in an environmentally and socially responsible manner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa afrikana guest hotel knysna, hotel afrikana
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA AFRIKANA GUEST SUITES $186 ($̶2̶0̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Knysna, South Africa

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Nearby attractions include Knysna Heads (3.7 miles), Brenton on Sea (2.8 miles), and Knysna Lagoon (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Drydock Food Co, Freshline Fisheries, and East Head Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Villa Afrikana Guest Suites located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Knysna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Afrikana Guest Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St George's Anglican Church (1.1 miles).