We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Hotels.com$109*
View Deal
#13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$124*
$109*
$124*
$124*
$109*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lofts Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 292: English reviews
Franschhoek, South Africa
Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

We spent just one night at The Lofts (in the tower room #1) and were more than happy with the marvellous location right on the water with extensive views, everything we needed being provided (except for fresh milk for our tea - sachets of UHT stuff are not really nice), spaciousness and being a walkable distance to the restaurants over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherinedawn
Management response:

Dear Katherinedawn, You wrote such a beautiful review for The Lofts and we are very grateful for this. We do apologise for the UHT milk but it is very difficult to keep the right amount of fresh milk without having it waste or go-off before being drunk. On your next visit do send us an email ahead of time and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed March 14, 2015

The architect who converted this old boathouse into a hotel, had amazing vision and talent. All the comforts you could wish for have been thought of. The style and use of space and fittings are not what you would usually find in South Africa. The hotel is right on the water, on Thessen Islands in Knysna, you can almost touch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
Management response:

Dear Maureen E, Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of The Lofts. It was a treat having you and your family here. Ted always goes above and beyond for guests. We hope to welcome you back to The Lofts soon. Kind Regards, Carla

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed March 10, 2015

After a few hectic weeks my wife and I decided on a long weekend break in Knysna. A short "Trip Advisor" search led to us staying in "The Lofts Boutique Hotel" on Thesens Island. Reception was fine and registering no hassle. We stayed in Loft Room 8c and were a little surprised by the lack of view from our windows....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard T
Management response:

Dear Bernhard T, Thank you for writing a review for The Lofts. Thank you for mentioning the wifi signal being low on that room as I will have our internet service provider look into this. We have already had our handyman fix the cupboard door and they are now hanging perfectly straight. It is unfortunate that the rectangular building only...

KZN
Reviewed March 7, 2015

We chose the self catering option with a lovely 2 bedroom place. Staff were happy and friendly and the location was perfect. The room was clean and serviced well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had great breakfasts and fantastic coffee downstairs and ate at the restaurants in the evenings a close walk away

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Management response:

Dear Kevin M, Wow, thank you for writing such a nice review for The Lofts. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed March 2, 2015

We have booked and paid online for three days a suite in the Lofts at Thesen Island,arrived in the end of the day after a 500kms drive from Cape Town. The suite is facing the waterfront in Tower 2. One immediate problem is that there was a permanent smell of toilet/sewage in the suite,we had this for four days. Of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank world1951
Management response:

Dear world1951, Thank you for taking time to write a review for The Lofts. I can just imagine how unpleasant the smell in your room must have been. Did you report it to the reception? I am very sure that our maintenance team would have wanted to know if something like this was happening as it could have been a...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed February 25, 2015

We had booked to stay for 4 nights at the Lofts Boutique Hotel. Its set in a beautiful location on Thesen Island and our room was magnificent - so large with every creature comfort. Unfortunately the Lofts is built with corrugated iron roofs and is integrated with several shops and a very busy early morning cafe. The problem is twofold...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maurice O
Management response:

Dear Maurice O, Thank you for writing your review for The Lofts. We really do apologise that you had such a terrible experience with the noise from the rain at The Lofts. We are working on sorting this out as well as speaking to the people at the cafe below who set up early and make a noise. I know...

New York
Reviewed February 24, 2015

I guess we are partial, but we see no reason to overpay for a made-for-tourist neighborhood, a funky/post-industrial design, no views (just one over the parking lot). We paid 40% more there than at the Cinnamon Lodge in Wilderness (40 kms away), and did not even get breakfast. Limited service. I guess we prefer real neighborhood, with real comfort, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blirola
Management response:

Dear Blirola, Thank you for taking time to write a review for The Lofts. It is a good thing that people have different tastes. If everyone had to enjoy the same thing the world would be a boring place. From your review I gather that you had booked a self-catering unit and as per normal standards self-catering does not include...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 18, 2015

Anyone wishing a pleasant place to stay in Knysna in easy walking distance of numerous good restaurants and in a central location for Knysna and the surrounding area, need look no further. Very pleasant and helpful staff headed by the manager Carla who goes the extra mile to help with any problems or assistance required , a couple of rooms...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
Management response:

Dear James F, Thank you for taking time to write a review for The Lofts. It was wonderful having you, your wife and your friends stay with us for a month. You guys were lovely guests and we loved your honesty and the constructive notes that you had made. We believe that we cannot improve unless we are informed of...

Bristol
Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed here for two nights and had one of the suite rooms which included a lounge and a kitchen. As we were travelling in SA for quite a long time we originally thought we might use the kitchen to cook to make a change from eating out, but when we saw how poor the kitchen was and how poorly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
Management response:

Dear TravelNutBristol, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We would love to know in which room you stayed and what specifically was lacking from the kitchen as we would really like to improve on this. It is always good to know what guests would prefer to use in a kitchen as everyone is...

Wistow, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 17, 2015

On being shown to the room our first impression was ITS HUGE !! Long long lounge with separate bed room ( which is v nice ) as we were only there for the one night this was probably wasted on us ( longer stays would maybe spread out more ) Thyssen island is tiny so you can't have a bad...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8865UUstevew
Management response:

Dear G8865UUstevew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Our self-catering units are perfect for long stays your right and we do have 2 other room types (luxury lagoon suites and luxury loft rooms). It is just dependant on your booking choice for which room type you get. ile de pain is a very...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $120 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lofts Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“East-facing rooms offer stunning views over the Knysna Lagoon.”
  • View of The Lofts Boutique Hotel from Thesen Pier.
B9406LCsaraht, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“definitely a view on the lagoon is a must (but probably all rooms have that view)”
  • view from The Lofts
  • Evening view from the pool terrace.
  • Even in the tub one can enjoy the view...
SielVdD, Feb 7, 2017 | Read review
“Book the Luxury Loft rooms with great views.”
Oudtshoorn1, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Be very specific when reserving whether you want a lagoon view.”
rweisfe, Apr 22, 2015 | Read review
“The suite with view over the lagoon”
wilnaventer, Apr 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$109* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$124
TripAdvisor$109
Orbitz.com$109
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates