We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Burmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Lofts experience is wonderful . The management and staff are super - 2nd year we have stayed and it's only January and we have book our stay for next January to ensure we have our perfect room Tower 1 - which overlooks the lagoon by 3 double opening doors FAB

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2459VQcarolync
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The views from the hotel are amazing and the rooms are spacious. I didn't like that there is no where to hang your clothes probably to hang your clothes next to the sink is not acceptable really. And I didn't like that there was no phone in the room to contact the reception and you had to contact reception by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChezUK25
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChezUK25, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We are glad to hear that you liked the view from the Exclusive Lagoon Suite you stayed in. All of our rooms are unique and if you had spoken to reception regarding the fact that you would prefer a room with cupboards and that you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having read about The Lofts in the reviews. We booked overlooking the lagoon. Not cheap, so you would expect quality. The rooms view was stunning. The room was very nice if you had no luggage and possibly not been an international visitor. The only room for any clothing was to be hung openly either side of the wash hand basin....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val C
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Val C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of our rooms are unique and if you had spoken to reception regarding the fact that you would prefer a room with cupboards and that you do not...

Graz, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Take a room next to the sea, they calle tower-rooms. I have never had such a fantastic look to the sea. Realy great hotel and great location on Thesen Island. Boot trips are very near to the hotel, the look on the sea is so nice, you have to see this.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank haraldg420
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haraldg420, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for The Lofts. Your right, our Tower rooms (Exclusive Lagoon Suites) are extremely special and have the most fantastic views of the lagoon. We hope to welcome you back soon. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, friendly staff, clean well equipped rooms. Bakery an experience not to be missed. Thesen island has a lot to offer.Hotel unique with spa treatments and lovely coffeehouse with freshly baked quiches

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieters843
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pieters843, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for The Lofts. We are really happy to hear that you had such a great experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're traveling to Knsyna and can afford this place, look no further. Just a great, little hotel. Staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful and it has a cool, laid back feel. Comfortable communal area with sofas and a mini bar that serves amazing cocktails, sharing platters and desserts. Small pool area is a nice touch. Only draw backs were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thescottishkid
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thescottishkid, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for The Lofts. The way you described the hotel is the exactly the feel that we are aiming for. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family Splendid hotel with fantastic views and friendly staff Let down by poor design and poor finish in rooms Many faults Locked out of hotel on New Year Eve having been given wrong keys Curtain rail fell down on drawing curtains No bedside light switches Broken door handle No soap or hand wash in room Many other problems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter w
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Peter W, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would like to inform you that we have looked at all the issues that you mentioned and that we had fixed them all. I really do apologise for your experience. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A charming return to this lovely boutique hotel. This is our 2nd visit to The Lofts after an 8 year gap and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely location and has fantastic views over the lagoon and quite possibly the biggest baths! Our only reason for not giving this 5/5 is that breakfast isn't available at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Louise, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for The Lofts. There is a lot of effort that has been put into making our rooms comfortable and for our team to make you feel welcome and at home. Thank you for informing us about the wifi issue. I'll ask our internet service provider to...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm welcome by Gill and Gideon. Well decorated and large room with a balcony. All rooms seem to have a sea view. Excellent breakfast served on a veranda facing the sea. Private parking. Peace and quietness .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norm_traveler
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Norm_traveler, Thank you for writing this great review. I do have to mention that I do not think it is meant for The Lofts Boutique Hotel as we do not have a Gill and Gideon working here. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

silent and clean room, very nice view to lagoon, helpful and volatile staff, hotel location is close to restaurants and main roads. Wifi service is very complicated and not user friendly. Breakfast is a little poor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyiregyhazki G
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nyiregyhazki G, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our Exclusive Lagoon Suites have the most amazing views and we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your room and found it clean. I would love to understand why you think the breakfast is poor as we can then work on improving this or if it was...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

201 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (157)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#8 of 30 in Knysna
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $119 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lofts Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book the Luxury Loft rooms with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Oudtshoorn1, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Be very specific when reserving whether you want a lagoon view.”
 of 5 bubbles rweisfe, Apr 22, 2015 | Read review
“The suite with view over the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles wilnaventer, Apr 20, 2015 | Read review
“There are a couple of double rooms with views over the lagoon, and the sunsets are worth waiting for!”
 of 5 bubbles MaureenE374, Mar 14, 2015 | Read review
“We had a 2 bedroom apartment 3A and we did not like it. Feels claustrophobic, with a view on the ugly parking. I was betting for some view of the lagoon, but forget it.”
 of 5 bubbles Blirola, Feb 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay