We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Show Prices
#15 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 330: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

What a great hotel complex. It is made up of thatched accommodation in different settings all with there own swimming pool. Only problem it wasn't heated and it was freezing. The accommodation has been recently refurbished and was of a high standard. The room was a little cold on our first night (2 small electric radiators fixed to the wall)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve j
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Located at the entrance of Knysna, 5 minutes by car from the city center, this lodge is a nice structure in a beautiful natural environment. We stayed in one of the single cottages, very spacious and comfortable: suggestive thatched roof, fireplace (new firewood every morning, very useful in the cool winter nights!), big bathroom with both bath and shower, tv.... More 

Helpful?
Thank fratelis
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thanks ever so much for the very positive review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and sincere apologies if our Management Team did not come across as friendly or welcoming - we certainly want to make all our guests feel as welcome as possible! Luckily Charlie our cat stepped in to improve our guest relations and we... More 

Nes Harim, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel with very big rooms.Beatiful rooms and tasty breakfast.Only complain that they have very small restaraunt for breakfast for such a big hotel. We also ate dinner one time that was OK.The price in winter was low for such hotel

Helpful?
Thank alexzilberman19
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review of your recent stay with us and we are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Knysna. Safe travels home and best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my third stay at Knysna Hollow, the first being 13 years ago. In that time it hasn't changed a huge amount but, in truth, that has added to the charm. I chose this hotel as one of six on my honeymoon as I wanted it to be memorable for my wife who was visiting SA for the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Brian - wow, all we can say is 'Thank You' for your amazing review of Knysna Hollow. We are all always thrilled to welcome our repeat guests and to hear that you had such a memorable third stay certainly makes us all very proud and happy! I will make a point of passing your great feedback on to the... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights while doing the Garden Route. Bedrooms are in small thatched buildings clumped around swimming pools. Bathrooms were nothing special, although they had two showers - one of which produced very little water. The bedroom itself seemed to have been refurbished and was well-equipped. Nights were cold during my stay but the beds had both blankets... More 

Helpful?
Thank missdixon
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for telling us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We really appreciate your very detailed and positive feedback and are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of the entire Team at Knysna Hollow, safe travels home and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are a fair size. Small washroom with a shower. Rooms were clean with a nice design (thatched roofs). There is a safe in the room. Staff was very nice and helpful. Food was very good. There is a little shop if you would like to buy souvenirs.

Helpful?
Thank internationalscale
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We really appreciate the time taken to tell us about your recent stay with us and we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Knysna Hollow. Safe travels home from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team. More 

Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two night in this hotel in our trip to SA. where comfortable. But it's just 10 min away from city centre. Good Staff. The manager was very helpful in showing us directions. Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was also good. Rooms are huge but a bit old fashioned.

Helpful?
Thank Jignesh_giriraj
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow - we're all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Garden Route with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Knysna Hollow for three nights in the eco lodges with my girlfriend and family and was not disappointed. The rooms were well designed, spacious and very clean as well as this the grounds were set out well with a number of lovely thatched lodges. We ate in the restaurant for two nights and both times the meal and... More 

Helpful?
Thank rclarke14
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Garden Route with us and hope to be able to welcome you back sometime soon! Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow team. More 

Milano
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

We were there 2 nights and we wanted go away after 5 minutes. The room was really dirty and dark. I would not recommend it!!!! Bathroom has not been cleaned for a long time and there were death insects. Carpet dirty and with a bad smell. Position and outside good but they need to renovate their rooms!!!

Helpful?
Thank fiorenza2015
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid comments on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with your room. I will investigate the matter and certainly take appropriate action. It appears that you did not raise these concerns with us while you were here, which is a terrible pity as we would... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

I don’t usually write negative reviews. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever written one. But there were many things about this place that urged me to speak up. I include the pro's of the place at the bottom of the review: Here are the other things that were awry: 1. When we checked in the cottage we got was... More 

Helpful?
Thank hay4489
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on every aspect of your stay. We will certainly make good use of this information to improve our service offering wherever possible. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

232 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (188)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedaght Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $75 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay