We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Belvidere Manor

Show Prices
#16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Belvidere Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Stanmore, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spacious self contained lodges could do with some modenising but still excellent accommodation. Don't expect decent WiFi. The restaurant is convenient but the meal was not up to the standard of other restaurants in Knysna. Fab location and views of the lagoon

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD S
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Belvidere Manor is a series of cottages set in a large area overlooking Knysna Bay. The cottages were lovely and quiet though the décor was perhaps a tad tired looking. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the breakfasts were great. The kids were disappointed with the Wi-Fi as the daily limit of 100MB hardly covered their snapchat, Instagram,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngbarton
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's a beautiful place, and the staff is simply awesome. It did not get 5 stars because the internet is limited to 50mb, and the absence of good signal repeaters makes it difficult to use in the rooms. Not ok for a pricy hotel. But I would stay there again, because it's a wonderful place, all in all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRod003
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are hoping to upgrade to fibre in a few weeks time which should enable us to upgrade the wifi application. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belvidere Manor in the future.

England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were very impressed initially by this accommodation as it has beautiful views over water from many of the fully furnished bungalows also overlooking the lawn and swimming pool. However neither the wifi or the telephone worked making it difficult to contact reception or room service. However these inconveniences paled into insignificance by the appalling fiasco at breakfast. There seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrueBrit_10
Mike M, Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I guess you were in a hurry on the morning you reviewed our breakfast. There is breakfast menu on all the tables which explains about our express self-service breakfast and our more relaxed breakfast with various tasty options to order. The cereals are available and are in glass carafe and therefore there is no...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I shared a cottage overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The accommodation was nice but a little dated in my opinion. Still 4* though. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, particularly Jeffrey who went out of his way to show us things we would have otherwise not heard about like the Elephants Three and recommending Brenton-on-Sea. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojo m
Mike M, Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Belvidere Manor and Knysna. The WiFi is an issue which will be address early in the new year when move to a fibre optic structure. This is being installed through out Knysna. Enjoy your holiday Mike

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

Three nights of our 22 night trip to SA. Sadly the weather was not great but the welcome from Geoffrey was sublime. He is simply delightful and clearly well known after many many years working here. Cottages are very comfortable and the setting really pretty with a nice pool and (from my point of view) a terrain for playing La...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob G
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2016

The location was gorgeous with a fabulous view over Knysna Bay however we were not so keen on the accommodation and how it was laid out. Our cottage was OK but nowhere near as plush or comfortable as other places we had stayed. There was also no heating and it was pretty cold the night that we stayed. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SueAndMichael_56
Mike M, Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry we did not suit your needs Mike

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 10, 2016

Superb location overlooking the lagoon at Knysna.A series of cottages and houses with very good facilities.Slightly American feel to the architecture.Food from "pub"I would say is quite good but not exceptional.We did not use the main restaurant.Service good but wi-fi not obtainable away from centre. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garth J
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Garth. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your recommendation.

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile

A beautiful place to stay with friendly helpful staff. "Superman Jeffrey was tireless in providing "fresh" coffee at breakfast. We're sure he has several twin brothers as he was always around everywhere! Our lagoon bungalow was delightful and comfortable, a real home from home. Although the Manor is out of Knysna, it is not inconvenient if you have a car....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kups
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Jeffrey certainly is a superman, and we're lucky to have him, and our other wonderful staff members.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016

We had really looked forward to staying at Belvidere Manor and the location and grounds lived up to expectation. What surprised us compared to other places we stayed in South Africa was the lack of homeliness. Apart from Jeffery (larger than life) everyone and everything else was very functional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluedotih40
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but I'm sorry you found our offering so functional. We do try to create an atmosphere of home from home, and our staff are praised for their friendliness. I'm sorry I didn't get to meet you personally as I was overseas at the time, but I wish you well.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
712 reviews
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.9 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#8 of 30 in Knysna
499 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $141 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Knysna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#13 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belvidere Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quite a steep walk up to the dining area if you have a lodge near the bottom of the estate ”
 of 5 bubbles O5720KMrichards, yesterday | Read review
“Almost all of the cottages are great and well situated, Difficult to choose. For a couple, I would say no 2 is the best.”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“The garden cottages are definitely the most scenic.”
 of 5 bubbles gobeyondtravels, Jun 13, 2016 | Read review
“Choose cottages numbered greater than 10. Avoid cottage number 8, which is behind other cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles PuneAsh, Jun 4, 2016 | Read review
“Good to stay in a lodge close to the manor and Bell pub.”
 of 5 bubbles davidbV7110YP, May 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay