We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belvidere Manor

Traveler (160)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (25)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Lagoon View
HOTEL CLASS
352Reviews
260Photos
1Q+A
72Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 206
  • 98
  • 31
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
From the moment we arrived we had a great time. Kids loved the fact that our luggage was carried in for us. I loved the fact that I could sit in peace on the veranda and enjoy the view while the kids swam. Really relaxing to be able to order room service too instead of having
Read more
Response from Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your positive review, and we're thrilled you had such a relaxing stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Very disappointed to find that our 3 bedroom cottage needed a good bit of maintenance/ things weren't working. Geoffrey tried to help where he could, in spite of seeming very busy with helping with check in and with the restaurant. View and setting great, but our particular
Read more
Response from Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor
Responded Dec 6, 2018
We were sorry that you didn't take this up with management at the time, as issues could and were easily addressed, and alternative accommodation could have been offered.
Read more
We stayed here 3 nights on our Garden Route Trip and were pleased with the standard of our accommodation, a one bedroom cottage with a lounge, kitchen and outdoor seating area, the grounds and swimming pool area were immaculately presented. Breakfast served on the terrace
Read more
Response from Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor
Responded Jan 7, 2019
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the damage to your clothing, and had we known about this we would certainly have informed you. Our laundry is out-sourced, and we did not receive any notification from them.
Read more
What a lovely setting our cottage looked out over the gardens and the bay beyond. Our accommodation was nicely decorated, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. What a bonus having a sitting room, we were very kindly supplied with an electric heater as (quite unusually) the
Read more
Response from Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor
Responded Dec 6, 2018
Thank you for your positive review Fiona, and glad we were able to keep you warm on that chilly evening.
Read more
We have had a two night stay in one of the two bedroom cottages set in the grounds of the Manor, which overlooks Knysna Lagoon. A very picturesque location complete with its own pub that provides quality pub style food. The cottage is very spacious & well equipped. No hesitation
Read more
Response from Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor
Responded Dec 6, 2018
Thank you for your positive review Paul. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back some day.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
living room
our cottage
Master Bathroom
View from outside seating area
PreviousNext
12345612
"The cottages all looked good"
"Expect great things!"
"No bad rooms here! They are all lovely"
"If travellers are elderly select rooms nearer the manor house. ALL rooms are superb but downstairs rooms are available for elderly."
"Rooms on left looking a5 the lagoon have better view"
PreviousNext
12345615
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing