We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Show Prices
#9 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
See the most recent reviews
Showing 552: English reviews
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We had mixed feelings about this hotel, stopping for three nights in September. The rooms were on the small side as were the bathrooms. Reasonably comfortable but nothing special. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. No dinners served which was probably a good thing judging by the lack of apparent organisation at the breakfast service. There are how ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank rustyroundabout
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan M, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review after your recent stay at our property. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We apologise that we could not meet all of your expectations throughout your stay, as the service... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

The hotel is an ideal place to stay as its right on the waterfront and next to all the restarunts. While its next to the station no trains run. A short walk will take you into the town. Good place to explore the area

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Dave T, Thank you for your words of appreciation on the TripAdvisor review that you posted after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we certainly value your feedback. Unfortunately, the Outeniqua Tjoe-tjoo used to be the antique steam train chugging along the Garden Route for a 52 kilometer journey... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

My wife and I had the privilege of visiting South Africa for our honeymoon. Well, I think they raised the bar on tourism standards & hospitality for all our future vacations. One of the memorable stays was at the Knysna Quays and as a Indian traveller I feel its my duty to pass on info about good experiences to fellow... More 

Helpful?
Thank RansleynPri
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear RansleynPri, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are simply delighted to receive your compliments and truly value your feedback. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are very highly valued by our hotel. GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

The best thing about this hotel is that it is situated right on the waterfront. In this respect it is perfect as you can wander around the quay or into Knysna if you want to. You can explore the wider area with ease and we went to Knysna Heads, Buffalo Bay and Plettenberg which are all within easy reach during... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Envacance, Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review of our property and to write down your additional comments after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback regarding the noisy air conditioner has been addressed with the... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

Set on the waterfront quays at Knysna, the location was great. However this was as as good as it got. The rooms had all the charm of a prefabricated motel. Clean and functional but not somewhere you would want to stay. The breakfast area was understaffed, dark and dingy and the service awful. We were on honeymoon, it was clear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rodger W
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Rodger W Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. As per our discussion at the hotel, we were never informed by the booking agent that you were travelling on honeymoon. This is a very unfortunate incident... More 

Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My family stayed at this hotel in the last week of December. Location is perfect - right on the Knysna waterfront, with direct access from the hotel. The rooms were comfortable, although a little tiny. There's great food options right at the waterfront. But make sure to book a table in advance as they were all full for dinner both... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank iamruch
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear iamruch, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and we wish to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve our service standards and facilities, where necessary. As you stated in your review, we highly recommend making a reservation when you wish to have lunch/dinner... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas period and were very impressed with it's position - right on the Knysna waterfront with direct access from the hotel. The modern architecture of the Reception and staircase was most unusual and the breakfasts were good. The staff were very helpful and the bedroom and en-suite were modern, clean and comfortable. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank JatLP
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear JatLP, Thank you for taking the valuable time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were helpful to you during your stay and that you were impressed with the room that you stayed in. We apologise for the congestion throughout the holidays, as this is our peak season and our restaurant can... More 

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Hotel is a must stay if you are at Knysna. Hotel is with so many activities around like restaurants, Pubs, Water sports & shopping. Person going to Knysna have to go to Waterfront and this is where the hotel is. Hotel just serve breakfast and rest can be arranged at your doorstep from food joints attached to it. Hotel also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanjay1905
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Sanjay1905, Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review, by stating your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays. I am delighted to hear that our STAFF were cooperative and helpful, as your commendations are truly highly valued. I will ensure that the STAFF will be congratulated on their... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

this hotel is nice situated on the waterfront staff are friendly. The only problem you will encounter is parking as hotel parking is not free and was full at time of stay. Rooms are nice and clean. Had a room harbour facing which was nice.

Helpful?
Thank Rehina R
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Rehina R, Thank you very much for taking the valuable time to review our property. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

️Soon arrival in my room I discovered that the bar fridge was leaking , the air conditioning made an extremely loud rattling noise and the finishes in the bathroom were old and quite dirty. We complained and were upgraded to the refurbished rooms which were almost identical to the rooms we had been in before. On our last day we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Louise T
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Louise T, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the discomfort that you experienced during your stay here with us. Upon your first complaint regarding the first room, we initially moved you to a much better room and was assured that you were satisfied, however we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

312 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 29 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $97 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Knysna Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Protea Hotel Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay