We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lakeside Knysna Accomodation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Coventry
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights at Lakeside. There was secure parking on site. The welcome was warm and when help was asked for it was freely given. Our room was well equipped and the bed soft. We would recommend Lakeside to all.It is within walking distance of all facilities. A truly nice place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Matt47Coventry
lakeside88, Manager at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind and rewarding comments, we are so happy that we could contribute to a pleasant holiday, hope to see you again, Andre More 

Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2016

Comfortable, convenient stay. Close to the Waterfront and easy access to the main road to go anywhere. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was small, but neat and tidy. A lovely view of the lake while sitting on the small deck.

Helpful?
Thank Louisa V
lakeside88, Owner at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you support and kind comments, much appreciated! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2015

best equipped self catering rooms i have ever been to..we had the room on the side of the house..lovely views from the patio to the lake.. there's a patio set for u to sit and a 2 plate stove and frying pan to cook..we had a self cooked breakfast every day and it was lovely! fridge, microwave, and everything else... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda2209
lakeside88, Owner at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive feedback, it is good for us to know that we are on the right track to, maybe one day, be able to please all our customers. More 

East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2015

The room was small but neat and tidy. Very conveniently situated with a lovely view of the lake while sitting on the small deck. There was quite a bit of traffic noise, but didn't seem to continue too late into the night. Very friendly and accommodating owners. I would definitely stay here again. .

Helpful?
Thank vabotha
lakeside88, Owner at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback, we would love to have you back again in future More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2015

We stayed here for just a few nights in march, and we enjoyed our stay. We had a great view from our outside seating area, beds were comfortable, and the rooms clean and well set up. The best part was the owners, they were very hospitable, gave us plenty of information about things to do in the local area. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
lakeside88, Owner at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear Guests, it was a pleasure to be of service, thank you for choosing Lakeside. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

Our family of 4 adults stayed at this lodge in Knysna for a 1 week holiday in January 2015 and used this location as our base to explore the Garden Route. It is very central with a SuperSpar supermarket just a stones throw away, and conveniently located with direct access to N2 highway so we found it such a pleasure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naz501gp
lakeside88, Owner at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for the GREAT comments you have made about Lakeside. We are so glad that we could contribute to the broadening of your smile when you are thinking back about your visit to Knysna and the Garden Route More 

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2014

We stayed at Lakeside for one evening in May 2013. The room we stayed in was nice and had everything needed for a self catering stay. Seeing as it was winter the room got a bit cold so if you are planning a trip in the winter pack in some extra warm clothes. Lakeside is situated very well and has... More 

Helpful?
Thank JacquesvanAswegen
lakeside88, Owner at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review

We regret that we do not have central heating, but we have electric heaters available. More 

Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

מקום מקסים הבנוי כולו מעץ. חדרים מרווחים בסיסיים נקיים עם מרפסת שפונה לאגם. מרחק של 3 דקות נסיעה מ"מרכז" העיירה. אני אהבתי ללון שם. אמנם רק לילה אחד אבל לאחר חיפושים ממושכים זה באמת בסה"כ מומלץ מאוד ושווה את המחיר. Its a very nice place all made from wood. the rooms are basic but not small and have a balcony... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karin_pri
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The accommodation is quite unique being fully wooden. However, the rooms and facilities are very small and clearly not 100% well kept. The owners are friendly and try their best but this is clearly a value for money lodge with only the bare minimum covered. It's an okay place to stay in large groups, that's about it (nothing really stands... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yoydna
Noida, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is beautiful lodge. It’s a all wood lodge having very comfortable rooms. The staff is very friendly. They ensure your stay is pleasant. The lodge is located very near to waterfront and offers a beautiful view of the lake. It’s a good place to relax. The rooms are equipped with self catering facility. We stayed here for 3 nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deveshyahoo
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.9 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 127 in Knysna
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#23 of 101 in Knysna
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lagoon lodge
Lagoon lodge
#54 of 127 in Knysna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#39 of 127 in Knysna
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Idle Monkey
Idle Monkey
#60 of 127 in Knysna
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#10 of 127 in Knysna
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Affordable Self-catering suites in a wooden building across the street from the Knysna Estuary. Owner managed. Magnificent view of the Knysna Heads and Estuary. Walking distance to the town center, waterfront with restaurants and shops. Ideal location to explore the Garden Route. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lakeside Knysna Accomodation

Address: 88 Main Road, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $31 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Knysna Accomodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Lakeside Knysna Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lakeside Knysna Accomodation staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lakeside Knysna Accomodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try to get the room closer to the reception as the wifi range is very short”
 of 5 bubbles Yoydna, Mar 31, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for lake facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Deveshyahoo, Mar 4, 2014 | Read review
“No rooms had space heaters, which would have been a real asset. Coming from the US with summer temperatures in the 90's, it's hard to adjust to winter temperatures in South Africa with no heat. This is commonplace in South Africa, however.”
 of 5 bubbles fiftystatesevenconts, Aug 9, 2013 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side are further away from the road and traffic noise; ask for room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Christo001, Jul 30, 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay