We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Rex Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Rex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The stay at the Rex was awesome. Good service with incredibly friendly and hospitable staff. Clean and well prepared rooms with a great welcome. I recommend this hotel to family and business people visiting beautiful Knysna. Kind Regards, Peter le Roux

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M6168IVpeterl
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

AMAZING experience at the aha Rex Hotel (with the "aha", yes). Room was more than spacious, impeccably decorated - both room and bathroom - and extremely comfortable. We had a varanda overlooking the inner patio, which was quiet and cozy in every way. Linen and towels felt clean, almost like new, and toiletries had a great smell. Even the corridor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisa G
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My sincere apologies for the wifi, we are currently looking into a new service provider. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Kimberley, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located We enjoyed the good furnished room with everything needed. Good quality TV with enough channels available. One could have stayed in the room for the whole stay and that would have been enough. Very relaxing atmosphere. Better security at parking with a beam maybe...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 394wfg
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback. We value all comments received. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the beam for the parking area, I will most certainly forward your suggestion onto the owners for consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never expected it to be so plush, modern and huge, We got a 2 bed apartment, one ensuite with an open plan living room and kitchen, quite central and walking distance from the water front and mall. Staff were very helpful and firendly. Very pleasant stay

Helpful?
Thank Diane936
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a must stay when visiting knysna. Room are beautifully decorated and equipt. Very helpfull staff. Very modern by some standards. Always makes you feel at home. Will definitely visit again. Nice being within walking distance from the knysna waterfront.

Helpful?
Thank plettdiner
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Rex Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Arrived from Mossel Bay to Knysna, The Rex Hotel is standing in the beautiful patio. Amazingly located and superbly decorated, you will find yourself in a beautiful room with incredible views. The small patio offers variety of shops and a little Cafe is there if you want to admire the colors changing in the sky. Thank you again for everything.... More 

Helpful?
Thank guillaumeb241
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to the Garden Route. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Very pleasant stay with friendly staff. Breakfast gets a bit boring after a few mornings of basically the same menu on offer. Beautiful rooms, very tastefully decorated. Quality appliances except for poor television and no light above bathroom mirror

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gerharddv
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However I will most certainly have maintenance relook at the television and the mirror light. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Great central location although not on waterfront, fantastic modern rooms We had a 2 bedroom apartment and the kitchen and decor was like home from home Staff great and breakfast fine enough, had better & worse Can walk to waterfront at night to restaurants

Helpful?
Thank lisa w
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at The Rex and found the "hotel" very well located with safe parking included. The 2 bed roomed apartment we stayed in was very comfortable. We dis not make much use of the kitchen but you could easily stay on a self catering basis with limited facilities (no oven). Breakfast was served at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will most certainly review your comment on the bottled water. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We had an amazing stay at the very well located with easily accessible property. The staff at the hotel was very welcoming, co-operative and helpful. Being pure vegetarians the hotel staff took good care and did provide us with a nice breakfast. Would definitely recommend others to stay here. Thanking each and everyone at the hotel who contributed in making... More 

Helpful?
Thank jayshah_holiday
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Rex Hotel team thanks you and your family for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.7 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 29 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Grey Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $67 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay