We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rex Hotel

#10 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
8 Gray Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 255: English reviews
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very pleasant stay with friendly staff. Breakfast gets a bit boring after a few mornings of basically the same menu on offer. Beautiful rooms, very tastefully decorated. Quality appliances except for poor television and no light above bathroom mirror

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gerharddv
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However I will most certainly have maintenance relook at the television and the mirror light. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great central location although not on waterfront, fantastic modern rooms We had a 2 bedroom apartment and the kitchen and decor was like home from home Staff great and breakfast fine enough, had better & worse Can walk to waterfront at night to restaurants

Helpful?
Thank lisa w
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at The Rex and found the "hotel" very well located with safe parking included. The 2 bed roomed apartment we stayed in was very comfortable. We dis not make much use of the kitchen but you could easily stay on a self catering basis with limited facilities (no oven). Breakfast was served at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will most certainly review your comment on the bottled water. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an amazing stay at the very well located with easily accessible property. The staff at the hotel was very welcoming, co-operative and helpful. Being pure vegetarians the hotel staff took good care and did provide us with a nice breakfast. Would definitely recommend others to stay here. Thanking each and everyone at the hotel who contributed in making... More 

Helpful?
Thank jayshah_holiday
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Rex Hotel team thanks you and your family for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Rex hotel is beautiful! The decor everywhere: reception, at the lifts, in the rooms. The rooms are spacious and have lovely linen and towels. Well thought through. The kitchenette is well stocked and have nice glasses. Everything works! And the location is fantastic. We walked everywhere! You have safe parking and therefor you can walk around and enjoy the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marjo T
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all comments received. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night in Knysna. Chose the Rex hotel as its location looked ideal. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was perfectly located close to the waterfront, had lots of parking, easy checkin, the rooms were huge, clean and well outfitted. Excellent value for money and definitely worth recommending.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anton D
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Rex Hotel team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again, on your next trip to the Garden Route. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing wow. No signage on the building indicating that this is the rex hotel. Was bot of a problem as the gps said ''you have arrived" bit no where is the rex hotel to be seen. Then pulled over and phoned to be explained what the building looks like.

Helpful?
Thank Andre84_13
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments received. I have noted your comment with regards to the signage. I am really sorry that your gps mislead you. However I am glad to hear that reception was able to direct you telephonically. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay at the Rex - the rooms are gorgeous with comfortable beds and great linen and the location is absolutely perfect (within walking distance to the Knysna waterfront and a wide variety of restaurants).

Helpful?
Thank The-Wanderlust-Boys
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the comfort of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing, we were so comfortable in the gorgeous apartment, spacious and lovely, newly appointed rooms are just fabulous. Great position - gorgeous coffee shop right there, so nice to walk to the waterfront and nearby restaurants, we'll be sad to leave but will be sure to return.

Helpful?
Thank Candice T
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our "home away from home" Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Rooms are larges enough and well equipped. Neat and clean place with all amenities. Cordial staff. Very good location and is closer from lagoon Ben Hunn fro cruise lovers. Restaurant serves breakfast only and very limited vegetarian offerings is the only negative point.

Helpful?
Thank deepaksS7005DM
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Rex Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback as I will most certainly have the chef look into a bigger variety of vegetarian dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Masuda More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
136.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $66 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knysna
#10 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay