We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bamboo the Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bamboo the Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of Bamboo the Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Bamboo lodge offers a beautiful and tranquil setting not easily found elsewhere. The rooms were well fitted and the atmosphere Serene. The service was good and the breakfast great :) Good getaway close to restaurants, thank you for the stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyelerh
Somerset
Reviewed 1 week ago

Return visit for us had a lovely stay lots of changes since our last visit all for the better. Polite and helpful staff made to feel very welcome lovely breakfast and lots of interesting art to look at or buy!! Would definitely recommend. Loved the shop too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Sharon Was so lovely to have you back, we are always growing and hope that on your next visit you will be even more impressed. Kindest regards The Bamboo Family

Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Im not sure where to start.... the only positive I have the staff is super friendly. But that's where it ends. We are used to "easy". This was dirty. I'm not going to post my pictures of the bathroom but we have not found any this dirty in SA yet. Breakfast very simple and you have to have time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omitom
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Bamboo, we do room checks everyday and pride ourselves in Bamboo. We only wish you had brought this to our attention as we could of rectified the situation immediately. We would of also made sure the ones in charge of the cleanliness of the rooms...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 21, 2017

A real gem. Great to get there and find it even more quirky and wondrous than it appeared on the website. My only regret is we could only stay for one night, as we had already booked our next destination. Friendly staff, top-notch breakfast, lovely swim - definitely put a smile on our faces!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildcolonialboy2017
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review we are glad enjoyed Bamboo and make sure to make your next stay longer and far more enjoyable. Warm regards The Bamboo Family

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017

This B and B turned out to be very similar to the Website description. Eccentic but extremely fun location. No complications regarding our booking which was made from the UK. Lovely breakfast and very comfortable rooms. Some of the facilities in the three rooms we had booked were not quite state of the art but hey, if you want the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank drlhb
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Many thanks for your review, we are so sorry about the pool we did attend to it immediately and it is looking better than ever. As for the WIFI we are on top of it as I know this can be a nuisance. We love that you enjoyed all other aspects of Bamboo. We hope to see you...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed November 26, 2016

We stayed here 4 years ago and liked it so much we had no hesitation in re-booking. The staff are still the same very welcoming and very helpful. However, the property was looking a bit tired and in need of attention. The breakfast was also quite limited, with options to buy more items (another egg or another sausage). Generally we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan_betts2
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Alan So sorry it took so long to reply, we thank you for your comments and am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as you did the first time. We have breathed new life into Bamboo so we hope your next visit will be more enjoyable than your first and second. Warm regards The...

Reviewed October 28, 2016

The rate to stay here is very good, especially as it includes a very generous breakfast. The owners and staff are friendly and the rooms are OK with a nice big bed. However, the downsides are that the car park is extremely small and very very tight; the first morning we had to find and wait for somebody to move...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emmelyn v
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Emmelyn We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Bamboo and that your needs were not attended to immediately, we now have a maintenance manager on property to avoid this from happening again. As for the car park, there is a parking available for each room, however it does so happen that other...

Oudtshoorn Sa
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We stayed two nights at Bamboo, a week apart. Bamboo was recommended to us by the hospital as being in close proximity to it, so it was indeed very convenient. The welcome was warm and enthusiastic, and the ambience is quite delightful. However, we dd not find it easy to get around, even taking into account that I was not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan And Jean T
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Alan Thank you for your review and hope that we will get to welcome you back to Bamboo. Into a bigger and better room. Kindest regards The Bamboo Family

Haifa, Israel
Reviewed October 23, 2016

As the title suggests, I loved staying in this eccentric and magical guest house. Its got a great friendly and welcoming vibe. The grounds are a forest of plants and trees, wild and caged birds, fish ponds, pools, African art and antiques all crisscrossed by boardwalks. The rooms, too, are decorated with antiques and art. The rooms and the furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E_Donald_Stein
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank yo so much for your review and am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love receiving your feed back whether it be positive or negative. This helps us to make Bamboo even better and more enjoyable. Thank you once again. The Bamboo Family

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Bamboo guest house is a lovely place to spend your nights in knysna. It is different from the common guest house in its appearance, the staff is friendly and helpfyl, the facilities are nice, breakfast is quite good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yair B
Jaynie C, Front Office Manager at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good day Many thank for your review we appreciate it, we hope to welcome you back to Bamboo soon. Warm regards The Bamboo Family

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (185)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#20 of 129 in Knysna
184 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#17 of 129 in Knysna
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#45 of 129 in Knysna
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#22 of 129 in Knysna
187 reviews
4.0 mi away
Badger's Lodge
Badger's Lodge
#31 of 129 in Knysna
94 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 129 in Knysna
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $54 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bamboo the Guesthouse staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bamboo the Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you need any particular room just ask Janine and she will accommodate you just fine”
 of 5 bubbles 407ariannab, May 12, 2016 | Read review
“Treat yourself to the Loft Honeymoon Suite”
 of 5 bubbles JRockJeff, May 3, 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is very special indeed!”
  • Room close to the reception area - very comfortable.
 of 5 bubbles sarahtF3789KK, Mar 31, 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite - open plan setting with a bed you want to buy for yourself”
 of 5 bubbles 450minettew, Dec 19, 2015 | Read review
“Every room we stayed in (3 in total) was awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles 446aliciap, Dec 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question