We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Show Prices
#21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Simola is a lovely hotel in a stunning location and with a superb golf course. Unfortunately there can be a serious problem with the accommodation. This is mostly based upon 2 bedroom suites, very well appointed and many with great views. However if you book a '1 bedroom suite' for two people this will be a 2 bedroom suite but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobbieMac2015
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mr RobbieMac Thank you for the review that you submitted. We do "sell" the B-rooms as you mentioned in your review when Guests do not want to pay for the entire Luxury suite. I am sure you will agree that it is not profitable for any rooms to stand vacant when we can generate an income from it...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a spectacular hotel, especially if you enjoy views and golf! The restaurant was however, very disappointing for a 5 star establishment. Burgers, steak and pizza for supper. May as well have gone to the Spur in Knysna.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wayne O
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Wayne Thanks for your review. We have a Bistro menu as you experienced - we have found as a Golfing Hotel that our Guest prefer this kind of menu. (there are no Pizza's on our menu) We can recommend excellent Fine dinning restaurants in the Knysna area. Kind regards Linda

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff, Facility, Rooms, Value for money...all Excellent Golf course superb Pool and lounges was beautiful Breakfast was Fantastic Sight seeing and nature at its best Close to everything in Knysna Will visit again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 684khalilm
Matlock England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed in a suite at Simola. I can only describe the experience as 'Out of this World'. The suite itself was HUGE with great attention to detail. The views from the spacious balcony and from our bedroom were amazing - over the golf course and the Knysna lagoon. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Golfgirl287
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon "Golfgirl" It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback about Simola Hotel & Golf Estate. We hope to welcome you back at Simola very soon. Kind regards Linda

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The apartment was out of this world, with the most amazing views. The staff went above and beyond, making our stay memorable. My partner found a worm in her lunch, while taking advantage of the March Spa special. A new lunch was provided, and the Spa Manager comped the entire treatment. Great save!!! Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shauntreed
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Its nice to receive such positive feedback even if there has been a little "misshap". Thanking you kindly Linda

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights and played golf. The golf course is good and there are spectacular views from the hotel and the golf course. The staff were very friendly, and we found the breakfast was good. Unfortunately the twin room we stayed in does not give a 5 star experience and is more like a budget B&B. Firstly, the toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDFMDF2014
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write a your review. I do apologise if your room was not clean on arrival. This most definitely is not our standard. It most certainly is a pity that you did not experience our Luxury suites. The "B" rooms are only offered when guests request a much more affordable option. We...

Lagos State, Nigeria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was hosted with a group of nine other tourists on a trip to explore the western cape region of South Africa! Staying at the Simola resort in knysna was one of the best parts of my trip...I love how comfortable the rooms are, and they have the most amazing spa and dining selection! I would definitely stay there again!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank idiaivieritaa
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for the lovely review. Knysna most definitely is a Beautiful part of South Africa. We hope to be welcoming you back to Simola Hotel & Spa very soon. Kind regards Linda

Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent stay with friends coming all from France . We all enjoy our stay . Peoples were lovely , food excellent , rooms high standard , we will come back for sure but next time we will stay much longer .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alain G
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Alain Thank you for your lovely review. It is always good to hear and see that our Guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to Welcome you back at Simola. Kindest Regards Linda

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel and the surroundings are just amazing. We has a 2 night stay at this hotel. Several negative issues developed which we are not happy about. We were received unprofessionally and quickly ushered to our apartment. There was no hot water in the apartment. When we complained the attended could not fix the problem and we had to have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilip S
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Dilip Thanking you for taking the time to rate the Hotel. As discussed with you when you were at the Hotel, we unfortunately cannot control when a geyser is going to pack up. It isn't always possible to get a Plumber to replace a geyser in the middle of the night. Thus being the reason we offered you...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I begin! No mini bar in the room, the previous guests dirt was still in the bedroom bin, opened slippers were not replaced. When I called the reception to complain they sent housekeeping... as an apology I was offered a turn down service and a chocolate on my pillow!!!!!! I checked out the next morning and booked into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shereen356
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Shereen I am sorry to hear about your experience. Thus was never mentioned to me or any of other management. I have enquired in all the departments - unfortunately there is no record of these complaints - I will investigate this matter further Regards Linda

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
769 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
32 reviews
3.0 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.0 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $197 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were in Suite 6, but I would imagine all the suites have amazing views. Don't know about the hotel rooms as we haven't stayed in one.”
Golfgirl287, 1 week ago | Read review
“Be sure to book a luxury suite to ensure a 5 star experience”
MDFMDF2014, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Take a room with a view. It worth every Rand.”
297lamberts, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“Request for the sea view. if without young children - ask to have the first floor and not the ground floor.”
ranh2017, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“lagoon facing offers stunning view, forest facing over parking”
ik1957, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question