We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Head Over Hills

Certificate of Excellence
22 Glen View Drive | Coney Glen, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Head Over Hills
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a beautiful place with the best location in Knysna right on the heads with no one to obstruct your view of the ocean, featherbed head and the entrance to the lagoon. Room was luxurious only slight thing wrong was the small shower with superstar taps which made fixing the temperature a bit of a challenge. Breakfast was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janet_glendinning34
Head2014, Owner at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are constantly doing upgrades and for us to improve we need all the feed back we can get from our guests so thank you very much for giving us that. I apologize for any inconvenience it might have caused you during your stay. Warm regards, Therese Hansson More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely view. Not a very warm atmosphere as a guest house. Far too expensive. I'm sure there were other cheaper establishments. Rooms were tiny and not warm. We had come in the winter and felt awfully cold

Helpful?
Thank AlexiaTripper
jessim1992, Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Dear Alexia We are sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at Head over Hills. We pride ourselves on our warm atmosphere, so we find it strange we did not live up to that! A pity you did not tell us you were cold because the air conditioners work really well to warm up the rooms... More 

Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of staying at Head over Hills in mid April. This is fantastic place to stay. The views are amazing looking out over the Indian Ocean and the entrance to Knysna Lagoon. We booked dinner on our first night, which was excellent and very good value. Because of this we asked if we could have dinner on... More 

Helpful?
Thank whatabeautifulday
jessim1992, Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was so much fun to have you here and we are glad you enjoyed the wine tasting! Thank you for choosing Head over Hills. Kind regards, Debbie More 

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thankfully I came across this wonderful little place on Facebook and we decided to take a visit to Knysna for the Oyster and Bubbly offer that was advertised to watch the Navy boats come into the Knysna Heads. We decided to stay a couple of nights too and we were not disappointed. The night of the Oyster and Bubbly event... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClaireHiscox
jessim1992, Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Hi Claire Thank you so much for the review. We pride ourselves on our personal service and we are so happy you enjoyed that! It was a pleasure having you and Steve to stay here with us and we hope to see you again in the summer where more champagne can be consumed on the deck! Kind regards, Debbie More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Head over Hills is absolutely fantastic. We spent 2 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel in April and what fabulous accommodation. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Very clean and lots of attention to detail in the rooms. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. We decided to eat dinner at the hotel twice in our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
Head2014, General Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Thanks so much for all this beautiful words and for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again someday. It was wonderful having you stay with us. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Head Over Hills is perfect in every way and worth the price. Attention to detail and high quality standards are evident throughout. Service is great and the breakfast was unlike any previous B&B breakfast we have experienced. If you love the Knysna Heads then this is the way to go. We will return!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karenandtoml
Head2014, General Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this beautiful words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Head over Hills and what a lovely stay it was. From Debbie's warm welcome to our oh so comfortable elephant suite, Head over Hills aimed to please. The suite was spacious and had the most incredible ocean views. Dinners at the B&B were also lovely and I have to mention that Debbie's attention to detail... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindelwa M
Head2014, General Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear of all these things. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We will definitely give some attention to the omelette. Hope to see you again in the future. More 

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

during my honeymoon we stayed at the Elephant Room (the biggest they have) its very well furnished and clean as soon you enter the room you are faced with the great view to the sea something you will never get tiered from gazing on it, they weather was bad the next day we stayed so we could not see it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eyad107
Head2014, General Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. I think next time I must call and ask for better weather. Hope to see you again in the future. More 

Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

I bought a two night stay for my parents 50th wedding anniversary. The service I received was brilliant. Very attentive even when I requested items to be placed in the room on their arrival to make it extra special. My parents loved the experience and the views were spectacular. I received updates on when they arrived and departed. Very good... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank less987
Head2014, General Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. It was so lovely to have your parents with us, they are lovely people and enjoyed every moment. We love doing things for people to make it special More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Best place to stay on Knysna heads. Breathtaking view from your room. Contemporary Guesthouse with all luxury you need. Next time will make a booking to play a round of Golf with the owner Martin Hansson, Golf Professional.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank egonr497
Head2014, General Manager at Head Over Hills, responded to this review

Thanks so much for writing a review. Yes for sure you must book a round of golf, and we will do it for you, don't even bring your clubs we have you can rent. Hope to see you soon again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
138.2 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
4.0 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 29 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Head over Hills is a unique luxury retreat situated on the beautiful edge of the iconic Knysna heads. Our luxury accommodation and world-class views are the perfect backdrop to a well-deserved getaway, honeymoon or to simply take in the splendor of our naturally beautiful location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Head Over Hills

Address: 22 Glen View Drive | Coney Glen, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $142 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Head Over Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Head Over Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay