We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island Vibe Knysna

Booking.com$23*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Island Vibe Knysna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of Island Vibe Knysna
 Click to rate
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The accommodation was great, enough warm blankets for the winter time and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The recreational area was also great to have. I will most certainly staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michealm823
Management response:

Dear Micheal Thank you for reviewing our hostel, It is with great pleasure to hear that you enjoy your stay with us, we strive to create an atmosphere that is home away from home. Enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards Bibby and the Island Vibe Team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

cleanliness could improve, but other than that we enjoyed our stay. it is situated on the main road, so it is easily accessable and very central, we were in knysna to attend the simola hillclimb an annual event.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 246kirstenc
Management response:

Dear Kirsten Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, your comments are helping us to improve our services so we can deliver a better service. Hope you enjoy the hill climb and hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards Bibby and the Island Vibe Team.

Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good vibe and nice staff, but they have a small pool and a bar where people gather and outside people come at night to drink and talk, quite close to some room and dorm, and there is no limit time for them to make lot of noise, can go very late in the night if you are not lucky as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 89Thierry
Management response:

Dear Thierry Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, your comments assist us to better our services, i'm glad you enjoyed the vibe, we strive to create an atmosphere that accommodates everyone, we apologize that the bar was loud during your stay. We hope to see you in the future, enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice place with helpful reception staff but my stay was spoilt by the fact that on two successive nights food that I had bought and put in the hostel fridge was stolen. I reported this on both occasions. Given the security at the hostel - it's not a place you can just wander into off the street - the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Management response:

Dear Mike Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, we apologize for the bad experience of loosing your food in the fridge, we strive to meet the needs of each and every guest that stays with us. We hope to see you again in the future, enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards Bibby

Meridian
Reviewed April 18, 2017

It is ok for people in theirs '20. It is not good for families. Music loud until 1am, not water in my room, need to be more clean, employees are friendly, it is nice if you are single and traveling without children. Good location

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fernando L
Management response:

Dear Fernando Thank you or reviewing our hostel, We are very sad to hear that you didn't have a pleasant stay, when you arrived we had a lot of young people, normally our bar closes at 11 pm and people that want to party go to the clubs in town, we do offer family rooms and we also have a...

Knysna
Reviewed April 6, 2017

All in all a good place to stay but a little pricey. We had a double room and the staff was nice. Our room was close to the street so some trucks were noisy. On the otherhand it was on the backside of the property so we also could spend time on our own.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank angm525
Management response:

Dear Ang Thank you for reviewing our hostel, It is with great pleasure to here that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you in the future. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards Bibby

Vanderkloof
Reviewed April 4, 2017

Very friendly staff and clean room. Room were ready on arrival and all were in place. Staff attended to all requests without delay and were very helpful and friendly. Great value for money and enjoyed the pool on the deck.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertbV6289IE
Management response:

Dear Robert Thank you for reviewing our hostel, it is with great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try by all means to be punctual. Hope to see you in the future , Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards Bibby and the Island Vibe Team

Knysna
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We stayed in a private room for a couple of nights. The room was clean and very good. The staffs were not very helpfull or friendly. They have a good bar and honest prices. Too bad they don't serve breakfast, although the free muffing and coffe was awesome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnaldobecharaf
Management response:

Dear Arnaldo Thank you for reviewing our hostel, I am very glad you enjoyed the complimentary Muffin and coffee, We have tried to serve breakfast in the past but it did not work as we are situated in the middle of the town so people tend to go to town for breakfast. I apologize if the staff did not come...

Muenster, Germany
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Main problems: the bathroom of the room had a very bad smell and the room was facing the loud main road. The advertised pool is not worth talking about it... It is cheap there, but you can get more for your money! The staff was friendly though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 65nathaliee
Management response:

Dear Nathalie Thank you for reviewing our hostel, It is with sadness to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay, we are situated in the main road so that is why it can be noisy sometimes with the cars passing. As we are a small hostel we only have a splash pool. The bathroom smell might have been...

Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

Sad to leave my first bad review in SA. Upon arrival, we were informed our room was going to be in another house down the street, far away from the bar, pool and parking, unless we pay an extra for a room in main building. Argument was: "because you booked through another website". True, but seriously, these allow you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jigui A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.6 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
13.7 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 20 in Sedgefield
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#25 of 102 in Knysna
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 126 in Knysna
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island Vibe Knysna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“only saw our room....”
434sisf, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms are always great, but the dorms are also good.”
nzwakie2016, Jan 17, 2016 | Read review
“Room on the poolside of the backpackers”
164kylieh, Nov 18, 2015 | Read review
“The dormroom for 10 is good. You can hear people above walking but there isn't a lot of other noise because it is not on the streetside of the hostel.”
Marijke250, Mar 2, 2015 | Read review
“Any room is good”
377krystalw, Dec 17, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$23* /night
View Deal
Priceline$42
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates