We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
10/29/2017 10/30/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Marine Hermanus

    Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    10/29/2017 10/30/2017
     Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
    $312
    $317
    Traveler (246)
    Room & Suite (61)
    Dining (20)
    Overview
    • Excellent69%
    • Very good20%
    • Average8%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travelers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Concierge
    Spa
    Wheelchair access
    Business Center
    Dry Cleaning
    Private Balcony
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      $312
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      $317
      View Deal
    View all 2 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (708)
    There are newer reviews for The Marine Hermanus
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 622 reviews

    Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

    Excellent location next to the sea within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The only thing that annoyed me was that the receptionist refused to speak Afrikaans, even though she can.More

    Thank 936yvetten
    Response from TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine HermanusResponded August 18, 2017

    Dear 936yvetten, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We are fortunate to being located in such a prime position in Hermanus. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast on offer. I am disappointed to...More

    Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

    Staying here for two nights. Arrived on a very calm sunny day and several whales 🐳 just off the shoreline which we could see from the hotel grounds and hear. Beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. White bed linen which was folded down in the...More

    1  Thank Barbados0506
    Response from TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine HermanusResponded August 18, 2017

    Dear Barbados0506, Thank you for your wonderful review, I am absolutely delighted you had a fabulous stay with us recently. Thank you your wonderful compliments to our friendly staff, we do indeed have such a special team at the Hotel. I am disappointed that you...More

    Reviewed August 7, 2017

    The Marine was everything I hoped it would be and more! I have had this hotel on my bucket list for a few years. After a difficult start to the year, my husband and I finally had the opportunity to visit and stay for a...More

    1  Thank Michelle S
    Response from TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine HermanusResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Michelle S, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you have ticked us off on your bucket list and enjoyed your stay at the Marine, especially that you were able to spot some whales breaching from your magnificent...More

    Reviewed August 6, 2017

    My wife & I checked into the spa for the day & decided to spend the night . Firstly we were pampered at the spa leaving after several hours of being spoiled with heavenly pleasures .We checked into our room & I informed Heidi that...More

    Thank Shane S
    Response from TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine HermanusResponded August 18, 2017

    Dear Shane S, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that yourself and your wife enjoyed your time with us at the Marine Hotel. We do try our utmost to accommodate our guests with dietary requirements and it is great to...More

    Reviewed July 18, 2017

    We spent two nights here and loved this hotel. It is in great location on the cliff very close to the town centre, restaurants and shops. The building is a lovely old historic hotel - our room was very spacious and comfortable. Best storage space...More

    Thank Go55
    Response from TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine HermanusResponded July 21, 2017

    Dear Go55, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We truly are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us as well as the Hermanus. I do hope you managed to spot a whale or two. We do hope to welcome you back to the Marine...More

    The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
    680 reviews
    #3 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
     
    Harbour House Hotel
    945 reviews
    #8 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
     
    Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
    744 reviews
    #5 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
     
    Arabella Hotel & Spa
    846 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Kleinmond
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Business Center with Internet Access
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • $278 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
    • #2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
    • #4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 40
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Western Cape >
    • Overberg District >
    • Hermanus
    • Also Known As
    • The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus ,
    • The Marine Hotel Hermanus
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (246)
    Room & Suite (61)
    Dining (20)
    Pool & Beach (12)
    Hotel & Grounds (167)
    Bathroom (9)
    Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Harbour House Hotel
    945 reviews
    .25 miles away
     
    The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
    680 reviews
    .12 miles away
     
    Arabella Hotel & Spa
    846 reviews
    9.35 miles away
     
    Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
    744 reviews
    .52 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Betty Blue Bistro
    357 reviews
    .08 miles away
    Pear Tree
    907 reviews
    .13 miles away
    Fusion Restaurant
    736 reviews
    .15 miles away
    La Pentola
    1,052 reviews
    .10 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lembu Gallery & Studio
    59 reviews
    .26 miles away
    The Whale House Museum
    126 reviews
    .20 miles away
    Old Harbour Museum
    51 reviews
    .33 miles away
    Percy Tours Day Tours
    266 reviews
    .28 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    clare114
    August 13, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Torben K | Reviewed this property |
    I am not sure Hotel seems to Apply to a bit older generation
    0
    Votes
    Val F
    July 15, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from europeanfan2015 | Reviewed this property |
    Pool is small. Doubt they heat it
    1
    Vote
    marie k
    March 29, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from TheMarineteam | Property representative |
    Dear Guest, I trust this reaches you well and thank you for your questions. Our Double Rooms are located in various sections of the Hotel, therefore not all road side facing. We do offer Double Rooms on the ground floor... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Room facing the ocean it's a dream"
    Read review
    "Study a room map or make inquiries before booking, as rooms are different shapes."
    Read review
    "Loved 227 - but if you can't get that do get a sea view in whale watching season."
    Read review
    "Sea facing suites"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing