We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marine Hermanus

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Marine Hermanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 516: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
282 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

To give this iconic hotel which commands a prime position on the headland overlooking Walkers Bay, anything less than a five star rating would be more than churlish. Belonging to the classic Chateau Relais group already marks it as one if the finest on the continent. And yet it retains a remarkably relaxed atmosphere associated with the "champagne riviera". None... More 

Helpful?
Thank postscript65
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Easy parking, a nice welcome with helpful and attentive staff. Great setting in Hermanus, style and luxury throughout with some interesting history. Entry level room was a spacious and very comfortable mini suite, recently refurbished with side sea glimpses. Thoughtful range of amenities provided, even a fully stocked complimentary mini bar including wine! Only slight downside of the stay was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GastrodontUK
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us at the Marine. I am so happy to hear that you had enjoyable & comfortable time with us. Our refurbished rooms are something special. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy dinner at Origins, but hope that you may join... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for a weekend escape.Location excellent, right on cliff with fabulous sea views and easy access to town centre. No need to leave your hotel in your car. Room was pleasant enough, quite spacious with a complimentary bottle of wine.Breakfast was good, just the buffet was pretty basic.Lounge area quite inviting and staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank TachlessCps
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our location is certainly very special and so convenient so I am glad you enjoyed that aspect of your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback on our breakfast buffet we will look into that. Wonderful that you are planning a return trip to us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker General... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although our overall experience at the Marine was positive, there were certain incidents during our stay that dampened the experience and we unfortunately would not recommend this hotel to our friends and family. The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful, and we had a wonderful time at the spa. The breakfast staff couldn't have been nicer and the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank judithtuition
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your honeymoon stay at the Marine Hotel. I feel dreadful that we were not able to meet your expectations and that we somehow spoiled your time with us. I know that this does not in anyway change the experience that you had with... More 

Wistaston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Exceptional quality of all fixtures fittings and toiletries etc. Could not fault the lovely interior design of this hotel and its room. Breakfast was exceptional with excellent service at al times. Cleanliness could not be faulted. Reception staff a bit over the top for our liking but would suit some people. Always polite and attentive. Comes at a price but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us. The Marine went through an extensive refurbishment programme a few months ago. I am glad to read that you find this exceptional. All your feedback has now been shared with the team. Once... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely, clean, comfortable, welcoming hotel. Good food at the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent. The front of house staff took time to welcome us and show us around. The staff at the spa were also very friendly and professional. A complimentary mini bar also which was fantastic! The staff gave us a bottle of bubbly to congratulate us as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo W
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is appreciated. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your special occasion. Hermanus is a great little town to be on honeymoon. Congratulations on your wedding. You will have to return for your 1st anniversary. Every employee plays... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very much looking forward to staying at The Marine based on reviews posted. However failed to live up to expectations. On the plus side is its location and impressive looking building. The room (109) however was a big disappointment. Decidedly ordinary with some cheap looking furniture and a small gallery like bathroom were big negatives when considering the price. Not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cjlimm
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review for us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Every arrival is prepared for very carefully and we do our best to anticipate each of our guests needs. Each room is specifically chosen for each guest by our Guest Services team. I take your... More 

Level Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at the Marine. There was an initial mix up with our booking which the management quickly rectified by giving us a free night. The staff were very eager to please and very friendly but we got the impression many were learning on the job. Overall food was very good indeed but perhaps not quite as good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom_Lennie
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Even though a few of our team members are still new to the hotel, I am glad to read that they did their best to make sure that you have a memorable stay. We... More 

Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We allready come for many years in The Marine. This year a lot of changes has been in the hotel. Our room was very nicely redecorated. The Seafood restaurant was changed into Origin: great menu and good taste. The staf was happy; something magical happend there!

Helpful?
Thank lb230
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely review. Your feedback is extremely important to us. We were delighted to have you back with at The Marine. Our refurbishment took place during the winter months. The result of this is outstanding. We are all very proud of our product. Training and keeping our staff motivated is vital for the... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having looked at the hotel website we booked a room with a balcony with sea view. On arrival we were offered a beautiful huge room mainly overlooking the car park with a side view of the ocean. Despite the absolutely stunning room and bathroom we were disappointed about the main outlook. However the hotel dealt with our concerns and immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review for us. It was such a treat to read. Our little gem is so special and is a definite landmark here in Hermanus. I am also delighted to read that we dealt with your concern in an efficient manner. We regularly share the feedback with our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
793 reviews
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.0 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $292 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for the luxury double room with sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles TachlessCps, 4 days ago | Read review
“all rooms excellent .some face coastline”
 of 5 bubbles F3251RXsusant, 1 week ago | Read review
“Get a room with a sea view and if possible a balcony. Room 207 was great.”
  • View from room 207
 of 5 bubbles Tom_Lennie, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ocean view is obviously best”
 of 5 bubbles bushandsea, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I prefer the back room as they are more spacious than sea facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles H5738PScatherinet, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay