We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Anchor's Rest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Anchor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Skellefteå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

A nice play to stay for a week or two. Maybe because the golf course in Hermanus is excellent??? We got a room, not too big, no AC, small kitchenett,. There were not many TV channels to choose from but a good wifi. Well situated if you want t.a walkt to the city along the ocean; and many good restaurants.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owe L
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

Lovely little guesthouse, we stayed for 2 nights in starfish which was lovely and comfortable. It was clean and handy for exploring Hermanus. Would stay again great place. Friendly and helpful staff, safe property with gates and private parking The bbq and outside area was perfect for sitting out in the evening

Helpful?
Thank Alison G
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Alison Thank you for your positive review. So pleased you found the accommodation to your liking. Feedback is always welcome and we appreciate you taking the time to write. More 

Cornwall
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

We stayed at Anchor's Rest for three nights in 'Starfish' at the end of January. This is the family unit which has a queen size bed in the studio along with a sofa, coffee table and small kitchenette, dinning table and chairs. In addition there is a small twin bedroom and a full size bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank CyrilCat
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your generous review. It is really appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to our staff - it is always beneficial to us ( and hence our guests) to get feed back - thank you. More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

Our third visit here and just as food as ever - our previous reviews stand! Stayed with another couple and had Pebbles and Starfish rooms, both of which we've stayed in previously, and they're perfect. We were sad to hear on arrival that Guy had passed away since our last visit but Hilary has maintained the same standards and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve1205
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - I am so please to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Daughter Meghan has been a great help and so we will continue to provide a happy break for our guests. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write . More 

Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Spent two nights in a double self catering cottage. Lovey and quite, owner and daughter went out of their way to ensure that our stay was memorable. Will definitely use them again on future trips to SA

Helpful?
Thank alexF9277JW
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward yo seeing you again if you return. More 

Up North
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

Arrived for 2 night stay. Greeted by Cindy and showed to our loft apartment, Seagull. Unfortunately the weather wasn't too grand during our visit, so the whole place didn't look as bright as it had on the website photos! I'm sure the pool is also lovely in the sun, but it really didn't look appealing in the blustery wind and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BahHumbug123
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry I could not see you into your room personally due to circumstances beyond our control. Unfortunately the weather does sometimes get blustery and miserable in November sometimes and also affects the WiFi. I am glad you were comfortable in your room though. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Anchor's rest for two nights. It's a quiet little B&B, that served us well. Hillary was very helpful when she heard we had come specifically to watch whales and hadn't booked upon arrival. After all the hotels and breakfast-included-places it was nice to have our own kitchenette and be able to have a chill-out Sunday morning. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric v
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

A rather delayed thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you ejoyed yourselves and I am glad you got to see the whales! I am glad you enjoyed our little breakfast nook wher yo can do your own thing - we even have guests taking it easy and enjoying breakfast in the garden (when it's warmer!) More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Spent two nights in the little self catering cottage. Very comfortable and secure. Wi-Fi had intermittent problems but other than that a very pleasant stay. Very close to the cliff path along which you can walk to town (turn left) or to the harbour (turn right). Good restaurant at the harbour serving excellent sushi.

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review - we really appreciate feedback. Thank you also for the feed back on the restauarnts - it is great to be able to recommend to other guests. More 

Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Like in most guesthouses in South Africa, it is selfcatering and the owners do not interfere to much, but if you have any questions they are helpfull and will try to meet any requests. Room is lovely with a big bathroom and little kitchen. During daytime you can safely walk the cliffpaths, which are located very near the guesthouse. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dutchkenny
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our guesthouse. It is really appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed some of the pleasures Hermanus has to offer. More 

leeds, uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

Well designed clean 'honeymoon loft' overlooking a lovely sunny pool area- also one of the cleanest pools we've seen in Africa! The apartment had a separate kitchenette downstairs, complete with portable electric stove and microwave, toaster, cafitierre. It would have been nice to have been given a few basic essentials such as salt and pepper etc. Really friendly service and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ilovetravelin
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed our cliff paths and the sightings of the whales.We are also pleased that you \enjoyed the apartment and the pool. We have taken note of your suggestion for little extras such as condiments in the kitchen. The unreliability of the Wi Fi is unfortunately beyond our control and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Robin's Nest Guest House
Robin's Nest Guest House
#39 of 85 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
2.4 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#36 of 85 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auberge Burgundy
Auberge Burgundy
#16 of 85 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sandbaai Country House
Sandbaai Country House
#60 of 85 in Hermanus
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#12 of 85 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#17 of 85 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor’s Rest, 150m from cliff paths and whales in season. Harbour and restaurants 10 minutes walk. 4 garden suites have own entrance, patio and barbecue. Under counter fridge, tea and coffee facilities, overhead fans, microwave, hotplates, wall heaters, hairdryers, TV, DSTV Premium and DVD machine in each unit. Pool and garden area are available for guests. Optional substantial Continental Breakfast, served on your patio or in your suite. Safe off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 90 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $42 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay