We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbour House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Harbour House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

827 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 735: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived expecting a basic room and were given what we were told was a suite in another building. This was an apartment, but excellent quality. We did still get breakfast back in the main hotel. The room was very clean and the staff exceptionally helpful. We were given the wifi code on arrival, and read in the brochure we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernvines
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bernvines, Thank you for writing a review. Kind Regards, Charl Schoeman

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful place with the warmth and friendliness each guest deserves. Special mention to Charl the Host Manager for his attention to detail, spontaneous feel for our needs and beautiful personality. Charl is a real gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yolande B
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yolande B, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We always welcome guest feedback as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan. Without your feedback we would never know. Therefore I am delighted to know that you had such a lovely time at one of our hotel and that you at...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Had an amazing stay at Harbour House Hotel. The facilities and the food were all excellent. The most impressive part of our stay was definitely the staff. For the duration of our stay they went out for their way to make us feel as comfortable as possible, and attended to our every need. This was one of the best places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dylan s
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dylan s, Thank you for writing a review. Guest feedback is of utmost important of us. This helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan – making guest happy, and by reading your feedback ensures us we did just that. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind...

Montagu, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights New Years Eve included. A disastrous choice this hotel is never a 4* I like previous reviewers can not understand why you have to pay for coffee pods for the machine when you are paying these prices (shocking) also 3oclock check in time is ridiculous in this day and age. Also like a previous review we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank borneo561
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear borneo561, Thank you for writing a review. Guest feedback is of utmost importance to us as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan. With that said I am sorry to hear that we were not able to make your stay a memorable one. Just to note that our normal check in time is at...

Sedbergh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Harbour House is right in the centre of Hermanus. We didn't have a car and we didn't need one. The hotel has a garden with a pool that overlooks, over the road, the old harbour and 'that view' of the magnificent Walker Bay. This is where we spent most of our time. Our room was lovely! Overlooking the Burgundy Restaurant,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen W, Thank you for writing a review. Guest feedback is of utmost importance to us, as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan. I am so happy to know that you had such a great time while staying at our fine establishment and it was such a pleasure hosting you. We all look...

Buncrana, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As we came into town we pass "that pool" it's so unique a real talking point! Great room but was in a building across the road. This building had it own pool but the main pool was really special and had great pool side bar service. Breakfast was nice. Only wish we had an extra night at this great hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam G
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liam G, Thank you for writing a review. Guest feedback is of utmost importance to us, as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan. I am so happy to know that you had such a great time while staying at our fine establishment and it was such a pleasure hosting you. We all look...

Bergen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family of four stayed here for 5 nights in early January. The hotel is in a lovely location : you can relax at the pool overlooking Walker bay, walk into the city, go for a swim at the old harbour followed by a beer at Bingtangs caves, it is close to restaurants and bars . One can go for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janvandekaap
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janvandekaap, Thank you for writing a review. Guest feedback is of utmost important of us. This helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan – making guest happy, and by reading your feedback ensures us we did just that. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel, but we stayed in the basement. The room smelled like basements do. Very nice breakfast. The service was impeckable. A nice swimmingpool, with ocean view. We had a lovely stay and we will certainly return here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna M
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johanna M, Thank you for writing a review. Guest feedback is what we strive on, as this is an important tool for us, not only to know if we are sticking to our game plan but also to constantly improve where we can. That is what makes us great, because we listen to our guest. With that said, I...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed for a 2 night getaway. Hotel is clean and well situated. Our room overlooked the parking lot, not the main road, but the hotel was noisy. Staff were friendly enough, service was ok. But for what we paid, it's really poor value. Tea and coffee - limited to 2 tiny milk sachets each per day. Why not just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We always welcome feedback, without it we would never know what we are doing right or more importantly, where we can improve. So with that said I would like to thank you for your comments and be assured your feedback is noted. I would also like...

North Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A little surprised to find that check in wasn't until 3.00pm. However, we parked our cr in front of the hotel and returned at the appointed time to reception with our suitcases. Even more surprised to be advised that we would need to put our suitcases back in the car and the porter would come with us to show us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HildaNorthWales
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HildaNorthWales, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We always welcome guest feedback as this helps us determine whether we are sticking to our game plan. Without your feedback we would never know. Therefore I am delighted to know that you had such a lovely time at one of our Service Apartments and that you at...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

401 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (355)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $122 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 22 was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles 48helenw, 1 week ago | Read review
“We had Room 21 overlooking the sea which was amazing. It can be noisy though in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles annehA6702VP, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose rooms om the top floor for best views”
 of 5 bubbles Rinette187870, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Look elsewhere far too noisy”
 of 5 bubbles katherineo293, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“avoid the ones facing the parking lot 10 and 11”
 of 5 bubbles manium, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay