We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua

Hotwire.com$67*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$82*
$67*
Great Deal
$68*
$68*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although this hotel fulfilled my need ( one night accommodation), it was basic at best. The most disappointing was the breakfast - very expensive and very below par. Room was clean and functional. The location of the hotel is very good if you do not have transport and want to be in the centre of the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegD21
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear "very basic" Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you found our hotel basic and breakfast disappointing. Our breakfast is a huge spread of many and varied selections to choose from that will suit any palate. Our location is ideal for both business and pleasure in the area. We...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the first time staying at this hotel. The overall hotel was okay! The bed was comfortable and the room was a little small but okay. The breakfast buffet was fair at best! The food was okay and everything is self service. No one available to refill your coffee or juice. Not worth the price in my opinion. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Carlos T Thank you for placing your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry you did not have the best experience and would have loved to have chatted to you while you were here. We cannot find your name under guest's whom have stayed. I can assure you, that our attention at all times, including breakfast, is a priority to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was here on bussiness for a day. It served all my needs. It had free wifi for 500mb. They gave you a meal voucher to the value of R150, this servex me perfectly as i could choose a selected restaurant. The hotel was clean. Rooms were clean, tidy. Had all that i needed. The bathroom was a bit dated, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fuad D
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Fuad D Thank you for taking the time to place your reviews on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have served all your needs and hope to see you again soon should your travels bring you back to George. Yours sincerely

Milnerton, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was an amazing experience! What an amazing breakfast. Staff are so friendly and always welcoming. I even got to eat giant pancakes!! The food was delicious! Thank you Shaun for the recommendation!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherinevonb
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Catherinevonb Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We are thrilled you had such a great experience at our hotel. Will certainly carry your compliments to all STAFF. We hope you will come stay again in the not-too-distant future. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriot Outeniqua this past weekend!Clean rooms, friendly staff and very central. In the heart of George and within walking distance of restaurants and shops:) it's worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 346ren_e
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear 346REN_E Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua. As our VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to...

Sea Point, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited George for the long weekend. We had such a lovely stay here. We come here every time we visit George. This hotel is so central. Close to everything. The rooms are lovely and clean. The staff are so helpfull and friendly. It really is a home away from home with lovely food and hospitality. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IZ82
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear IZ82 Thank you for taking the time to place your reviews. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. We hope that you may visit us soon again. Yours in hospitality.

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here overnight in April and what a surprise. Spacious clean rooms, friendly staff, centrally located and walking distance from restaurants and town centre. I would highly recommend the Outeniqua for business travelers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riaanjordaan
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear rIAANJORDAAN Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott George OuteniquA. As our VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to...

Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

Have to say it was a very happy stay. The staff are professional yet friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and all restaurants within safe walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schmoozie2014
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear Schmoozie Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua. As our VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to...

Mossel Bay
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Had such a wonderful time at the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. I love the location being central and within walking distance of everything. Secure off-street parking. Lovely breakfast. Keep it up!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ProteaHotelMosselBay
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear "lovely" Thank you for taking the time to place your delightful review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that a fellow hotel had a warm experience at our quaint hotel. Your feedback is very encouraging and inspiring for our TEAM. You are welcome to visit anytime again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Currently staying here. 45 minutes ago I called the front desk to get my television working. Willem told me he would be up 'in a few minutes'. He never showed. At 10:45 I called again; turns out Willem went home when his shift ended without telling the evening staff about this issue needing fixing. Seriously? This is basic stuff that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wxmxr
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review

Dear wxmxr Thank you for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor. We are most perturbed by your feedback as I can assure you, we place staff training high on our priority list and rarely get complaints about our staff. From what we can gather, you booked through a third party. This means that we do not have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
6.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
64 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
466 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua - located in "The Urban Hub" of George. Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua is strategically situated in the urban business, retail and residential hub of George. Vibrant shops and restaurants are abundant in the precinct. Minutes away from the Garden Route Shopping Mall, forests, majestic mountains and majestic coastline, for which the Garden Route is renowned. There is always something to do, from hiking, fishing, abseiling, nature trails and more - all on our doorstep. Easy access to the George Airport and Beaches (15km). An ideal halfway stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth and perfect mid-point to base yourself for exploring the whole Garden Route and Klein Karoo. Nestled amongst the well-renowned golf courses of the Garden Route (George Golf Course 2 km) - it is the ideal base to stay and play. Unrivalled convenience and value for money. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua

Address: 123 York Street, George 6529, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Outeniqua George)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $62 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not much of a view from my room. Not sure whether there are front, street-view rooms.”
linda_kapp, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
“Take rooms furthest away from dining room”
, Feb 21, 2017 | Read review
“Adequate stay”
_allisongov, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
“avoid down stairs”
etiennevanr, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms close to the kitchen and entrance.”
langley122016, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotwire.com
$67* /night
View Deal
Priceline$68
HOTEL.INFO$68
HotelQuickly$82
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates