We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Save
Share
406 Herolds Bay Road Herolds Bay, George 6528 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
$117
View Deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (375)
Room & Suite (97)
Dining (39)

About

#6 of 9 hotels in George
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is located less than seven minutes’ drive from George Airport in an area renowned for its pristine beaches, indigenous forests and nature reserves. The hotel occupies an ideal position between the Indian Ocean and the majestic Outeniqua Mountains in Herolds Bay, along the Garden Route. One of the finest Garden Route resorts and boasts 100 stylish rooms and suites all equipped with the latest technology, spacious bathrooms with glass-enclosed rain showers and separate baths. Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is unique among South African hotels as it features the first Ernie Els signature golf course in South Africa, making the hotel resort a prime destination for golf holidays. The award winning Freesia Spa sets us apart from other Garden Route hotels.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Park View
685Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 257
  • 178
  • 128
  • 58
  • 64
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
hotboxidea wrote a review Aug 2020
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
The venue is great. I mean the situation in the landscape etc. The building is nice but not exceptional. Once I had ALREADY checked in, I was told that they're not doing the buffet breakfast, but that they would bring some muesli etc to the room? I was asked what time i wanted this breakfast, I said 7:30. The following morning I waited until 7:50 before having to leave for my golf booking. I have stayed at Pezula, Simola and various other 4&5 star hotels on the garden route. This one needs work. I would happily recommend it if a decent breakfast was served (which I had paid for) and just a bit of sweeping, cleaning, and general maintenance (I was told the spa and pool could be opened, "I must just go and ask there". Also, there was one restaurant open, and two items to choose from. Overall an OK place to stay but not worth the price at those service levels and amenities I'd afraid. Felt more like a mediocre B&B than a 4 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Ng Yuk Shing, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of TripAdvisor. Please accept our apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced with regards to service. It is only through constructive feedback like your own that we are able to measure and improve our performance and services. We can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and all details have been addressed with the respective managers.
Read more
christineyvr2018 wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver, Canada20 contributions
+1
My wife and I stayed at the spa for three nights. We both really enjoyed it. We ate in the three restaurants, the food and all of them was very good as well as the buffet breakfast. All of the staff we dealt with were friendly and extremely courteous. We also used the spa which we found to be excellent value and a very enjoyable experience. We were given an upgrade to a presidential suite. It was a beautiful room with views over the golf course and towards the ocean I used the gym which was as well equipped as any gym I have belonged to in North America. I would have no hesitation in returning to this beautiful hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian N, Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear christineyvr2018, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards,
Read more
columbiana wrote a review Feb 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom81 contributions24 helpful votes
After travelling along the garden route and doing lots of walking we wanted somewhere to just relax for a day. This was a perfect choice. It’s a beautiful place with lovely views and amazing rooms. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent and good value for the food and wine. Would definitely go back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian N, Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear columbiana, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards,
Read more
Charlene SM wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa10 contributions
So I have very mixed feelings about this establishment, I will write the good and the bad: Good: We stayed in the sea facing room, very spacious, clean The architecture is beautiful The golf course is amazing, I personally thought it was better than Fancourt (Mont) Bad: The service is shocking. We waited over an hour for a shuttle from the golf course back to the hotel, and to eventually drive ourselved up with a borrowed golf cart. We ordered room service (sandwiches), and there was hardly any filling. Although beautiful, the facility felt "stuffy", for lack of a better word.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian N, Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear CharleneN_SM, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of TripAdvisor. Please accept our apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced with regards to service. It is only through constructive feedback like your own that we are able to measure and improve our performance and services. We can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and all details have been addressed with the respective managers.
Read more
Anthony P wrote a review Jan 2020
Swansea68 contributions44 helpful votes
Unfortunately only stayed here for one night , wish I had more time. The airport pickup I arranged from the hotel was no where to be seen so I got a taxi, no big deal (used to this kind of thing). Checkin was fast immediate and painless, escorted to my Executive Suite and given all kinds of information by the nice checkin staff along the way. The suite itself was great, with kitchen, dining, bedroom, lounge etc , certainly worth the money. Food and service in the restaurant was quick and of good quality , they had forgotten to pre authorise my card so had to chase me back to my room to get paid. Only one negative experience, I had a 2 hour meeting in the reception lounge with clients and wasn't offered even as much as a glass of water, that was a bit disappointing. All in all a great hotel in a quiet location, I will certainly return when visiting the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian N, Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear Anthony P, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$62 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt regency oubaai golf hotel george, hyatt regency oubaai golf resort and spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeGeorge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dutton's Cove Restaurant, Waterside Grill &Bar, and The Waffle Berry.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Old Slave Tree (6.9 miles).
Does Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.