We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Fairview Historic Homestead

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairview Historic Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Wow - stunning with an historic ambience. Old world charm with modern day service and culinary delights! Simply beautiful park like gardens compliments this stunning old homestead. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff (Yvette). Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Mike_PE_ZA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We have stayed at the Fairview when traveling the garden route. Our room had a direct access to the rose garden and was nicely furnished. Besides a very good restaurant recommendation and tips for sight seeing, we received and excellent breakfast on the Fairview's terrace. Unfortunately, I forgot my jacket at the Fairview - and the team (special thanks to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review

And we would love to have you back :) We have just given the two front rooms a total revamp - I have booked a professional photographer for next week, so look at the website photos in about two weeks... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Beautiful home and B and B, easy to find. Good breakfasts and we had a large room. Lovely gardens, nice pool but the weather was on the cool side so could not use it. Would stay again as and when we return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suzanne_bean
Sarpsborg, Norge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

The setting was perfect, this is one of the oldest Houses im George and it now a true gem of a Guest House, The garden was great, the breakfast was a treat every morning. Great room and the beds was of a really high standard.

Helpful?
Thank SERASM
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016

If personal, yet professional service, attention to detail and quality accommodation and food appeal to you, look no further! We stayed in a lovely self-catering room at Fairview Homestead, with all the amenities one could ask for - from the well-equipped kitchenette to the spacious room and bathroom. Service was excellent and breakfast (either inside in the dining room or... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMT555_555
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you loved it! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016

This was my third stay at Fairview (since October 2015) and this time I stayed in one of the rooms in the original house. The tall doors and high windows offer the most beautiful views to the property's wonderful gardens. While furnished with antiques pieces, the room has all the modern conveniences you could want - bar fridge, microwave oven... More 

Helpful?
Thank Korien S
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Beautiful heritage property dating back to the 1860's. The gardens inspire a lingering stay at the foot of the majestic Outeniqua mountains. The rooms are individually decorated in traditional Cape Dutch style. Rooms are very comfortable. Fresh local berries set the scene for an idyllic morning's breakfast. A lovely stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank roshnig55
Blouberg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Every single thing was simply the best ... From the welcome on arrival to the scrumotious breakfast the next mornung. Even the garden. Thanks for making us feel so welcome in your beautiful home. Excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

A very well kept historic place with several nicely decorated rooms. There is one self service unit which is much more modern if you prefer that.The host is great and very involved with you. Great suggestions for things to do and restaurants. Very good breakfast too. The garden is really unique! Have a walk around.

Helpful?
Thank Esdeka
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

I stayed for one night and even before going down for breakfast I had already booked to stay again when next in George. I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms which was exactly as described (descriptions of the rooms are on their website) and very comfortable. Knowing that George can offer a visitor all four seasons in one day,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Korien S
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review

You have no idea how I appreciate your kind words - as you stayed in the same room that the previous reviewer found small, average and inadequate! I am so glad you loved the room and that Elize remembered to switch on the geyser in time! Desmond threatened to courier our luggage home so that he could fit more plants... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Outeniqua George
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel King George
1.0 mi away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 57 in George
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#3 of 57 in George
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience hospitality in a unique and authentic Cape Georgian historical home dating back to 1861. Fairview Homestead is a 7 bedroom guest house in B&B style - that means the owners,Desmond and Philda, live on the premises. The guest rooms are private, but we have a communal lounge/breakfast area for the guests. Philda is responsible for the running of the Guest House and Desmond is the gardener and plant collector (when not in the garden still working as a medical doctor) We have a large kitchen garden, a small orchard and keep our own chickens. Do consider staying a few days: George is the hub of golf in the Garden Route with many of South Africa's top courses within a 60km radius. We can organize a guided tour of the garden Route wine route, paragliding, bungee jumping, game drives to Bottelierskop Game Reserve and trips to the Seal Island and/or Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairview Historic Homestead

Address: 36 Stander Street, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $57 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Historic Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Fairview Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay