We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summit Place Guesthouse

Save
15 Summit Road Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806 South Africa
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$67
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/21/20
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$67
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/21/20
eDreams$67
Expedia.com$68
Travelocity$68
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Whatever your trip entails, you can be assured of our warm personal touch at Summit Place. Our beds have fine percale linen and our scrumptious breakfasts are served on the pool patio with amazing mountain views! We are located in the heart of the scenic Constantia Valley Winelands, close to Bergvliet, Tokai, Wynberg, Bishopscourt and Newlands. Located only 20 minutes from the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain, 15 minutes from Muizenberg beach and 5 minutes or less to the Vineyards - Uitsig, Buiterverwachting and Groot Constantia. Also only 5 minutes from the American Embassy. Fully equipped self catering suites, poolside suites, pool and patio area and a kids playarea in the garden, complimentary WiFi, DSTV, secure off street parking, laundry service and 24hour security.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Xhosa, Zulu
406Reviews1Q+A68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 331
  • 63
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A fabulous sample catering guesthouse in Constantia. Went above and beyond to help us during the recent covoid -19 crisis. Robyn welcomes us to back when they could easily have declined to help when we were turned away from another property. Can not recommend this guesthouse highly enough.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded Apr 14, 2020
Dear Wendy, We pride ourselves on providing the utmost in genuine care and comfort to all our guest, so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your lovely wife. We so apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your comments and have addressed them accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our guesthouse in the future. Regards, Summit Team
Read more
From the moment I arrived at Summit Place Guesthouse, I felt at home. Robyn, Lace and Nkumbi welcomed me with open arms into their "home". They were there at all times to give me advice and answer any questions that I had. They were warm and helpful people. The guesthouse is stylishly furnished with plenty of comfortable places to sit inside as well as outside. My room was light and spacious and had a fully equipped kitchen area. There was also lots of closet and shelf space. The bed was very comfortable. The view from the balcony was just lovely; I could sit at a table – with a glass of wine – and looked out onto the beautiful garden and swimming pool areas. Unfortunately, I had to cut my stay short because of the Corona crisis and was only able to stay 2 of the 9 nights that I had booked. I had to return to The Netherlands as soon as possible before “lock down”. These are difficult and uncertain days for all those involved in the hospitality industry. As soon as I am able to travel again to Cape Town, I will be sure to return to the Summit Place Guesthouse. It is simply a lovely place to stay and I am looking forward to a return visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded Mar 27, 2020
Dear Nancy Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you , short but ever so sweet. Good to hear you were able to get home safely before the lockdown. So look forward to having you back in Cape Town again in the near future. Stay well , fit and healthy over this trying time. Warm regards Robyn, Nkumbi and Lace
Read more
Great venue and excellent staff. They made me feel very welcome. Home away from home feeling and very relaxing. In the winelands of Constantia and close to all amenities as well as a range of great restaurants and beaches
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded Mar 25, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit . Regards Robyn
Read more
Rather disappoint in some of the services provided, especial no towel change in our 3 night stay, we were self-catering and kitchen, bathroom and bedroom were very sparse and basic in condition, decor, facilities etc; The location was excellent, in Constantia Village and near to some of the best wineries, Kirstenbosch Gardens and the beach. Service from the front reception was excellent, helped to book restaurants and taxis etc, Pool and garden area small but more than sufficient.
Read more
Response from SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Robert, We pride ourselves on providing the utmost in genuine care and comfort to all our guest, so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your lovely wife. We so apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your comments and have addressed them accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our guesthouse in the future. Regards, Summit Team
Read more
This is a nice guest house and the garden is lovely. Our room was pleasant though the bathroom was tiny with no windows, being nether comfortable or pleasant. It is the only room with this problem but is worth avoiding. The breakfast felt over managed, almost parsimonious in that there was a very weak buffet with even the yogurt being dolled out by the staff in profiled small glass pots. Given that the guest house charges extra for breakfast, even charging extra for a pot of coffee, the breakfast experience felt poor by comparison to other guest house we stayed in in Cape Town. There was no complimentary biscuits or fruit in the room. The shared public space is lovely. It would be wonderful if there was an honesty bar so that one could enjoy sitting there in the evenings. The safe in our room was not bolted to the wall. This made the safe feel a bit useless as it was relatively light and could simply be lifted out and removed. All in all a pleasant place to stay and one which with a little more attention to detail and generosity of spirit could be really wonderful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear Mr Carew, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Summit Place Guest House. We are disappointed to hear we failed to meet your expectations. We do not have a buffet breakfast as prefer to serve our guests individually . Do do serve fresh fruit salad, yogurt with our home made mules’ and a full hot breakfast Included with all breakfasts is coffee/tea, Orange Juice and 3 choices of cereal. Breakfast is not included in our room rates as per the website information. Guests are provided with complimentary coffee and choices of tea in their room. Guests who do not have breakfast and request to be served plunger coffee or tea pay extra. We have a stocked mini bar in each room and a drinks menu which has a selection of hot and cold beverages our guest are more then welcome to order from when lying by the pool area or any of the shared spaces. We thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have the opportunity host you again in a different suite in our guesthouse . Regards, Summit Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
summit cape town, cape town summit
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownConstantia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Place Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Place Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Constantia Valley (0.7 miles), Groot Constantia (0.7 miles), and Bishopsford Bonsai Garden (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Place Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jonkershuis Restaurant at Groot Constantia, The Bistro @ Klein Constantia, and Peddlars.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Summit Place Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Summit Place Guesthouse?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (0.7 miles) and Fort Goede Hoop (2.2 miles).