We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,498: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the hotel staff was welcoming on arrival and my son enjoyed the sweet choice at reception which he never experienced before. the staff was always trying to make our stay easy and comfortable. the security outside wher also helpful when asking directions etc.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rungiah N
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good, clean and splendid Southern Sun hospitality. Not quite at the Waterfront though. Very pleasant staff at every corner. Very eager to help. Restaurants and pool area were constantly being cleaned. Check-in was pleasant and easy. Bags were brought up pretty quick. Room was clean and well presented. Not very big but comfortable enough with 2 double beds. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyB_DBN
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear RickyB_DBN, Thank you for your very comprehensive feedback We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff and services to your full satisfaction Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel was well located and rooms and bathroooms were thoroughly cleaned. Rooms where a bit small though. The Employees at check in and general employees were very friendly and helpful. The only negative about the trip was the breakfast. We were told breakfast was Halaal friendly and there was a seperate vegetarian pan for eggs. We however has experience one...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiont634
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear fiont634, Thank you for your feedback Whilst we are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel , we take note of your comment regarding the incident during breakfast one morning. Please rest assured that we will ensure that this does not recur , going forward. Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The efficiency, friendliness and helpfulness of staff are amazing. The facilities, in room dining restaurant, food delicious and value for money. The comfort of the room excellent. I would recommend this hotel any day.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlena R
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Ariena R, Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay with us We are delighted that you enjoyed all of our facilities and that you would be happy to recommend our hotel - thank you Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel. Fantastic staff ++. Great location, 7 minute safe walk to V&A. Good gym. But it was peak season, hotel full and we got a crap dark small room on the 1st floor opposite the housekeeping office with noisy plumbing and busy hallway looking at motor way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerEng82
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear BerEng82, Thank you for your feedback Whilst we are pleased that you enjoyed the staff & hotel - we are disappointed that, as a result of it being peak season , that you weren't allocated a room that was to your satisfaction We trust that this didn't take away the enjoyment of being in Cape Town in the Summer...

South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I definitely recommend this hotel , service was excellent staff was friendly and very well located. The check in and check out process is done swiftly , room service on point on the whole a very pleasant stay

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hafiezaa
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear hafiezaa, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us We are pleased that you found all of our services to your satisfaction and that you are happy to recommend our hotel Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is family friendly with activities for kids and has a good location. I found the shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront very convenient. The food is not bad though I found the in-dining menu very limited.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankmR8671FJ
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear frankmR8671FJ, Thank you for your feedback We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very good guest relations manager. Excellent service. Really enjoyed the stay. Breakfast was superb. Rooms were clean. View was magnificent. Will definitely return to the hotel. Location is convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 197imraanb
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear 197imraanb, Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience during your recent stay with us We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and facilities, as well as the good attention from our Guest Relations Manager Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for three nights and had a great time. Its ideally located between the city and easy shuttle bus access to the waterfront. The rooms are on the small side but really didn't bother us. Found the cleaning to a adequate standard and the bed was excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnC2009
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear JohnC2009, Thank you for your valuable feedback We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities and services to your liking Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

excelllent breakfast - break staff were out of this world. The decor of the rooms were very crummy and poor and the but the cleaining of the rooms was terrible. cupboard space was pathetic. i would not recomend this hotel to anyone. seriously it need a good revamp

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X1518BYmohamede
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear X1518BYmohamedede, Thank you for your feedback We are really pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast delivery and service , however, we are distressed that you didn't enjoy the standard of your room - especially in that you weren't happy with the cleaning I can assure you that we place a huge emphasis on the cleaning standards overall and we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

515 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (261)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Room (32)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#22 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,433 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $149 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Good view from the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 197rayl, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms higher up give a better view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles MakweM, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All the rooms are a nice size.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsayw747, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“The internet put me off, I'm not sure any TripAdvisor users would find this friendly”
 of 5 bubbles findshirley, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room with views of Waterfont”
 of 5 bubbles alastrequestgrimbo, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay