We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippo Boutique Hotel

Traveler (142)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (196)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Trendy
HOTEL CLASS
480Reviews
10Q+A
79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 214
  • 189
  • 57
  • 7
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I feel bad writing a 1 bubble review (as I have never done so before) but sincerely hope that sharing my experience will lead to future improvements and/or at least help to manage the expectations of future travelers. My husband and I booked the Hippo Boutique Hotel for the
Read more
Response from Hippotique, Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We sincerely apologize for your experience at Hippo Hotel. We would have welcomed an opportunity to upgrade you to a suite free of charge to improve the rest of your stay, however you had already booked another hotel.
Read more
We have been coming back to this establishment for many years. sadly we won't be back. i have been watching( and reporting) the slow drop in standatds. it can now be described as tatty, sure it's still good value. Yes it is a great location. besides the fact that cleanliness
Read more
Response from Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback after your recent stay. We are truly sad to hear about your experience.Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! On behalf of Hippo Boutique I would like to humbly apologize for your disappointing experience. We would like to assure you that we at Hippo Boutique Hotel pride ourselves in delivering the best guest service and strive to get the basics right consistently. Your experience does not reflect the high standard we are usually proud to offer. As explained on departure, we double charged you by mistake as our system charged you after we charged you as we are still getting used to our new system. However after you brought it to our attention we refunded you immediately. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, we will follow up each situation with the relevant staff member's and take the necessary action to improve our overall impression and services of our hotel. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Hippo Boutique Hospitality at its best! Kind Regards Adine Perel
Read more
Adine and her staff are extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean, the hotel well positioned just off Kloof Street, easily the best value for money in Cape Town!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 14, 2019
Thank you for taking the time write down a review about your recent stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that I will congratulate our team!
Read more
Great neighbourhood to walk or catch transit. Lots of great shopping nearby. Room was comfortable with everything you would need. Restaurant downstairs had lots of selection and was good for people watching.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 14, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Hippo Boutique Hotel!
Read more
+1
This place has such potential. Unfortunately, it wasn’t met at all. I have never seen lazier hotels workers/staff in my life. No assistance whatsoever with my luggage during check-in or checkout. And they call themselves a boutique hotel... The room had some weird things going
Read more
Response from Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 14, 2019
Thank you for your feedback, I sincerely apologize for your negative experience with regards to your stay at Hippo Hotel. We would like to assure you that we at Hippo Boutique Hotel pride ourselves in delivering the best guest service and strive to get the basics right consistently. Your experience does not reflect the high standard we are usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns are being addressed in a serious light and that action is being taken to rectify any shortcomings in our service and facilities.
Read more
Previous
Do they have option for two twin beds?
Yep they do.
1 vote
Show all answers
do you have smoke-free rooms?
I believe so, but ask the hotel directly. I always ask this question myself when booking any hotel. We did not smell any cigarette smoke on the floor we stayed.
0 votes
Hello, so sorry for the late reply. I've only just seen the message you sent 3 weeks ago! I'm not sure about car hire as I've never hired a car on holiday. However, I don't think you will need a car in Cape Town as you have the sightseeing bus, which takes you everywhere! I never went to see the Vineyards, but I'm sure they won't be far out and there are several routes you can choose from on the sightseeing bus. Cape Town is safe during the day, although you will be approached by beggars, but nothing to worry about as they appear to be harmless and there is plenty of police officers around on the main streets. As Long Street is a main, busy street, it does get quite loud at nights, especially as all the bars are here. I wouldn't go out at night, but then, I don't like to go into town during the night in England either! Location is convenient as your next to bars, shops, markets, money exchange agencies, banks and the sightseeing bus.
0 votes
Show all answers
The hotel phone number is: 27 21 423 2500 or you can write them a mail (found in their website) All the best! :-)
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"our bathroom and bedroom had windows into the hallway - request ones without!!"
"Rooms not over the restaurant are quieter but their is no balcony"
"Not worth it."
"room 8 at back is quiet"
"Ask for a room that is not above the restaurants on the ground floor"
PreviousNext
12345616
PRICE RANGE
$60 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hippo boutique cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing