We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Delhi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Location is very good, near too long street, just couple of minutes walk, but the area of hotel is very quite and peaceful. Breakfast is good and they have little variety for vegetarians too. We took 2 bedroom suite and it is fantastic, they have this kind of room on each floor and it has balcony to facing the square.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ram1975
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This apartment style hotel provides ample room for a family to spread out and with its great location we were with in walking distance to great shopping and restaurant's. Close to the Hop On Hop Off City Sightseeing Bus stop allow for easy access to all parts of the city.

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was lovely to finish a very busy holiday at this hotel . It was an apartment unlike the usual 1 room at most hotels . So nice to spread out and have room to relax . Also our apartment had a full kitchen and laundry which we didn't use but the laundry they out soused for us was excellently... More 

Helpful?
Thank baz.lyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent hotel in all respects. Check in and check out was very smooth and professionally executed. The room was out of this world. In fact it was more than a room. It was an entire upmarket apartment. The meals were excellent. Freshly prepared and very tasty. Private gym was an added bonus. I will recommend this hotel without any reservation.

Helpful?
Thank Rajendran G
Terrace Park, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After three days in Johannesburg and five days in Kruger we finished up at the Protea North Wharf. We were travelling with another couple who handled the booking. We had a three bedroom suite which was large and modern. Great bathrooms. Bedding was OK as only one bed had a king and the others had twins pushed together in European... More 

Helpful?
Thank Radirish328
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

This has to be one of Cape Towns best kept secrets. It is great for both holiday makers and business people attending conferences at the CTICC. Easy walking distance to CTICC, city centre and the Waterfront. Rooms are massive!!! Apartment style rooms with lounges, kitchen and dining areas. Bathrooms are big and nice, beds are very comfortable and King size!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank william s
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Just had an outstanding visit to wonderful and chic Capetown with my family. The visit was extra special because of the location and accommodations found at this hotel. This hotel I s a fantastic bargain because of the roomy suites with full kitchen. Great restaurant and breakfasts. Excellent for families. Super modern set up.

Helpful?
1 Thank ethornton3
Wilderness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Excellent luxury apartment accommodation in a well situated establishment. Have to say that at this price one would expect complimentary bottled water and a wider selection of TV channels like CNN and SkyNews. Make sure that you know exactly where the entrance to the hotel parking garage is if you arrive by car or you might find yourself going round... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francois S
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

We loved this hotel, great position , staff helpful , fabulous breakfast. Great restaurant .Markets nearby lots of restaurants in walking distance .Great beauty salon but book early for a recovery massage after your flight.Would Definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank honestey1
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for four nights while in Cape Town. The good thing about this hotel is the location is great as it is central, and the rooms are huge. The bad thing about this hotel is the staff communication is poor, the Marriott buyout is going badly, and the dining options within a couple blocks are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen Y
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Stephen Y Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel North Wharf. We appreciate your compliments to the location room size and facilities very much. However, we take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. To enjoy the free breakfast offer, you would have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction W...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious rooms and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self–catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col’cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col’Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $111 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay