We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Guesthouse esCape

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Start your review of Guesthouse esCape
 Click to rate
Swellendam, South Africa
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I made a booking 2 months ago, but they cancelled due to water problems. My accomodation is already paid for, but now I want to make a booking and they don't even answer my calls or e-mails. Hope I don't loose that money...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jolene C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The guesthouse and its owners were pleasant during my stay and the room clean and airy. They did get rooms mixed up so I had to switch halfway through. However I returned to find my credit card charged twice. They've not refunded me for two months, making all kinds of excuses, and not had the courtesy to respond to my...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eric C
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great people to stay with really. I booked the room over the phone with a young, thoroughly pleasant and professional man by the name of Gareth. He was kind, detailed, courteous, and helpful. Upon arrival, I was received at the street, and was helped with my baggage. Pleasantly checked in and was then escorted to my room. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Najm F
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here on new year eve complete disaster of a hotel room was mosquito infested. television in room didnt work told us was broken due to weather which was complete crap more like they wanted to save money. asked for money upfront and when we paid was no refund offered when we realised how bad it was charged us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jono2684
jeffri, Owner at Guesthouse esCape, responded to this review

Hello, I am the new owner. I just took over on January 8th. I am very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience. I cannot excuse the broken promises of the previous owners. As you can see, they were on their way out and obviously not trying very hard. I can only tell you that we have brought...

England
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I had booked 7 nights in Escape, but on arrival found that the place is up for sale by auction and we were greeted by somebody thinking we were prospective purchasers. The whole place is tired and grubby with the carpets being worn and dirty. The stair carpet was dangerous in that there were places it was not secured and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew2306
pretoria
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I spent three nights in this Guest House I have found in internet and I must say that is definetely not a four stars accomodation. First : apart for the deposit they have charged on my credit card, at the arrival (8,30 pm) the first thing they asked me was to pay all the amount in advance (never happened to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iloveafrica3
esCapeCapeTown, Owner at Guesthouse esCape, responded to this review

Dear Enzo Thank you very much for your comments. We have improved our services. e.g 1.We extended our breakfast room and now you can have breakfast on our sun deck overseeing signal hill and spectacular views to the Golf Course. 2. Our breakfast is now filled up with fresh fruits and baked pastries. 3. Staff went on a training course...

Jordan Valley
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Our welcome was pleasant but even though we had paid a deposit of half the amount, we were asked to settle the bill on arrival. This was the ONLY guest house that did so. In addition we had to pay an extra fee for the use of our credit card - again the only guest house to charge us. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilanastone
esCapeCapeTown, Owner at Guesthouse esCape, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments. We have improved our services. e.g 1.We extended our breakfast room and now you can have breakfast on our sun deck overseeing signal hill and spectacular views to the Golf Course. 2. Our breakfast is now filled up with fresh fruits and baked pastries. 3. Staff went on a training course...

Germany
Reviewed February 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the guesthouse escape and we found it nothing but EXCELLENT!!!!!! The room was lovely and the host/ managment/ staff were always friendly, helpful, honest, fair and tried to go the extra mile, if there was something we needed and they were able to do something about it to help. The rooms especially have been...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank amarachi_4everjoy
Stuttgart
Reviewed February 2, 2007

Stayed at Guesthouse esCape with my family over xmas and new year. The Guesthouse is your ultimate home away from home. It is run by a mixed couple, Emiley and Frank. My wife was just dignosed with Cancer and it was her dream to see Cape Town. We stayed in the Guesthouse esCape. Due to my wifes severe conditions we...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sammy045
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
0.0 mi away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#59 of 163 in Cape Town Central
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
4 On Varneys
4 On Varneys
#40 of 163 in Cape Town Central
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Guesthouse esCape

Address: 163 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $61 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse esCape 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Guesthouse EsCape Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Guesthouse esCape staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't book here.”
 of 5 bubbles EricC847, Jan 20, 2012 | Read review
“If you are sensitive to traffic noise, then book the rooms at the back of the hotel.”
  • Backside View
 of 5 bubbles NajmF, Nov 11, 2011 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question