We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6 Blackheath Road Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005 South Africa
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (799)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 123 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House.
Read more
Room & Suite (376)376
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Car hire
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
2,135Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 1,978
  • 135
  • 16
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Iiggy62 wrote a review May 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
This was our first trip to Cape Town. We wanted to stay near the V&A Waterfront but not in the city Blackheath Lodge is a pleasant 40 min walk along the seafront. We also took advantage of the Oyster Hotels private tour bus to go to Cape Point and to see the penguins at Boulders Rock, which we would thoroughly recommend. Our stay coincided with the start of the Covid pandemic, however the hotel and Karin in particular did their utmost to look after us - even assuring us of providing accommodation if our flight had been cancelled, which thankfully it was not.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Jamie C wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
We were lucky enough to stay at Blackheath Lodge for 8 nights in January this year. There is absolutely nothing the team wouldn't do for us and by the end of the stay, Riano, Godfrey, Charle and Karin were like old friends. Brighton and the support staff were equally as charming and helpful. This place is an original design and concept. Not something you often find these days but there is clearly a formula that keeps the Lodge humming along perfectly resulting in a relaxing, enjoyable and fabulous stay. I can't wait to stay here again. Jamie Sydney
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get in touch with the hotel directly if you're not happy with the room you have been...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GMgeneralmanager1, Operations Manager at Blackheath Lodge
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear Jamie and Brett, Thank you for the fantastic review! You were indeed part of our Blackheath Lodge family. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you and spend some time around the pool with you. See you for our next Duchess celebration!
Read more
nigel w wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
Our first time in SA and for the brief time we were there (mid-March just prior to Covid lock down) we were lucky enough to stay here. The staff, service and the facilities were really good, and I would not hesitate to return. Unfortuntely the rest of our time in SA was cut short, so it was a long way to travel for such a short time, but at least we had some time at an excellent hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
allval wrote a review Mar 2020
knoxville, tennessee108 contributions32 helpful votes
This boutique hotel has a great location in Sea Point, near everything. From here you can easily reach all the sights and attractions. The staff is just fabulous. So friendly and helpful. We must congratulate Karin and Riano for making our stay memorable. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The pool area is very attractive and always had several guests relaxing after a fun day. The hot breakfast is delicious
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We were traveling with our teenager and our loft had a separate area for his bed which was very...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ekimbry wrote a review Mar 2020
Aurora, Canada161 contributions94 helpful votes
It’s a while since I looked at the TA reviews for Blackheath Lodge, but I believe many referred to it as an oasis. Well, that it certainly is, but we were so impressed by the drive of those who have made it so special. From directing us to the company for the airport-hotel transfer to the calling of our departure taxi, Karin and her staff provided a complete service. What we see at the hotel is the result of great attention to detail – the eclectic furnishings, fixtures and objets d’art in the public areas, the design and setting of the pool, the guest rooms themselves and the complimentary refreshments and cake always available at the breakfast bar. There was also great attention paid to helping us make the most of our time in Cape Town. Recognizing that this was our first visit to South Africa, Karin made sure that we understood what options were available. We were so pleased to have taken her advice and let her book a full day tour for us with driver, Lovemore, who took us on a tour around the Cape, and who did a wonderful job in helping us understand South Africa. Karin provided further help in directing us to the sea front walk that took us to the V and A restaurant area, in ordering a taxi to take us to Table Mountain and again into Cape Town for a Historic Walking Tour. The personal service was second to none and the Blackheath Hotel truly lived up to its reputation as a tranquil oasis. There was a rare and special sense of serenity once inside the hotel and it will be long remembered.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blackheath hotel cape town central, blackheath cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blackheath Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Blackheath Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mouille Point Beach (0.2 miles), ARTEM Centre (0.2 miles), and Cork & Screw Wine Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blackheath Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Blackheath Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Blackheath Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Blackheath Lodge?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blackheath Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shop, The Rockwell Dinner Theatre, and Rockpool.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blackheath Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Blackheath Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Blackheath Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Blackheath Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blackheath Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Blackheath Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (1.6 miles), City Hall (2.1 miles), and Iziko Koopmans-De Wet House (1.5 miles).