We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Never at Home Cape Town

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Never at Home Cape Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recommended. The kitchen was clean and therefore celiac-friendly. Staff nice. Well located and near good deli, Giovanni's, who have some understanding of gluten-free and serve free-range chicken. There was very heavy use of cleaning chemicals, though. Would be great if the hostel could switch to less toxic cleaning methods. Safe.

Helpful?
Thank SophieLyle
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This somewhat new property is clean and polished. I rented a twin room with my girlfriend for a week and a half, and we were quite comfortable, especially being allowed to smoke on the terrace outside the front door. Tammy, one of the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful always going the extra mile for customers (she also lent us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matewis_vdk
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We were disappointed to read about some of the negative elements after you spent so much time with us. Service is key and we have addressed the various comments with our crew. More 

Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Never@Home for 10 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. All tourist attractions are in walking distance, the stadium and V&A Waterfront just on the other side of the street. As well a nice big park, a lighthouse and beaches are just a few minutes away. While you have everything you need close by it is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathaVi
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My experience here was amazing, the staff is very warm and welcoming and the rooms are extremely clean and tidy! Definitely worth the price.. The location is right in the Heart Of The Mother City and even the kitchen's food is amazing. Definitely my new favorite accommodation when visiting Cape Town. :) Cheers Azrah from e.tv

Helpful?
Thank Miss_Azrah
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Lovely to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again! More 

Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

19 of us came down for a university tour around Cape Town and as per tradition, we used Never@Home as a base. What had started off well seems to be tarnished with a few pointers. Firstly, small things like broken toilet holders and broken AC's were obvious but never rectified. Our housekeeper would come everyday to change the toilet roll... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahmay9989
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. We were disappointed to hear that we had not taken note of some of the issues that you found in your dormitory. We have taken your comments and implemented a control system and changes that will positively change any issues like this in the past. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A place well worth visiting. Centrally located and close to the Cape Town Stadium, restaurants and night life spots around town. Suitable for budget conscious travelers. The restaurant is a perfect place to end the day, and share stories with your co-travelers.

Helpful?
Thank Llywellyn Full D
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience! Take care and happy travelling. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

This is a hostel, everyone should know that. With that said, it is a very nice hostel. All the rooms are clean, as are the bathrooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the food at the restaurant is great for all meals. Also, I recommend the bar in the back to meet interesting travelers and very cheap drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hostel. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Never at Home is a very average hostel. Nothing in particular makes it special. There is a restaurant and bar in the back, but there is good cheap food nearby anyway. The rooms are not very clean and feel like a dorm room.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the hostel. We have both private and dormitory rooms. Thank you for the feedback, we are continually working at improving our guest experience. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

The rooms are more like hotel rooms, with en-suite bathrooms with a shower. YOu can self cater in the kitchen (not in the room) or order breakfast which is served in a small bar. It's located a bit far from the city centre (20 mins walk).

Helpful?
Thank Azmidiske
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hostel. We are located within Green Point, walking distance to V&A Waterfront and a little longer walk to the CBD or either a short taxi commute or MyCity Bus trip. The hostel caters for both the typical backpacker and the more new age hostel market. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

This place isn't too bad for a hostel. If you're into luxury , don't bother. This place is pretty quiet and clean, but if all you need is a bed and a shower and toilet, then you're good. Close to eateries and market. Walking distance actually. Make sure you have an adapter though, the students are smart and will charge... More 

Helpful?
Thank NYC2LOVE
Nicole W, Manager at Never at Home Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.4 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the vibrant Green Point "strip", we are surrounded by trendy restaurants and bars, overlook the Cape Town Stadium and in walking distance of the famous V & A Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Seapoint Promenade. Easy access to public transport provides guests with rapid access to Long Street (South Africa's most famous party destination), Table Mountain (a new 7 wonder of the world) and some of the best beaches Cape Town has to offer. We provide a range of accommodation including shared dormitories and double/twin rooms for those looking for something a little more intimate. Separate sanctuary accommodation is also available for females only. The majority of our rooms are en-suite with additional communal bathrooms provided for extra convenience. Basics, necessities like lockers, bedding, heating and air conditioning are supplied in all rooms. Our reception is open 24 hours and safety and security is a key priority. The Randy Warthog, bar and restaurant overlooks the hostel waterhole (swimming pool and sundeck to those in the know). Randy hosts parties and events most days of the week, including traditional braai's (barbeque in South African language). A continental breakfast or a full cooked breakfast is available at the Randy for an inexpensive cost. Additional hostel facilities include a communal kitchen, inside and outside social areas, internet zone and bicycle hire for those with a little more energy. Fast wireless connectivity is available throughout property. Our travel desk guys just love Cape Town and can advise you on all the hot spots and best day trips! They can also advise you on what not to do. A hostel shuttle bus runs daily (for a surcharge) for in house guests, and safe car parking (on request) for those independent types. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Never at Home Cape Town

Address: 107 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Hotel Graeme)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $20 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Never at Home Cape Town 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Never at Home Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graeme Hotel Cape Town
Never At Home Cape Town South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay