We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Lezard Bleu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lezard Bleu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Freiberg am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very friendly owners (german nd english speaking) with lovely tips even if You have been to CPT some times before. Excellent breakfast and it is perfect to reach with very good parking (not secured). A must to visit !

Helpful?
Thank jens290972
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016

Nestled just at the base of Table Mountain and centrally located near downtown, Lezard Bleu is the best place to stay in Cape Town. Rather than a sterile, traditional hotel, his guest house truly feels like home. The proprietors who have been welcoming guests for twenty years are warm and exceptionally accommodating. They are quick to provide expert advice on... More 

Helpful?
Thank wm23
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

We stayed in the Tree house for two days and we had a wonderful time at the Lézard Bleu. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. The staff and the host couldn't be nicer and they were always available to offer advices or just to chat with us. The breakfast is gorgeous and includes everything (eggs, croissants, fruits, meat, ...).... More 

Helpful?
Thank JulienMei
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Julien, wonderful you could enjoy your time with us and finding such nice words while traveling on. All good wishes for both of you ! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Amazing guesthouse with a lovely and very helpful staff. We've spent 2 nights there and everything was perfect thanks to Chris and Lizzy (and Willy) We had a very nice room with a beautiful view of Cape Town. Just perfect!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ginitess
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review

Aaah, merci bien, Lily, also for your entry in the guest book. Willy has been kissed and I am wishing you still a beautiful time ahead in SA More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

This is the second time I have been here. The staff are great, they do everything to accommodate your needs. I would like to point out a small detail as a business traveller and that is they already have in the rooms plug adapters for pc or other things that not even in high class hotels have. The selection at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Paolo, your appreciation is greatly valued ! Yes, we are still loving what we are doing here and that's why we are very happy to receive some beautiful reviews like yours. All good wishes More 

Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
258 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

"Guest house" does not do this wonderful place any justice. It's like entering an artistic sphere - an oasis in a delightful, quiet area of the city - against the background of the mountains and with the urban lights of Cape Town twinkling below. For once, words fail me. I think one of the LB's greatest assets is the manager/housekeeper... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidHector
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review

Lizzy says thank you for your wonderful and heartily appreciation, yes, we are still proud and happy to have her on the stern which allows us to take a break from time to time, knowing that all guests will be looked after with great care. No, words definitely have not failed you at all ! Many thanks indeed and all... More 

Den Haag
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

You enter the gate (you leave the car outside, parked on the road) and are greeted by two barking dogs who come toards you. Nothing to be scared off, but if you are not fund of dogs, disturbing. The room we got was the first in a raw after the common lounge. It was not possible to lock the window,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martino V
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review

Thanks for the "better" before the AirBnB, Martino, greatly appreciated, as much as your opinion... Although I cooked something when you arrived, we were not holding a dinner party at all ( how do know it was nice ?) but we had house guest on the terrace who enjoyed their evening on that balmy night - actually we were not... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016

Me and my wife had the pleasure to stay in this remarkable guest house a week this year and we had such a great time! I can truthfully say that this guest house had the best breakfast and gave us the best service ever in a very good and relaxing atmosphere when comparing it to many other guest houses that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review

Thanks a stash for this, Kenneth, it was a great pleasure having you here and we do hope for a return of yours one day. Until then keep well ! More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

Let me start by saying that I would have given it a five star perfect rating, except for the notable absence of air conditioning. We arrived on a day where the temperature was 44 degrees Celsius, and I'm Canadian. Imagine my face when we learned there was no air conditioning. We did have a fan, but my sleep was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank thebaron007
Herbergsvater, Owner at Lezard Bleu, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your honest wording and many thanks for the praise in general. After the unusual very, very hot days we had for weeks this season, we do have some portable air condition units in mind ! In the past not an issue in Cape Town, but as we all know - Mother Earth is heating up ! More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We recently stayed at Lezard with Nikki where she and Lizzie looked after all our needs and we did prove to be rather demanding guests particularly when we left a passport behind and were trying to hire a car. They came to the rescue and scanned over the details required. We were advised on restaurants and they booked for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank 482bev
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Acorn House
#4 of 164 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#35 of 164 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 164 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#18 of 164 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#24 of 164 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
City Bowl
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
#43 of 164 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Lezard Bleu

Address: 30 Upper Orange Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Price Range: $95 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lezard Bleu 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lezard Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lezard Bleu Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay