We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

An African Villa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
An African Villa
An African Villa
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

918 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for An African Villa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Perfect location in a beautiful SAFE and very quiet neighborhood, close to everything. Room was spacious, clean and the bed was very very comfortable. Delecious breakfast: Both warm made-to-order and a rich buffet. Very helpful and informative staff, 24hr reception. Same day laundry service (useful 'by the bag' fee of 160zar) Courtesy Port wine in the beautiful and very welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank allon1
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We had 3 great nights at An African Villa. The guest house is centrally located, very clean, beautifully decorated, with a friendly staff. Our room was perfect and had a great view of Table Mountain. The staff helped us call taxis and book reservations for dinner, and the breakfast every morning was incredible. Definitely a great place to stay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJD_Wanderlust
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

hello MJD Wanderlust, Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again as Cape town still has lots more to offer. I am glad our team are keeping up the good work. An African Villa team. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Booked here after a recommendation and was not disappointed. The owners/front of house staff and night porters are all very welcoming and generous with their advice and suggestions. Bedrooms are very comfortable and well fitted out. Delicious breakfast is cooked and served by a small team of pleasant ladies and is in addition to the cold help yourself buffet. Guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrWood50
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Hi MrWood50, What a lovely review about your stay with us at the Villa. It was an absolute pleasure to help make your visit a success to Cape town. Staff of An African Villa. More 

Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We stayed four nights and had a rom with a beautiful view of Table Mountain. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Very nice breakfast service and a thoughtful breakfast bag to go when we left for an early morning flight.

Helpful?
Thank mzimmerlund
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you so much for your kind words about our house and staff. It is really great for us to know that people notice our efforts. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Cape Town. An African Villa Team More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

An African Villa is a fantastic guesthouse. Keith welcomed us and immediately made us feel right at home with personal recommendations and advice. The location is safe and easily walkable to many major tourist attractions. You won't regret staying here!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Hi Lisa B. We love our city and also our hotel and are delighted when others find pleasure in them and in our efforts to make our guests smile! An African Villa team. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

We stayed 5 nights at An African Villa and only have nice things to say about the hotel. The staff were welcoming and super helpful - calling to make reservations, getting a taxi, confirming activities, having an extra early bagged breakfast available - I was impressed! The location is great, plenty of parking, 20 minute drive to the waterfront or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Dear Lisa H, What a lovely review about your stay at the Villa. It was an absolute pleasure to have you with us and to help make your visit a success. All the more satisfaction when things come together and the guests enjoy their stay Staff of An African Villa. More 

rishon lezyon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean designed and tidy, feel at home, We have two nights. On the first floor 2 living rooms, with pleasant music, staff dressed in red and beautiful, very aesthetic, clean the rooms were very good. Fair reporting system of the minibar, I liked it, although we did not use, The hosts guided us about restaurants and where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mazal S
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Hi Mazal S, Thank you for the positive review. We feel we have accomplished our target when you said "feel at home". We change the colour of our staff uniforms every 2 years and I must say that the red has been nice and lively and fresh. An African Villa team. More 

Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

I was in Cape Town for a week-long work mission and staying at an African Villa made me feel as if I was at home and I had always belonged there. When I had to leave very early in the morning, much earlier than breakfast time, I would go downstairs in the kitchen and I would always find freshly made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alessandra C
africanvilla16, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Dear Alessandra, What a lovely review about your stay at the Villa. It was an absolute pleasure to have you with us and Brandi is missing her morning hugs and rubs. We hope to see you some time again. Staff of An African Villa. More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

An African Villa is great value, with great location, breakfast and service. The breakfast has a hot dish, fruit salad and cereals with tea and coffee. The rooms are large, clean and tidy. The owners, managers and staff are helpful and informative. Five stars to such a classy organization who run a beautiful hotel.

Helpful?
Thank gogo h
africanvilla, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Dear gogo h, ;-) Thank you so much for your kind words about our house and staff. It is really motivational for us to know that people notice our efforts. An African Villa Team More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

This was our second visit to An African Villa, and we were not disappointed as our stay lived up to the high standards we experienced during our 1st visit 4 years ago. We stayed in a platinum room overlooking the quite street. We had a large private balcony that was drenched in sunshine, just perfect for starting the day with... More 

Helpful?
Thank shalog3012
africanvilla, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, What a lovely review about your return stay with us at the Villa. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and John with us and to help make your visit a success. We cannot take credit for all the sun we had and please give John my apologies for offering the sun lotion all the time. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

524 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (287)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Gold Room (33)
Viewed
Platinum Room (46)
Viewed
Platinum Room Mountain View (40)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Silver Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#12 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
MannaBay
#1 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Travelocity so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay