We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kensington Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kensington Place
Kensington Place
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kensington Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
Milano
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and all of them have been very nice. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff very nice as everywhere in South Africa. The breakfast is excellent! Located just 10 minutes from the water front area, is a perfect point to start discovering Cape Town. The hotel manager has always helped us in making reservation in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edwells
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Salve edwells! Thank you for reviewing Kensington Place. I am so happy that you had a wonderful time in South Africa - please come and visit us again for your anniversary! Sincerely Austen

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We arrived a day late and very early in the morning, but our room was ready. Everyone at KP is so nice and helpful. The had pre-booked different restaurants for our dinner but we were exhausted, jet-lagged, had our days and nights mixed up, etc. so we did not leave the hotel. One of the managers, Michael, had the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zoeycat
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Zoeycat Thank you for the positive review! I've investigated the incident at breakfast - I believe Precious served you. At the time she had recently joined Kensington Place and still learning the ropes. Since then she has become an invaluable member of the team and guests have been delighted by her. My biggest concern is the fact that it...

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Unfortunately we were only here for I night but will be back. It's a cool place to stay, well chosen contemporary art, stylish furniture and a pleasant and comfortable place to relax. And possibly the best hotel breakfast we've had, no low fat yoghurt here thank goodness. Our room was very comfortable, great view and the bed was excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard A
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Richard A Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a such a lovely (albeit short!) stay with us. Please come and visit us again! With kind regards Austen General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our first visit to Cape Town. We had a beautiful, big and comfortable room. The staff could not do enough to help us and made some great dinner recommendations including a delicious Greek restaurant at a local square. The breakfasts are the best I have ever had. The hotel is ideally located and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Niamh G
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Niamh G Thank you for reviewing Kensington Place! Always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback - it's a tribute to my wonderful team. I am so sorry that the pool was so cold - I am in the process of upgrading the heat pump to take the chill off during winter. Please do visit us again. Kind regards...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband surprised me for Valentines day and took me to stay at this beautiful place. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and entered into a modern property with sophisticated decor and finishings. We had a stunning room on the top floor with views of the city and table mountain. The pool was a relaxing break away and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam_Boshoff
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Sam_Boshoff Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you could get some time away with your husband on Valentines day and spend it at Kensington Place! We hope to see you soon. Sincerely Austen General Manager PS. Let us know if we can help you plan a surprise weekend away...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed 5 nights and felt well cared for by the staff and enjoyed the amenities. Our room was one of the smaller ones which felt cramped at times, however, we usually rested near the pool which was very pleasant and not crowded. The breakfast meals were superb and they will customize if needed. Best of all the staff could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maureen m
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review - always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback! We're delighted you've enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back! Regards from Cape Town Austen General Manager

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Staying in superior room (#5) for a single night. Excellent beds and super service. Very clean. Breakfast very nice with lots of choices - all served at the table. On negative side : no newspaper (maybe on request) and the curtains are horrible (they do not ban the light - its crazy in a place like this that designs wins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcinbrussels
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kensington Place - thank you for the positive feedback and constructive remarks. Our curtains do have full block-out lining, however light can seep through the sides. We are currently looking for an alternative solution. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington Place in the not-too-distant future! Regards, Austen...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

A fab, genuinely boutique hotel with just a few rooms and personal service, while meeting 5 star standards. We had one of the rooms on the other side of the pool which was a good space with a great and sizeable bathroom. It was clean and well appointed. We were really well looked after by the staff, who were knowledgeable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JH82
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a great hotel in a lovely city. We spent three nights here with our two teenage children. Austen welcomed us so warmly and all the staff were really friendly. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and well appointed. The views from the balcony were lovely and the pool area a real bonus. Cannot think of anything that I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philippa S
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This lovely hotel is just up the hill, easy to find. When we arrived at Kensington Place, we were greeted by warm smiles and invited to take a seat by the fire in the tastefully decorated lounge and order any drink we desired whilst we check in. At our room we found a complimentary bottle of wine! Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jean paul v
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,920 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,333 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,183 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
415 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 7405, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $217 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kensington Place staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kensington Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Deluxe room is actually a well-appointed studio next door, with a huge balcony and views of the both the bay and Table Mountain.”
 of 5 bubbles ddesalez, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Depends on what you want to spend.”
 of 5 bubbles 297lamberts, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles 902emmanuellel, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Room 9, views to the city one way and to Table Mountain the other.”
 of 5 bubbles susibLondon, Sep 2, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have best views.”
 of 5 bubbles christievi, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question